We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Staff in Punta Cana” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Caribe Tropical

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Caribe Tropical to your Saves list
Melia Caribe Tropical
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Bavaro
Stoney Creek, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Best Staff in Punta Cana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed here for a week from Sept 6-13th 2013
I can't say enough nice things about the staff here.

Ysrael and Alejandro and Felix from the Swim Up bar had drinks always ready for us they were fantastic! The Lobby bar had great bar tenders too Diomendes and Santiago (there were a few more that week too but I can't remember their names)
The casino bar had great bar tenders too like Javier and Zilio (not sure if that's right) and Ilanda Del La Cruz.

Alexis from Front desk checked us out and was really nice and friendly.

I had a great time here and I would recommend this hotel and sell it with no doubts my clients would have a great time here. The food was good too. Beach was nice but a bit of seaweed on it and in the water but all in all it was still ok to use and go in.

A la cartes were lots of choices and they were good. Again all the staff and the waiters were great. Alex our concerige was really nice and greeted us every day too. Which is nice. They did have trolleys and shuttles running through out the property as well. There is also a mall right on site here too.

Room Tip: We were in block 41 but it's Royal Service buildings. It was nice to be there close to everythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Candice265;

Warms regards from Punta Cana.

I would like to thank you for having preferred our property as your holiday destination for the enjoyment of your vacation. Our hotel is passionate about customer satisfaction. Our goal is to build strong customer relationships as well as providing spectacular experiences that create long lasting memories to our visitors. We are pleased to know that in your case we did achieve our target which met our guests expectations.

We truly appreciate your kind comments regarding the services and attention provided by our hotel staff, specially from Ysrael, Alejandro, Felix, Diomedes, Santiago, Javier, Zoilo, Alexis and Alex; as a service oriented company we feel proud of their level of services that surpass our client´s expectations.

We hope to have you here in “your home away from home” for another vacation and have the honor to serve you one more time.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,158
    2,966
    1,146
    592
    512
See reviews for
3,498
3,572
150
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed at the Melia Caribe Tropical Resort over the Labor Day holiday. This was my third time staying at the resort and I must say they have provided exceptional service each and every time. This year the staff and management really stepped up to the plate to make the trip memorable for me and the group of travelers with me. They made sure we were taken care of from the time of our arrival until our departure. Juan Carlos made it his personal mission to ensure that our time at the Melia Caribe Tropical was enjoyable. This resort is a must stay if you are visiting Punta Cana.

Room Tip: The Royal Service provide added amenities for a great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Sbrown89,

Receive our warmest regards from Meliá Caribe Tropical.

We would like to extend you our gratitude for taking the time to share your experience in our property. Our main objective is the total satisfaction of our guests, which is why we are pleased to know that your case was not an exception.

We truly appreciate your kind comments regarding the services and attention provided by our staff, As service oriented company we feel proud of their level of services that surpass our client´s expectations.

Thank you one more time for having taken the time to public your comments and impressions, regarding your recent vacation.

Regards,

Helia Estrella
Web community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was at your resort August 19-23 2013 The place is beautiful. Thank you Biviano Navarro the bartender near the check-in thanks for the welcome drinks they were fabulous. There is really no bad review just a few minor issues. no matter if you are walking along the pathway to the lobby, or walking around the pool it is breath taking. Such nice landscaping with a variety of trees and flowers. There are peacocks and flamingos that live on site. The food is great, and the service at the marketplace was fantastic. Thank you Rodolfo Volquez and Wilber Luciano at the marketplace for being so very nice and treating us like family. ur room was so big and nice and the pool and beach was always clean . The only problem we had was that we had a flood in our room from the air conditioner when we returned from dinner. Management gave us another room but that room's ac didn't work at all. Finally they gave us a 3rd room but it was not as nice as the first one at all. It was outdated and the bed wasn't as comfortable as the first one. We were disappointed with that but didn't bother to call management because it 2am in the morning.Beause the grounds are so big u have to take the little train that runs on the property to all the specialty resturants and lobby but thr train is very slow. If you can catch one of the go carts that run on the property then do so. The resort should get rid the train and get all go carts they're faster then the slow train And I would like to give special thanks to Ruth Lebron. She was the most loving person we met. Everytime she saw us she gave us a wonder smile and big hugs. She treated us like family as well. We had a wonderful time and will return

Room Tip: tip: upgrade to royal service they have better rooms and bring your own mugs for your drinks!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Carmel0207,

Warmest regards from Punta Cana.

We would like to extend you our gratitude for taking the time to share your experience in our property. Our main objective is the total satisfaction of our guests, which is why we are pleased to know that your case was not an exception.

As a service oriented company we try hard to provide the best possible service to our customers and their satisfaction is our reward, which is why we are pleased to know that you have a great stay with us thanks to the attention provided from many of our co-workers.

We would like to apologize for the inconveniences experienced in your initial room. Our rooms are subjected to daily revisions from our maintenance and housekeeping departments; however, there might be situations that can arise during our guests stay. We deeply regret your room was affected by some maintenance issues and as a result you may have obtained a negative impression of our services.

We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to send us your feedback and valuable recommendations towards the improvement of our services. It is only through our client´s comments that we are able to identify the areas where we need to improve and provide the necessary measures as to avoid them from reoccurring.

One more time, thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent vacation with us; we truly appreciate the time you have dedicated to write us.

