We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Guest Services were excellent, but the fact that you needed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Caribe Tropical

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Caribe Tropical to your Saves list
Melia Caribe Tropical
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Bavaro
Somewhere near Alaska
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The Guest Services were excellent, but the fact that you needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

to contact guest services more than once on a vacation says something about the resort. Our bags were painted with some substance, gyproc mud, paint, etc. We had to contact the front desk once, wrote one letter and finally went to guest services and managed to have them cleaned. They were cleaned professionally, but it was a hassle. The TV in the room didn't work and we had to contact them 3 times to have this resolved. There was one other incident but it wasn't the resorts fault. Emelio at guest services was a blessing and redeemed what would have been a 2 star vacation if he wasn't there.
This resort is huge! It's a 20 minute walk from the lobby to the beach and the resort is on the beach! They have trains running that you can catch which makes the trek a little easier. The staff was friendly and helpful, but a little overwhelmed and understaffed during Easter weekend. It took over an hour to get drinks for our meal one evening, but they were doing the best they could. Bring lots of american small denomination bills for tipping, it's hard to get change on the island.

Room Tip: Try to get one within a 2 minute walk to the beach. A GPS would be nice if you are from a small tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear ElevatorAl;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

In the name of our team I would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Melia Caribe Tropical for your vacation; I am Helia Estrella, Web Community Liaison. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guest's opinion. Please accept our apologies for the situations you experienced during your visit.

In reference to the problems that you have had with the TV in your room, please accept our apologies for these, we have taken a good note about this point for improve this service.

Your satisfaction is our priority and we do appreciate your custom; once again, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience that you get through. Thank you so much for bringing these things to our attention so that we can continually improve our service. We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here at our Melia Caribe Tropical again.

Please accept our apologies for the experience during your visit and any inconveniences that this may have caused. If you wish to contact us on a private matter you may reach us at calidad.melia.tropical@meliacaribetropical.com.

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,143
    2,959
    1,145
    590
    512
See reviews for
3,492
3,560
150
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have wanted to visit the Melia in a very long time and finally got there!

We flew Air Transat and were very impressed with the refurbished plane. The service was excellent and everything was on time. We had a small incident leaving Punta Cana but I will elaborate on that later in my review.

We decided to rate this resort starting with 10 and going down as we ran into things that we didn't really like. In the end we ended up with an 8.5 out of 10.

We were in a Junior Deluxe room and could not justify paying an additional $2,000 for the Royal Service for 10 days. Our room was perfect. Near the pool, second floor, facing the pool (sort of). It was a bit frustrating that I contacted the resort to request a second floor room, facing the pool three times and when we got there we had been assigned to a ground floor, not facing the pool. What?? Really? Anyway, they didn't lose a point for that because they did accommodate us in the end.

Food

The ala cartes we ate at were the American (2x), the Thai Fusion (2x), the Italian and we did the Steak and Lobster. We were able to split a steak, which in fact was 2 mid size full steaks, with a baked potatoe, salad and dessert. It was only $39 for the both of us. The Thai restaurant was amazing (try teh Cashew Chicken, awesome!!), the American was good and the Italian was awful. The Market Buffet was always good, the buffet by the beach was just ok. We docked a point for the food.

Drinks

No complaints except for the red wine. It was drinkable, but just. My husband enjoys Brugal rum so he was set. We enjoyed the Avenue bar and the lobby bar. The pool bar was good too until the spring breakers showed up and then it was bedlam. They usually didn't roll out of bed until early afternoon but after that it was absolute chaos! We avoided the pool bar after they arrived but the amazing service around the pool kept us hydrated!!

Beach

Gorgeous! We had a sailing lesson and went out on our own for a bit. I think we needed more than a 10 minute lesson!! We ended up on the Paridisus beach somehow.....

Grounds

Amazing! Always kept up. The staff work so hard to keep this resort spotless. Honestly how can anyone complain. Because we were by the pool we had a long walk to the front but often times drivers in golf carts stopped and offered us rides and sometimes we took the train but the walk really did us good because let's face it, when do you noramlly sit and enjoy beverages and unlimited food all day??

Service

I cannot believe how attentive the people at this resort are. We were so impressed and we weren't at the Royal Service and felt like we were! In our room on the first day we received a bottle of rum, wine, water, apples, jellies and a Melia corkscrew. Just because! The staff were friendly at all times. They would remember us a greet us warmly. Juan in the Market Buffet was awesome!! Even our maid was sweet and always smiling!

Where did this resort lose it's final half point? We felt we had to dock it a half point because of how slippery it was around the pool. We saw at least 10 people wipe out on the pool deck and they were nasty falls. If that happened here there would be a huge liability. One teenage boy was running, slid and was almost unconscious under a chair! Another girl fell and ended up with a black eye and stitches above her eye.

