We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Punta Cana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Caribe Tropical

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Caribe Tropical to your Saves list
Melia Caribe Tropical
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Bavaro
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place in Punta Cana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My husband and I just returned from another amazing week at this resort. We have been going here for 10 years now at Christmas time always staying in the Royal Service (now recently changed to the "Level". We also visit each year mid-January - mid-March. Every time we return the staff welcomes us home and greets us by our names. We have meet some truly amazing staff who we now consider friends. Everyone from Dulce at the Gabi pool, Alfonso from the Gabi restaurant, to Bartola our server Heidi at Royal Service and so many more to mention, all made our stay exceptional. I enjoyed an amazing massage in their relaxing spa. Mirvian gave me the most relaxing massage ever I didn't want her to stop. We travel a lot every year to various places throughout the world and this resort by far exceeds any where else we have been. The resort offers spectacular restaurant options. The service in all are exceptional and of course the food is out of this world, the best lobster ever in the Gabi restaurant. We have send several of our friends here for family vacations and everyone has come back raving about the resort. I highly recommend it to anyone considering going to Punta Cana. I cannot wait until our next visit there, next Christmas for sure if not sooner. Cannot wait to see our second "family" again, they are all the best!

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to the Level the suites are amazing and also have use of the new private adult on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear JOANNA C;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thank you for your review, we truly appreciate that you have shared your special vacation experience in our property. I am Helia Estrella, Web community liaison. It is through the valuable observations of our clients that we are able to achieve our main goal, which is being able to create unforgettable memories.

We are very glad to know that Dulce, Alfonso, Bartola, Heidy and Mirian of our staff members went out of their ways to make sure you were taken care of and that any need you may have was pleased and satisfied above your expectations. It is only through them that we can be a successful Company.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a future occasion.

Regards,

Helia Estrella
Web community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,160
    2,967
    1,147
    592
    512
See reviews for
3,499
3,574
150
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Imperial, Pa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My fiance, and I just returned a four day trip to the Melia Caribe and I can not say enough great things about the royal treatment we received. We booked through Apple Vacations which added to this memorable experience.

The hotel randomly selected us for an upgrade to the Royal Service and we truly felt like royalty. The food was excellent, the room was spectacular, the landscaping was incredible, the staff was very accomodating, the nightly shows were a pleasant suprise, the clubs were fun, inviting and seemlessly
drew nearly everyone to the dance floor.

Overall, the employees including staff, entertainers, servers, hosts, waiters and waitresses were very jubilant. Various staff from the restaraunts, bars, hotel seemed to inherently love to sing and dance and their festiveness was contagious.

One night the show dancers joined the guests on the dance floor and revved the crowd up by forming a dance train, encouraging individuals to dance center circle and just shaking their shimmy with the common folk.

We felt completely safe on the expansive grounds of the Melia. The beach was incredibly picturesque and surreal. We varied our experience by sampling the various pools, restaurants and bars. Our favorite dining place was the newly remodeled Level club at the beach. We sat overlooking the pristine beach with the light breeze blowing on us surrounded by a fabulously elegant decor.

Our concierge was Hector Mora. He was very hospitable & accomodating. There was one minor incident in which Hector was late picking us up for a meeting for our departure instructions. We were very worried that we missed getting those instructions. However, Hector was incredibly apologetic and went out of his way to regain our faith in him. He personally accompanied us to our travel representative to insure we received all needed information. Later that afternoon, we returned to our accomodations only to find a fully filled hottub and the petals of colorful
tropical flowers floating on the water and scattered about along with a gracious note from Hector.

