We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely grounds - but family rooms and activities disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Caribe Tropical

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Caribe Tropical to your Saves list
Melia Caribe Tropical
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Bavaro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Lovely grounds - but family rooms and activities disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just got back from the Melia Caribe Tropical with our three sons, 2, 5, 8 years old.

The resort is beautiful, the huge palms, manicured gardens everywhere, birds and turtles in ponds. Very nice. Since you have to take a trolley to get around the resort because it's so big, it's nice to have the beautiful lush scenery.

The major exception of the family rooms, which have not be updated in decades. I talked to other families, it was the same in the three family buildings. The decor was majorly outdated. The light fixtures were quite old and rusty. The bath/shower was not well designed and awkward to get in and out of. Water pressure was terrible and changed from too hot to too cold every minute. Family rooms are definitely not 4 star. The family rooms are located near the pool, beach, kids club and beach restaurant, so that was convenient, but the block 1 in particualr, where we were staying, is right at a trolley stop, which was quite loud and couldn't sleep with the windows open. we could even here it with the windows closed. I would advise you to only put families in block 3, and also to let them know that the family rooms are very much outdated.

Also, not sure the 'flinstones' kids club is worth it. other than one flinestones show on friday night, we did not see the characters. And the show was at 9:30 at night, so we had to leave shortly after it started to get the kids to bed. All the shows were too late at night for families and the speaker system too old and much too loud. There were not a lot of free activities to do, and it was hard to get the free stuff, even on the beach. There were supposed to be paddle boats, etc, but hard to find and even harder to find staff to help use them. No free rockclimbing or adventure pack for kids. The best thing about the kids club staff were FANTASTIC!!! The best staff on the whole resort!!! Although the bar staff is very nice also!

Pools are very nice, but not heated, and neither were the whirlpools, so that was too bad.

The restaurants are nice, but for kids meals they offer burnt chicken nuggest or fish sticks, which by the way look identical, and neither looked normal. Alternative was spaghetti and meatballs. They were pretty much the only 3 meals offered at every single restaurant!!! the kids got sick of it after the first night. we ordered off the main menu for them, otherwise they wouldn't have eaten. The food was good, probably typical of a 4 star only - got repeatitive after a couple of days. Would have like to see fresh coconut offered. French, Mexican, Italian restaurants were the best. The desserts weren't great anywhere. Also, some waiters weren't good - it's as though they had too many tables to take care of. It would take a minimum of 2 hours each meal. So trick is to order all your courses as soon as you can and bring ipods to entertain the kids while you wait at least 20 minutes between courses.

Also, there were no waterslides, which I'm pretty sure I requested. it looked like there was a waterslide at the kids' club, but it was just a little jungle gym. When booking, we had a choice between barcelo select 4+or melia. Since the barcelo was at least $600 less, I should have gone there because of the free mini-putt.

We played tennis a few mornings, but the raquest are 5$ each to rent per day. At a 4+, they should be free. The courts that are available at no cost are not great. You have to pay a premium for the good courts, which again seems ridiculous to me given the cost to stay there.

The beach was indeed nice, but lots of seaweed and lots of vendors trying to get us to swim with dolphins, etc. It was pretty annoying as they bothered us at the beach and AT THE POOL! And where you picked up towels. And in the lobbies. It was overkill and we were so annoyed, got so many differing prices, etc, we didn't do any of those activities

Anyway, I just thought you should know so you can tell families so that they go in with their eyes open, rather than get disappointed like we were. I also complained to the AirTransat people that their brochaure says Melia Caribe while the family rooms are on the Melia tropical side -- which was also misleading. Although the AirTransat and Melia staff offered us an upgrade, which was next to restaurants (and bars) and at the other end of the resort from pool and beach so not convenient, we decided to stay in our ugly room. The beds were comfy. The staff that cleaned did a good job on beds, but not much else.

In the end, given this experience, I don't think we will book with AirTransat, Melia, or Tripcentral (which recommended Melia and said it was the best), in the future because we were so disappointed with the family room and activities offered.

Room Tip: Don't book family rooms here until they've been renovated like the rest of the resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Familiesof5doexist;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

In the name of our team I would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Melia Caribe Tropical for your vacation; I am Helia Estrella, Web Community Liaison. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guest's opinion. Please accept our apologies for the situations you experienced during your visit.