So all good things come to an end and when we finally arrived at the airport checked our bags they were suspiciously 7 kilos over. Weird considering they weren't when we left and we didn't buy anything. In fact we left stuff behind! Anyway the girl told us it was $15 per kilos over and would cost us $105. I told her I only had a credit card which was fine but she asked if we had cash. My husband told her we had $50 and she accepted that and when he handed it over to her she put it in her pocket! I confronted her about that and she ignored me. I was so angry and when we got onto the plane, in conversation waiting to take off I mentioned it to a couple of the flight attendants. Well they reacted in a big way and brought in the airport security. We explained what happened, described the girl, told him it was in her right hand pocked, 1 $20, 2 $10's and 2 $5's. We also had to complete a form that is going to Air Transat customer relations. I don't know what will happen but we were impressed by both the flight attendants and the airport security. Apparently our boarding pass had her ID number on it so they will know who it was and I hope she gets fired! There are a lot of decent people out there that deserve good jobs and she isn't one of them!!

So go to the Melia and enjoy your stay! I recommend this resort to everyone who asks!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Prtnpnk;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

In the name of our Team Worker I want to thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to know that you really enjoy your stay with us. It was our goal to make sure that your stay was graded as excellent. We really appreciate your comment.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My Husband and I booked a quick one week getaway at the Melia Caribe Tropical. It was fantastic. Beautiful reosrt, great friendly people, and it may not be for all but we really liked the fact that it was a pretty large reosrt. There were trains to take you around, but we preferred to walk, which was a great work out. The only thing I can say really wasn;t great about this resort was the Peacocks. Don't be fooled by their beauty...they would wake us up at 4 am with there horrid sounds. But as long as your room is away from them you should be fine...we were unfortunate in this aspect. have to give a shout out to our wonderful bartneders who were always ready for us from across the pool at Bar Picina Tropical: Rafael Ama Dor, Julian Del Rosario, Wilfredo Roja and Santa Patricia. Great place you won't be diappointed. We were ther from March 25, 2013 until April 2nd, 2013.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear SABRINAV185;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

As a service-oriented company, we highly appreciate our guests' opinion and therefore we recognize the value of taking your time to let us know about your experience. I want to give you the thanks for your comments and for selected our Melia Caribe Tropical for enjoy your last vacation.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Rafael, Julian del Rosario, Wilfredo Rojas and Santa Patricia; it’s thanks to employees like them that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pilot mound
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Not sure what inspires people when they write these reviews but wife and i are on 5 time to Punta Cana and stay at different resort each time, and constantly are asked which is favorite and reply always same don"t have favorite all resorts have their good and bad. Well lets start at beginning we arrived at resort and went to check in where were offered an upgrade to romance suite by Jose so he showed us different and told us (group of 3 couples) that for $200 upgrade included nicer room, free wifi and room safe (room safe was 14 bucks and wifi 60 for week). so we thought that was great value so we all took it. There is more to this story at end in the bad so stay tuned. Will start with resort if was very well kept and huge.There was always a train or trolly going to where you wanted but most time we just enjoyed walk, but if you are not patient enough to wait for train or don"t like walking this is not the resort for you. The pools and beach were very well kept with lots of loungers first resort where did not have to play the 6 am lounger boogie. The bars were all great good variety with good selection. Now on to the food, it was fabulous if you couldn't find anything to eat in this place it was your own fault. Even the buffet had a huge selection. We did the ala carte every night found everyone to be wonderful not sure i enjoyed one more than the other they were all very well done, being 6 of us we had to phone for reservation because at keosk you could only book table for 4 and every night they were very obliging. The service for a big place was phenomenal everyone in resort was friendly and more than helpful.Alot of service comes from the attitude you have they are like everyone else you talk down to them they will react like anyone would, for example i tipped one waiter one dollar and he thanked me many times and apologized for his english to which my reply was his english was hundred times better than my spanish, give him a smile and wished his a good day in spanish.Now on to the Bad, resort entertainment blew chunks there were only 3 people doing activities in afternoon, and it was mostly older crowd not interested in activities but for us 40 somethings missed it a lot. Finally got one guy to get water polo going and could only find one other person other than us to play. Other than that we had good time making our own entertainment. Now on to the check out and just as i promised the rest of the story, when we went to check out they needed $15 bucks for the room (not sure how $2 a day times 7 days added up 15 ) to safe times 3 rooms we told them Jose said it was ll inclusive and if you can believe this Jose wasn't due back to work till 3 pm after we were in air and they didn't have cell number for him yeah right. That didn't ruin vacation but it sure tainted what was otherwise a very nice vacation. That is why they have check in on one side of the lobby and check out on other side. Well that is it folks just know what you sign up for on upgrade and if you don't mind walking or waiting for train this a top notch resort but you supply your own good times in afternoon.