This not only eased our minds but really made us feel special. Suprisingly, that was not the end of it. As we departed for our evenning dining destination, we walked out of our hotel only to be greeted by a horse drawn carriage an and driver awaiting us to whisk us off to a romantic &
pleasurable dining experience... Thanks Hector! Thanks Melia!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Trolling Along;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thanks for your commentaries; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one. We are so happy because you had a fantastic vacation in our hotel.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Hector Mora; it’s thanks to employees like them that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

Hope to see you again at your “Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical”.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage la Prairie, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We spent two weeks at this amazing resort from Dec 11th-Dec 24th, 2013. This was our first hot holiday and will definately be a tough one to top! Manuel Garcia from Club Melia greeted us and ensured everything was perfect our entire stay. So much so that we joined the Melia Club Family! Everything about this resort was perfect!! Our room, the grounds, the beach, pool, activities, the bars and club, live entertainment every night, restaurants, snack bars, but most of all the people and the service was exceptional!!! The guys at Avenue Bar and the Casino have definately found a place in our hearts...Gregorio, Benigno, Dario, Victor, and the crew at the Casino always entertaining! All the waiters and waitresses, cleaning staff, managers, dancers...everyone were amazing!! This is definitely our happy place!! It was hard to leave!! We are already planning our return trip to this resort!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Dorothy P;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thank you for your review, we truly appreciate that you have shared your special vacation experience in our property. I am Helia Estrella, Web community liaison. It is through the valuable observations of our clients that we are able to achieve our main goal, which is being able to create unforgettable memories.

We are very glad to know that Manuel Garcia, Gregorio, Benigno, Dario and Victor of our staff members went out of their ways to make sure you were taken care of and that any need you may have was pleased and satisfied above your expectations. It is only through them that we can be a successful Company.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a future occasion.

Regards,

Helia Estrella
Web community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Beautiful hotel, many places to relax on the site, one of the best beach on this area, big pools, great facilities (naming transportation between pool and restaurant, and the kids club), the food is average (very conservative choices are available).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear I K ;

Receive our warmest regards from Punta Cana.

We would like to thank you for your loyalty and preference to our Meliá Caribe Tropical. We are pleased to know that we have met your expectations in your recent vacation in our property.

We truly appreciate your kind comments regarding the places to relax that you found to relax, our beach and pools and the facilities. It is a pleasure to know that you have had a wonderful vacations.

We cannot wait to welcome you again here in "Your home away from home” and create new unforgettable moments of your family vacations with us.

Regards,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Eddy Sambo was fabulous!! I would have left if not for Eddy. He knew how to fix each and every problem.. We had 5 rooms and had multiple problems with each. If I could I would hire Eddy Sambo to run my HR department He is very bright and caring. The other employees need help. It took 4 hours to check in after being up all night and no food with 2 small children. Eddy calmed us down and got us settled eventually.
This was Christmas week and if it could go wrong it did.
The Overall rating is for Eddy Sambo, ONLY…..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Pros: Landscaping and hotel grounds very nice with flamingos, peacocks and flora. Entertainment was good and plentiful, seems to be the more active hotel on the beach strip when we walked to other places. Beach was clean. Cons: No servers to take drink order at pool nor beach area, we had to bet up & walk some distance to get a drink. No hammocks. Many beach/pool chaises were broken. No where to dry our suits on a laundry line. Food and drinks were average to below average...best mixed drinks were Mojito(not all the bars had mint) or Capirhinia, most others were too sweet. Breakfast was the worst, definitely better at the Marketplace restaurant vs. the one by the beach, but, it closed half hour earlier. Lunch was usually the best - by the beach with paella and grilled seafood and other good choices. Dinner was so/so, hit and miss depending on where you ate - Christmas Eve special dinner was the worst meal. Service was average to below average, not many workers were friendly, some exceptions: Zuleima & Alberto at restaurant by beach, and Felix (pool bar) were a few of the smiling friendly staff. Language is a barrier for many people. For the money, and as a four star hotel, we expected (and have enjoyed elsewhere) better rooms, food and drinks. Bathroom was small, with little room to place toiletries. Rooms needing a bit of TLC. Be prepared to walk or to wait for train if you have a room further down by the pool/beach area. Children's club was too kiddie for 8 year old. The "Concierge Staff" in the white clothing offer to help you so that they get you to hear about the resort buy in. Overall, a decent stay, not the worst, but, not great . We along with other guests felt it was overpriced for the service, food and room that we received during our week's stay. I have been told by other travelers (and have read) Grand Iberostar Bavaro is a better resort, not sure how they compare in price. I will be checking it for the next time we visit Punta Cana.