Kind regards,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I got to say that I had a great experience at Melia Caribe Tropical! Especially one staff member server Heribert Matos! He always went out of his way to make our experience for dining wonderful!! Some bad points though its hard to get in connection with other people in your party once u r in the resort. Tipping is constant which gets excessive!! When we arrived at airport my main luggage with everything in it was lost. Airport attendant grabbed my small bag on wheels walked us to our shuttle my husband gave $2 he demanded $5 & wouldnt leave until he got it!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Doreen B,

Receive our warmest regards from Punta Cana.

I would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Meliá Caribe Tropical Resort for your vacation. We are pleased to know that you have a wonderful experience in our property.

Our hotel is passionate about customer satisfaction; our goal is to build strong and trusted customer relationships and therefore we are happy to know that you have plenty enjoy your vacation with us thanks to the attention and services provided by Heribert Matos, you can be assured that we have shared your comments with him as a recognition for his level of services.

We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to send us your feedback and valuable recommendations towards the improvement of our services. It is only through our client´s comments that we are able to identify the areas where we need to improve and provide the necessary measures as to avoid them from reoccurring.

We will be more than honour to welcome you again here in “your home away from home.”

Regards,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great vacation, with only pleasant surprises. Place is very large though. Food & service were great Very friendly, customer-oriented personal, clean environment.
Special thanks to employees from Avenue Bar: Ben Cueto, Jhany, Rijo, Yoncly, Glenij

Room Tip: We upgraded our room for $275, it was by the beach. Room was large, with internet and very close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Ivan268,

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

On behalf of Meliá Caribe Tropical, We would like to express you our gratitude by selecting us as your holiday destination for the enjoyment of your recent vacations, as well as for sharing with us your impressions in reference to your recent visit. We really appreciate your comments and it is a pleasure to know that you had a wonderful vacation.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by our staff and services; it is thanks to our Employees that we are able to accomplish our goal – the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again in “your home away from home” Melia Caribe Tropical

Regards,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Decided to try an All-Inclusive that is reasonably priced with our family. We were pleasantly surprised how pleasant the staff was and how large a complex this is. Very plush landscaping with peacocks and other beautiful birds. Royal service was closed to our advantage.(We didn't sign up for this) We were able to get golf cart transportation (which was faster than the train) most of the time and bldg. 25 was conveniently located to beach and pool. Our pool bartenders, Felix, Alex and Israel were wonderful. Very pleasant and fast with getting our drinks. Always a smile! Rooms are Junior Suites with balconies and extremely nice. Always bottled water and sodas in refrigerator and coffee maker in room with robes, ironing board, iron and umbrellas in closet. Bathroom has a blow dryer. We brought bug spray and antibotics and didn't need either. The Michael Jackson show was our favorite. The speciality restaurants were ok, but our favorite was the French, Ma Maison. Unfortunately, not all were open. Would have liked to try the Mexican.
Now, the negatives. Casino is small (didn't have 3 card Poker which we enjoy), wished staff spoke more fluent English (communication is a problem at times), room didn't get cleaned two days (had to call at 5PM to get clean towels), and we were called by customer service the night before check-out as to what time we needed luggage pick up. We told them 8AM. We waited and waited and called twice. Finally we took the luggage downstairs ourselves and hailed a golf cart to take us to lobby. Had to rush eating breakfast before our pick up to the airport.
Our Apple rep., Josh was a godsend. He was from the US and helped us tremendously. The excursion, Outback safari was the best. Intially was afraid to go out of complex, but was glad we saw the countryside and how coffee, cocoa, coconut oil are processed from the trees. A very informative trip. Glad we went! Even had beach time there.

Room Tip: Bldg's 24-28 near pool and close to beach and beach grill. Resort is divided into family side an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear 305Eileen;

Receive our warmest regards from Punta Cana.

I would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Meliá Caribe Tropical Resort for your family vacation. We are pleased to read that you describe your stay in our property as wonderful.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Felix, Alex and Ysrael; it’s thanks to employees like them that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

Our hotel is passionate about customer satisfaction; our goal is to build strong and trusted customer relationships and therefore we are happy to know that you have plenty enjoy our facilities and services during your family vacation.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Regards,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The place is beautiful. There is really no bad view, no matter if you are walking along the pathway to the lobby, or walking around the pool it is breath taking. Such nice landscaping with a variety of trees and flowers. There are peacocks and flamingos that live on site. There is a crazy obstacle course and zip lining and rock wall climbing as well. The food is great, the service is top notch, and the ocean was so calm, with a green flag up every day.

I really do not have any complaints about this resort, everything is just perfect. It is romantic and also great for families. I am guessing it is because of the time of year, but there was so little people there, that to find a lounge chair, or shade or sun was so easy. You would walk by 10 or more empty chairs before you found the one that was "just perfect", instead of just taking anything you can get like other resorts at buys times of the year. No lines at the bars or restaurant either.

Room Tip: I would recommend being in the middle of the resort, building 30 or 29 or so. This way you are in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Kinskey,

Receive our warmest regards from Punta Cana.

I would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Meliá Caribe Tropical Resort for your vacation. We are pleased to know that you have a wonderful experience in our property.

Our hotel is passionate about customer satisfaction; our goal is to build strong and trusted customer relationships and therefore we are happy to know that you have plenty enjoy our facilities during your recent vacation.

We will be more than honour to welcome you again here in “your home away from home.”

Regards,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Caribe Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Caribe Tropical

Address: Playa de Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bavaro
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#7 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#7 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Caribe Tropical 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Melia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Caribe Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Cana Melia Caribe Tropical
Sol Melia Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Punta Cana
Melia Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Tropical Punta Cana
Melia Tropical Punta Cana
Melia Hotel Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Tropical Resort
Punta Cana Melia Caribe Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Caribe Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.