Room Tip: Romance suite upgrade very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear mcgreger;

In the name of our team I would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Melia Caribe Tropical for your vacation; I am Helia Estrella, Web Community Liaison. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guest's opinion. Please accept our apologies for the situations you experienced during your visit.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I recently returned from a one week vacation at the Melia Caribe Tropical in the Dominican Republic.
We thoroughly enjoyed the trip but were especially impressed by one of your employees. His name is Jiovel Leboff. He is a waiter who was working at the Turey Grill during our stay. He is THE BEST WAITER I have ever met. He is pleasant, friendly, charming, personable and happy and really knows how to make guests feel welcome and important. This is a man who completely enjoys his work. He anticipated our needs and nothing was ever an effort for him. Without a doubt, he is the reason we would consider returning to this resort.
Thank you, Jiovel for making our holiday truly memorable.
Lowell and Marlene

Room Tip: Building 26 is close to pool, restaurant and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear 271 ms;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

In the name of our team I would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Melia Caribe Tropical for your vacation; I am Helia Estrella, Web Community Liaison. It is a pleasure to us to know that you have a good vacations.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottstown pa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

they charge you for the use of safe, if you have allergies to food don't bother sitting down with conceirge for an hour picking your menu because none of the resteraunts got the info on your allergies. actually the excursions were cheaper than i expected to pay, which was good.
the liquor was watered down to much, it is more for kids to be there than adults, I have been to way better resorts, no room service

Room Tip: by the beach side and resteraunts because the resort is big alot of walking or taking there little t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear cherylh716;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

In the name of our General Manager and our team worker I would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Melia Caribe Tropical for your vacation; I am Helia Estrella, Web Community Liaison. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guest's opinion. Please accept our apologies for the situations you experienced during your visit.

I want to apologise for the impression that you received about the Service in general and for any inconveniences that you have had during your visit in reference to the food, as a service-oriented company we recognize the value of taking your time to let us know about your experience. Our commitment is to achieve our guests’ total satisfaction, therefore we regretful that some of our services did not meet your expectations.

It is a shame to know that you were not totally satisfied during your vacation in the hotel. Please accept our apologies for the experience during your visit and any inconveniences that this may have caused. If you wish to contact us on a private matter you may reach us at calidad.melia.tropical@meliacaribetropical.com.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I never write reviews, but feel compelled to this time, while in still vacationing in this resort. I'm really disaappointed about Melia Tropical. We stayed here 3 years ago and we loved it so much we came back with all of our 3 kids and brought our friends along. The biggest turnoffs is terrible service (especially at the bars & restaurants) and really surprisingly disgusting food, in all of the A'la carte restaurants. Its impossible to book them, food is ether tasteless, disgusting or over salted, and on top of it takes an hour just to get your food. Also when we were in French restaurant we found a fly in our food. We found that the food is HORRIBLE through out the resort. Drinks are weak and the house wine is bad at best.
I have Expedia rewards members and was suppose to get and room upgrade instead when checking in, we got a sales pitch for a "special" upgrade of $1800 for our stay. I will talk to Expedia people to take this hotel off their lists. Who charges $2 per day to use the safe in your room? Also room had a post card welcoming someone else which makes me wonder if they really cleaned it before letting us in. We are also constantly hassled by the "Vacation Club" sales people. The list of what is wrong with this place goes on and on.
If you looking to stay in Punta Cana you can stay in Barcelo Bavaro, we stayed there a year ago and it was good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Igor K;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

In the name of our team I would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Melia Caribe Tropical for your vacation; I am Helia Estrella, Web Community Liaison. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guest's opinion. Please accept our apologies for the situations you experienced during your visit.

I truly regret and apologize for the impression of the service in our Bars and Restaurants you may have received, this is not the image we wish to project and I can assure this is not a common situation in our resort. Even though I can assure you that we continuously work with our staff in order to improve the quality of our services.

In relation with the quality of the food and drinks offered in our restaurants and bars, we are rather surprised because carefully selected products compose our gastronomical supply, taking into consideration the diversity of clients who visit our hotel. I must say that the level of satisfaction obtained concerning the quality and variety of breakfast, lunch, dinner services and drinks has always been very elevated according to the opinions reflected in our quality questionnaires. Nevertheless, we are sorry that our food and beverages did not meet your expectations and your comments will be taken into consideration.

It is a shame to know that you were not totally satisfied during your vacation in the hotel. Please accept our apologies for the experience during your visit and any inconveniences that this may have caused. If you wish to contact us on a private matter you may reach us at calidad.melia.tropical@meliacaribetropical.com.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Caribe Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Caribe Tropical

Address: Playa de Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bavaro
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#7 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#7 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Caribe Tropical 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Melia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Caribe Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Cana Melia Caribe Tropical
Sol Melia Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Punta Cana
Melia Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Tropical Punta Cana
Melia Tropical Punta Cana
Melia Hotel Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Tropical Resort
Punta Cana Melia Caribe Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Caribe Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.