Room Tip: Junior Suite is too small for a family of four and further away from the beach and pools, so, choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCT, Manager at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Chigirl,

Thank you for having preferred our hotel for your Christmas vacation in Punta Cana. We are very glad to know that you found our landscaping and grounds beautiful and that you enjoyed our beach entertainment.

We deeply regret to know that there were certain services that were not up to your expectations. It is thanks to our guests commentaries that we are able to improve our services and facilities, therefore, we thank you for having shared them with us. As this will help us improve them and take the corrective measures where needed. Please allow us to inform you regarding the language barrier you perceived from our staff, that most of them participates in courses within our Hotel premises in order to enhance their skills in the different languages of our international clientele.

We sincerely hope that the situations encountered do not deprive us of the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Overall beautiful property, lovely beach, good food and great service. I would like to clarify some things we encountered, to hopefully help future guests. I had read many of the reviews prior to going, and had decided that we would try to upgrade to Royal Service once there. Once we arrived, we were offered to upgrade (which I thought was Royal Service), but later found out was not. We paid to upgrade to the "Adults Only" section of the resort. The adults only is called the "Level". The rooms are located closer to the beach. They have their own restaurant and bars. They also have their own pools and beach area. The upgrade also included call brand drinks and wi-fi in your room (which was random, at best). The difference between Royal Service and Level are the location of the rooms (I never saw the inside of the Royal Service rooms, but the Adult only were very nice - bed area, sitting area, balcony and fridge with nice bathroom), restaurant (Royal Service has the "Gabi" restaurant - which is superb) and private butler availability. There may be more differences that I was unaware of, but those were the most obvious. The cost of the upgrade seems to change with the season, person, situation, etc. We were told that an upgrade to the Royal Service would have been twice what we paid to upgrade to the "Level" Service. I don't think the restaurant at the Level area was as good as the Gabi restaurant, but it certainly was not bad. The Level offered buffets as well as 4 different "restaurants within the restaurant" each night. We asked if we could eat at the Gabi one night and the Level manager "Walquidia Peralta" took the time to work it out for us. She was very helpful and always available to make sure our stay was a good one.

If you have kids, than the "Level" is not going to be an option for you since it's Adult only. But if you have an all Adult party, it is worth it for the price, I think it's well worth the upgrade if you don't want to pay for the Royal Service. There were never any crowds at the Level restaurant, pool or beach. Very Relaxing. The bartenders were excellent, especiallly Ismael Ramierz and lary de los santos. Our version of the Royal Service butler was Kelvin Garcia. He called every day to see how he could help make our stay better. He helped to arrange after hour excursions and made sure he assisted us in any way possible.

We loved the casino. It's small, but cozy. We would typically run into the same guests there every night, and it was fun to get to know them. We did not watch many of the shows at night, but there was always a good crowd there. It's your typical family entertainment. The major complaint our teenage sons had was that there was not a real young adult night club life in the evening. There are several bars, but not one major club for them to poupulate.

The dominican republic people are very friendly, happy and courteous. We truly enjoyed visiting their country and the Melia Tropical Resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear mnmjolly;

Warms regards from Punta Cana.

We would like to thank you for your preference and loyalty to our Meliá Caribe Tropical. We are glad to know that we have accomplished our goal, your total satisfaction with our services.

We are very glad to know that Walquidia Peralta, Ismael Ramirez, Lary de los Santos and Kelvin Garcia surpass your expectation and went out of their ways to make sure you were pleased and satisfied during your vacation stay. It is only through them that we can be a successful Company.

One more time, we would like to express our gratitude for having taken the time to express your impressions. We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to continue counting with your loyalty and serve you in another occasion here at “Your Home away from Home”.

Kind regards,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Caribe Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Caribe Tropical

Address: Playa de Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bavaro
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#7 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#7 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Caribe Tropical 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Melia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Caribe Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Cana Melia Caribe Tropical
Sol Melia Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Punta Cana
Melia Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Tropical Punta Cana
Melia Tropical Punta Cana
Melia Hotel Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Tropical Resort
Punta Cana Melia Caribe Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Caribe Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.