In reference with to the maintenance in your room with the bathroom, the pressure of the water and the temperature of the same, the Maintenance Department follow established procedures and the rooms are subject to a very strict daily supervision. However, we will look daily for ways to improve this service. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you may have encountered.

Concerning to your children that got sick, the health and well being of our guests is one of our top priorities. In order to assure this our Hotel participates in Crystal, a world-renowned British hygiene assurance program with very high standards. Any products or ingredients that are being used are subject to strict sanitary controls. As you may know, certain risks are involved when travelling to the tropics, like combination of food and beverages. Accept our sincerely apologies for the bad moment you may had with this situation.

In general we want you to apologize for the impression that you have received about some services that do not exceed your expectations, in Melia Caribe Tropical our passion is to make an unforgettable vacation of our clients. If you wish to contact us on a private matter you may reach us at calidad.melia.tropical@meliacaribetropical.com.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,872
    3,366
    1,314
    657
    555
See reviews for
3,992
4,080
173
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,615)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mahtomedi, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Can't say enough about the service we got. We were spoiled by Miguel Anguel Obispo and Juan Adbrincole. We knew Miguel from our first visit so getting reacquainted was easy. Juan was our butler. He prepared a romantic hot tub for our return from ziplining. Both men made sure our dinner reservations where kept. We had a problem with getting into the French restaurant so we walked away thinking we had made a mistake. Miguel chased us down at Gabi and took us back to Ma Maisone (sp) and made sure we had good service. Our favorite was the Thai, followed by the Italian, and then always had a nice meal at the Gabi. Though we liked the Japanese dinner we felt it wasn't worth the extra money we spent. It was Hibachi service, the food was o.k. but too much to eat. The steak was good but the chicken and sea food came out in small pieces. We expected a show but not a spilt bottle of wine were the guest had to fight to get compted for.

The RS rooms are nice. The showers slightly small and the heads too close to the door where the water made a mess on the bathroom floor. We wedged a towel at the bottom to keep most of the water inside. Watch out when using the different types of shower heads when turned to a single pencil like spray they could hurt if aimed in the wrong place. Some of the furniture and cabinets are starting to show wear.
We lost power it seemed nightly and a few times during the day.

Our visit coincided with a recent storm so the beach continually needed to be cleaned. The MCT also owns the hotel next door where they used a machine to keep the beach clean. Yet didn't use it to keep the MCT, especially the RS area beaches clean.

Beach towel service is now computerized and is a hassel. We had a towel stolen and where threatened with a 25.00$ fee. The gal gave us a brake and gave us another towel with a frown.
Most of the help was cordial. Our first visit everyone had smiles and seemed happy, not this time, if you tipped the service you had a better chance of having a smile.

Buying into the RS is nice, you feel special, in a small resort in a big complex. But the money spent you'd wish you were closer to the beach or had better service to and from the beach. Having to scramble to get a palapa around the pool was another item that we felt was a little disconcerting. Like other fine resorts we have stayed at there is a time limit on how, when towels can be used to reserve seating areas. Guest in the RS would put towels out the night before. Then not show up until late morning. Most guest would get up at 6:00 am just to get a spot. We also wished the RS would be adults only.

MCT is always at the top of our list of places to stay but compared to other same quality resorts we think there's room for improvement. Especially when compared to our previous stay. If it weren't for Miguel and Juan, the great food and generally good service we would be hard pressed to consider something else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Rick T;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thanks for your positives commentaries; is a pleasure to us to know that you have had a really good time in our hotel; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Juan Adbrincoles from the Royal Service and Miguel Obispo; it’s thanks to employees like them that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I travelled to Punta Cana in March for a golf getaway with my nephew and his friend. We played golf daily, 7 full rounds in all, on 27 nicely manicured holes. The holes were long and challenging but not there to beat you up, nice resort golf.
Upon arrival at the Melia we went directly to the Royal Service and promptly checked in with Anny K, it was a painless process. We were given a room on the ground level facing the Royal Service pool, great location central to everything. The room was clean and comfortable, the only complaint was the shower, which backed up daily, it was quickly addressed but never resolved. This was a minor inconvenience in an otherwise great vacation.
In the Royal Service lobby a sincere thank you goes out to Ray S who greeted us nightly with a warm smile and cocktail. We also had the pleasure of meeting Herminio B from Food & Beverage who as always attended to our dining requests. A special mention goes out to the wonderful hostess Alexandra at the La Gondala restaurant. The Gabi restaurant is a great place to eat all meals, staff are great and very attentive, unfortunately we missed Miguel O this time around. There are more than 10 restaurants to choose from along with multiple bars and lounges, somewhere always to sit and have a drink. The food is quite good with plenty of selection. Hats off to the Food & Beverage team at the Melia Caribe, great job!
The grounds are well kept and very clean, however this is a large resort with lots of walking by no means do you feel like you are on a compound.
Great week, will definetly return!

