We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Caribe Tropical

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Caribe Tropical to your Saves list
Melia Caribe Tropical
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Bavaro
Almada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Typical...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

for a Caribbean hotel.
Great beach with a few watersports for you to enjoy, the animation people are very animated.
The tranquility of the resort itself.
Try to enjoy everything that you have in the resort.
Very good overall quality.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Pedroat750;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana

Thanks for your commentaries; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one. We are so happy because you had a fantastic vacation in our hotel.

Hope to see you again at your “Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical”.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,156
    2,966
    1,146
    591
    512
See reviews for
3,498
3,572
150
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Melia Caribe Tropical in the Royal Service section of the hotel through RCI in room 4827. Directly across from the Gabi restaurant. Perfect location. I just wish we had been in building 48 with a pool view instead. The trade off was it was a very quiet spot.
There are great staff in the hotel and not so great staff in the hotel. Any contact with reception was a chore. On arrival the bell boys greeted us and showed us to the VIP reception. On contact with reception the lady seemed annoyed and ran through our VIP privileges so fast it was impossible to absorb. Any call to reception I was immediately put on hold. It felt like these ladies were extremely overworked. Our private butler took us to our room, told us he had 3 days off in a couple of days and did not hear from him again. Our impression was that having a butler he was to do private room service, bar service, keep our room in order etc. but not at all. Didnt really see the point in a butler after that. Our room was cleaned very nicely by the maid daily. No complaints there. The maid went out of her way to accommodate us with any requests.
We enjoyed most of the restaurants but the Gabi restaurant by far had the best food. Really there was no need to go to any of the other restaurants. The service and the staff were by far superior. We enjoyed great service from Raymond and Aiphonso. Alphonso gave my husband a hug which was very touching. Evelyn kept us very happy at the Gabi pool bar and found David Reyes at the Royal Service beach bar gave exceptional service in every way possible.
The staff on a whole do everything they can to make your stay the most enjoyable vacation they can. A great holiday and would definitely go to the Royal Service section of the Melia again!

Room Tip: If in the Royal Service section pick building 49 and ask for a pool view but bear in mind there will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear SandyOakville;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana

Thanks for your commentaries; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one. We are so happy because you had a fantastic vacation in our hotel.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Ramon, Alfonso and David Reyes; it’s thanks to employees like them that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

Hope to see you again at your “Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical”.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The attentive staff helped make my stay in Punta Cana one of the best vacations I've even had. The rooms are well appointed with a wet bar and a wonderful ocean view.
The gentle breeze over the white sand beach and turquoise water were just what the doctor ordered. When it was time to see other parts of the island the hotel suggested a number of options. From a private driver, rental cars or four wheeling.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear TJH54;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thanks for your positives commentaries; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one, is a pleasure to us knows that you have had a really amazing time.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We are first time visitors to Punta Cana and will now be repeat visitors. Our experience at the resort started with our exceptional Royal Service staff (butlers) Danny De Leon' and Pablo Martinez Garcia, who went above and beyond what we expected. They were very professional and courteous, yet a lot of fun and made our stay very memorable. Also, very accommodating was Yahaira at Royal Service guest services.
I recommend upgrading to Royal Service.....it is well worth it.
Dan & Michele Lebling

Room Tip: Upgrade to Royal service and pack sunscreen as it is super expensive at the resort. The grounds are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear MLebling;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thanks for your positives commentaries; is a pleasure to us to know that you have had a really good time in our hotel; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Danny de Leon, Pablo Martinez and Yahaira Lugo from the Royal Service; it’s thanks to employees like them that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

the resort was nice enough, but noticed they do not keep the grounds as clean as they could. Don't clean around the pool area or the walking trails but once a week as far as we could tell. The rooms were nice and the cleaning ladies did a good job. Found out after we got there that beer is not included in the mini bar in the room. Have stayed in similiar resorts where this is included. Have a couple of specialty restraurants where you have to pay more to dine there even after you paid for all-inclusive! The staff was very friendly and accomodating even with the language barrier. Noticed at the buffets that the food was not very warm.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms depending on where you want to be located. We had a room close enough to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear suntraveler661;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thank you for your preference in selecting our Melia Caribe Tropical for your vacation, as well as for letting us some details about your recent visit; I am Helia Estrella, Web community liaison. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guest's opinion. Please accept our apologies for the situations you experienced during your visit.

Regarding the cleaning in our pool; I can assure you that this situation is not common. However these faults are recognized and are immediately dealt with to ensure the guests satisfaction.

On respect to the language; for example is a barrier that most travellers will experience when travelling aboard. Please keep in mind that the area itself has limited resources as to the quantity of staff with fluent English. We are aware of this issue and constantly help our team better their language skills.

We are really concerned to know that you were not totally satisfied during your vacation in the hotel. Please accept our apologies for the experience during your visit and any inconveniences that this may have caused. If you wish to contact us on a private matter you may reach us at calidad.melia.tropical@meliacaribetropical.com.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston-Tx
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I loved the resort and the Royal service. The ladies at the Royal service do their best for your comfort.
Excellent food. Even the buffet Gabi, was nice and they also serve a la carte. The wine was not that good but all the other drinks were nice. The people there are great, the beach great, location, room, everything.
I just dislike see a family resort allow ladies with topless. Families with their children had to share the space with those people that love to expose their body but I haven't seen complainning...just me,I think.

Room Tip: The Royal service offer to the members a little more, however, I think tehy are nice to all guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Houston_TxFriend;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

I would like to thank you for your positives commentaries in the name of our team of work; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one, is a pleasure to us knows that you have had a really amazing time.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was our 1st trip to Punta Cana and Melia Topical and I can tell you it was a great vacation.When we arrived we were upgraded to "Royal Service"and I want to tell you it was just that "Royal". From the minute we arrived everyone made you feel special. The room was beautiful The ground impicably manacure and the beach one of the best i've ever been on and I've been on quite a few. The food was very good especilly breakfast at the Gabi. We had the same waiter every morning [Ramone Sosa] and was always greeted with a cup of coffee and a great big smile. He was always there to make your meal a delite. The place is very large in area but there is always someone there with one of there many golf carts to take you were ever you need to go.The people who run this resort really know there business and it shows by the smiles on everyones face.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear tom p;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thank you for your positives commentaries; it is for us great to know that you spent a really good time in our hotel, we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by Ramon Sosa from the Gabi Restaurant; it’s thanks to employees like him that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Caribe Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Caribe Tropical

Address: Playa de Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bavaro
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#7 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#7 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Caribe Tropical 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Melia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Caribe Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Cana Melia Caribe Tropical
Sol Melia Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Punta Cana
Melia Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Tropical Punta Cana
Melia Tropical Punta Cana
Melia Hotel Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Tropical Resort
Punta Cana Melia Caribe Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Caribe Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.