Joseph & the Boy's

Room Tip: Try Royal Service, poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Joe M;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thank you very much for your positive review. It is a pleasure to know that you really enjoy your vacation with us. It was our goal to make sure that your stay was graded as excellent. We really appreciate your comment.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Anny, Raydesther, Herminio, Alexandra and Miguel Obispo, I want to tell you that Miguel works in our Market Place Buffet; it’s thanks to employees like them that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We just returned from 3 nights and 4 days at this property. If you are like me then you read tons of reviews before you choose a resort. This is our 3rd trip to Punta Cana and we have also been all over Mexico. Here are some random things that I hope will help you pick this resort (or not)
I am going to relate these to Royal Service so you can also decide on that issue.

#1 Size
this place is HUGE
If you like to walk, jog, or run then this place is for you. The grounds are beautiful from end to end. There is a natural area right in the middle of the entire property.
If you have Royal Service you can call and they will send a golf cart for you. This works out MOST of the time - but sometimes we got tired of waiting and just walked. There are trams (choo choo like trains) that run but not always when you want one. We only had 3 nights so our time was valuable. We could sometimes flag down a cart but still I got tons of exercise!
#2 The Food
The food here for us is as good or better than any all inclusive that we have been to. The are some things to be aware of though. We didnt eat at the beach buffet and they do hound you going in and out of there with timeshare people right at the entrance. We did look the buffet over and at off times this may not be the best place to eat. The main buffet closes off and on through out the day. This is good and bad. Bad if you want to eat there and its closed because then its off to the other side of the resort for you. Good if you want fresh made and good food when it does open. Buffets that never close or the ones that are usually the worst.
If you have Royal Service then the Gabbi restaurant is really good, We ate there for breakfast and lunch most of the time. We took a rubbermaid container and they would let us fill it with fruit to take down to the beach - we love the early am beach! We never eat dinner at the Gabbi. The bar is nice but you must ask for Absolute Vodka otherwise you get the same low grade stuff - I think the Absolute was the only top shelf liquor available (but I am no expert on drinking)
We ate at the Thai restaurant - the Dominican and the Italian at night. We liked them all with the Italian last but again I think overall the evening restaurants are pretty darn good. The bread is good in all of them and the service is pretty good.
#3 Room Service
We had Royal Service and liked the room service food. There is where it gets tricky without Royal Service. It is our understanding that there is no room service without Royal Service so if you are hungry at an odd time then you are going to find slim pickings. Our mini fridge didnt have much when we came in but the next day it had more. It is our understanding that you get no beer in cans in a reg room - we had (2) beers, Orange Juice, soda, candy bar, two kinds of chips and peanuts (on the 2nd day). On the 2nd day we met the housekeeper and a little kindness and a few bucks could change your fortune.
#4 The Room
We had the King Suite with Jacuzzi tub - it was HUGE! it was a newer room (2009) We were in the building that was closest to the main buildings (farthest from the beach and close to the lobby and restaurants). The room was super nice and super clean (it was not cheap though)
I understand that most Royal Service rooms and close to the Gabbi Restaurant. Our room was not and I guess its because our room was newer and larger. So for us we had to go across the resort to get to Gabbi and then down the resort to get to the beach. Not a huge deal but lots of walking or golf cart riding.
#5 The beach
Bavaro Beach is really our favorite beach in the world. I love Hawaii and Tulum, but for a quick get away then give me Bavaro Beach. Again we had Royal Service so we had drinks delivered on the beach and even the watchman was nice. One thing that was odd is that we had to chase over to the pool to get towels and then back. Seems like something as fancy as "royal service" would include towels in that area but I am not complaining ( I guess)
There seems to be more seaweed at the south end of the resort (opposite side of the R/s area) so just move up the beach if you run into that.
#6 The staff
The reviews of the staff are spot on. Every single person we encountered was super nice. I didnt get anything "amazing" from our butler but we did have him make up the jacuzzi bath.
#7 Entertainment and Animation Team
We never really saw much of the animation team but this place is so huge. My wife did try the rock climbing wall and we saw the animation team spending toms of time and patience with the kids doing the climbing area. The entertainment was about a 1 on a scale of 1-10 with 10 being "OK" Punta Cana entertainment. The management should really consider recruiting one really talented M.C to run the shows. Dont get me wrong we have seen really bad shows made pretty entertaining with the right talent at the microphone. We have stayed a cheaper place in Punta Cana on our first trip and the animation team had to work so hard to keep things going. Here they can rest on their sheer size and climbing activities - Fred Flintstone etc.
#8 The overall vibe of the place
This really feels more like an upscale resort community where you could live for three months a year every year. This is not really a party place or even a "happening" place. Even when they had some music in the evening it was stuck in odd places around the lobby - almost like they never designed for people to dance and listen to live music. They also have canopy beds around the lobby and people we taking naps in those at all hours of the day and night.

The bottom line.
This is a nice place. Just keep in mind that is is huge. It is also very disconnected from the beach. Our room felt like it was a mile from the beach and no rooms are what I would call even ocean view. The resort is the resort and it is not centered around the beach.
Value
Is this resort a good value? I would say that with out Royal Service is a little below standard for the money and with Royal Service it is a bit over priced. Let me try and explain. At the Majestic Elegance you get room service with out up grading. We didnt feel the need to upgrade there. Here we already upgraded but we defiantly felt that we needed that upgrade. Where you room is located could play a huge part. Be prepared for a lot of waiting for the choo choo or walking.

Advice - get the tips going early and often (I used to be a cheap skate but I suggest bringing $100 in fives and ones and enjoy your self a bit - it makes you feel good too)

Overall we had a great time. Would we go back here? only if we caught it on a deal.
We booked through Apple vacations and I wanted a super nice room and our room came with Royal Service. Without R/S I think we can do better elsewhere. I prefer to be more connected to the ocean. The whole place is a bit too large for me. For example the day we left it was windy and cloudy at the beach - we were almost the only ones down there that morning. So we packed up and went back to the room. Then it cleared up - well the process of changing, getting lunch and trying to get back to the beach meant that we didn't get beach time the last day (we only had 3 nights). At a smaller more efficient place I could have thrown on swim trunks and jumped back in. Getting back and forth to the beach was a minimum of a 40-50 minute round trip.
I hope this review helps you - we had a great time and we hope you to do!

Room Tip: big place - be ready to walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Jimmyglen;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thanks for your positives commentaries; is a pleasure to us to know that you have had a really good time in our hotel; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one.

In other part, We want to thank you for your points to improve that you explained about our hotel services, We really aprecciate your comments and will take in consideration by the management.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just got back from a 10 day stay. Enjoyed the place immensely. The grounds are well kept; the food is excellent. We ate at 8 a la cartes. Great variety. The service was excellent, the staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. Special kudos to two really exceptional people: Jose Daniel Mendez (concierge) was always able to help and provide very good advice on anything we wanted to know. The second was not an employee of the hotel but was an employee (Beth) of the Swarovski store in the adjacent shopping mall. While in the store I was grousing about having forgotten my ipod charger at home and she volunteered to let me use hers while I was there.

Room Tip: There are rooms that are much closer to the food and other rooms that are closer to the pool and bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Bob D;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana

In the name of our Team Worker I would like to thank you for your commentaries; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one. We are so glad because you had a fantastic vacation in our hotel.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Jose Daniel Mendez; it’s thanks to employees like him that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

Hope to see you again at your “Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical”.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Spent 5 days at Melia in March 2013. The highlight of the resort is its exquisite landscaped grounds and beach. It feels like paradise.

The resort is very large. It can take 15 minutes to walk from main reception to the beach. They do have a “train” that makes a fixed route around the resort but it can take up to 15-20 minutes for the train to arrive. You can also call a golf cart to pick you up at your room.

The rooms were nice and clean. The main pools are enormous and beautiful.

Three large buffet locations, two on the beach and one at the main reception hall. The food is good with ample options but I would not say that it is excellent. There are a number of restaurants on the resort but you need to book a reservation. Food at the restaurants is a step above the buffets.

My main complaint about Melia is their constant sales push to purchase a time share. We were approached 5 times in the first two days by staff. Their scam is to approach you asking if you are having a good time. That quickly turns into questions about whether you have taken the “tour” and who is your assigned representative. They are especially aggressive when entering and exiting the buffets near the beach. That being said, we learned that if you just say no thanks and keep walking they will not pursue. Unfortunately, because we could not always tell which staff would give us the sales pitch, we tended to avoid interactions with the staff which was unfortunate.

Only two other minor annoyances. Although we requested a king bed, they only had a room with two double beds when we arrived. They offered that we could change rooms the next day. Inconvenient. Second, in order to get a lounge chair on the beach, you need to get out there very early and put some belongings on the chairs. I was on the beach at 7:30am and grabbed what appeared to be the last chairs. People also reserve pool chairs early but not as quickly as the beach.

The resort offers free Latin dance lessons on the beach each evening. The “entertainment” staff were very friendly and fun. Particularly Jonathan & Melvin.

I would go to this resort again.

Room Tip: Suggest the buildings closest to pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Liketotravel3r;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thanks for your commentaries; is a pleasure to us to know that you have had a really good time in our hotel; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one.


The concept of the Vacation Concierge is created to introduce our Vacation Club to guests. Their main job is to provide service to our guests, such as orientation and maps of our property, making reservations for dinner, providing information about local excursions and attractions, and to help make our guests aware that our Club Melia does exist and that we welcome any and all to visit and gain more knowledge about the concept. Please accept our apologies for the bad moment that you have had during your stay.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchill Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Let me start out positive, the grounds are very nice and well kept including swans, pink flamingos, ducks, Peacocks, and other birds, very nice to see there but what a racket they make every sunrise. I just had a regular room, not the vip section but If i had my time back I would have paid the $30.00 extra a night for VIP (only offered to first time users) because my room even though close to the pool and beach (I paid extra for this also) was on the first floor and over run with Bugs, I have read others saying the same thing and it's so true, lots of ants and other bugs in the room all over the place, they even came and fumigated it after I was there a couple days, this did help a little. The pools are very shaded from sun and it's almost impossible to get a seat there, always someone saving the seats with towels. The layout was very confusing especially in the lobbies and restaurant areas. The train was nice giving rides to and from the beach to the lobby and made many stops, ran about every 15 minutes. You have to pay for the use of the safe, which I think should just be included in the price come on, who won't use it? No Jacuzzi in the room and a very small tub and bathroom in general. At least they had an LCD tv. The A La Carte restaurants were not bad but not near as nice as many others I have been to in Punta Cana on other trips. The only real entertainment was in the very small theatre, never anywhere to sit unless you show up an hour early, same shows at other resorts. Definitely not a 4 star resort and I will not be coming back here. Now Larimar is 10 times the resort this one is.

Room Tip: if it's your first time here pick the VIP room upgrade so you can have internet and other amenit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear mountainmax;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

I would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Melia Caribe Tropical for your vacation, as well as for letting us some details about your recent visit; I am Helia Estrella, Web community liaison. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guest's opinion. Please accept our apologies for the situations you experienced during your visit.

Concerning to the bugs’ situation in your room, we fumigate the premises on regular basis; however, due to the hotel’s structure, characterized by wide open spaces, and taking into consideration the Tropical Climate of the country, the presence of such species may not be avoidable at all times. Please accept our apologies for this bad situation that you have had during your vacation in this order.

In the name of our team of Melia Caribe Tropical, We want to thank you for your comments and the points to improve that you explained, we give the really sense to those for improve the quality of our services, we put our greatest interest and value in our guest's opinion. If you wish to contact us on a private matter you may reach us at calidad.melia.tropical@meliacaribetropical.com.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bavaro
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
2.8 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
0.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
2.8 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
6.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Caribe Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Caribe Tropical

Address: Playa de Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#5 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#5 Business Hotel in Bavaro
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
#8 Family Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Caribe Tropical 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Melia Caribe Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Cana Melia Caribe Tropical
Sol Melia Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Punta Cana
Melia Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Tropical Punta Cana
Melia Tropical Punta Cana
Melia Hotel Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Tropical Resort
Punta Cana Melia Caribe Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Caribe Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.