We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first vaca together was great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Caribe Tropical

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Caribe Tropical to your Saves list
Melia Caribe Tropical
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Bavaro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
East Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our first vaca together was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was a great place to stay. We had a really great time. Food options were awesome! Bars all over the grounds! And last but not least...one of our servers was just awesome...he deserves a promotion...our good old friend Algenis Lamauth!!!! He was the best!!!!! A pleasure!!!! :)

Room Tip: A room near the beach and pools is the way to go because it's a pretty far walk otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Heather M;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to know that you really enjoy your stay with us. It was our goal to make sure that your stay was graded as excellent. We really appreciate your comment.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Algenis Lamauth; it’s thanks to employees like him that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,810
    3,324
    1,300
    647
    545
See reviews for
3,927
4,041
171
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,583)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

First time booking with WestJet Vacations. Flight was fine but don't expect to see your rep. for the rest of your vacation! Our check in was smooth and since it never hurts to ask - we were changed to building 24 on the Tropical side - beautiful, then ended up with the Royal Service. It is a large place but after eating all that food it's nice to have a walk after dinner. Trams run about every 15 minutes. The beach restaurant is great for breakfast and lunch. Tried the Thai (nasty wine) but decent food. Italian was just ok. Dominican was good. The private beach, pool and Gabi restaurant for Royal Service was a really nice change for us. That just isn't our usual style but we enjoyed it. The shows were ok - we were there for 10 days and the Flintstone show was on twice. Tennis courts were great on the Caribe side and poor on the Tropical side.This hotel is 26 years old so the grounds are very lush. The beach is second to none and yes, there is grass on the beach (not seaweed). Lots of places to sit. No issues for us! Special thanks to Patrick and Pablo Garcia for making our stay so memorable! Learn a few words in Spanish - it goes a long way!

Room Tip: 2nd floor - building 24 was closer to the beach and you can take the train or walk to the main buffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Travellingfoursome;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to know that you really enjoy your stay with us. It was our goal to make sure that your stay was graded as excellent. We really appreciate your comment.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Patrick and Pablo Garcia; it’s thanks to employees like him that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We were at the Melia from December 11- 29 and we are Club Melia members, Royal Service. This is our fourth visit to this resort and it has consistently been excellent. This time we were there with my sister and brother-in-law.

We were warmly welcomed and checked in quickly by Heidy... Heidy always makes us feel like we are part of the family! Heidy also takes care of other special touches, such as booking restaurant reservations and ensuring our room is just perfect!

From there it was off to our room accompanied by our butler Pablo. If you read tripadvisor much, you probably already know about Pablo. He is a fantastic Melia ambassador and treats us like we are old friends. We joked that the resort will soon be renamed the "Pablo Tropical" Pablo and the other Major Domos, Eddy and Leo treated us to lovely jacuzzi baths with flowers and candles.... Horse and buggy rides and trips over to the shopping mall. Our beautiful room was clean and spacious with sheets and towels changed daily.

Most meals were taken at the Gabi... Evelisse, Marydahlia, Edward, Vladimir, Juan, Arnold, Ramone and Frankie are an amazing team. You will not find a better group of staff who excel at making guests feel comfortable and pampered. They could not do enough for us and we really appreciated their efficiency and the pleasure they take in their work. The Christmas dinner was wonderful with lobster, a whole roasted pig and turkey of course!

Each night before dinner we would stop by the VIP lounge where Raydesther mixed us tasty cocktails with her trademark sense of humour. The VIP lounge is a social hub in the evening and Ray greeted and served each of the many "regulars". Thanks for the great Manhattans Ray!

Evelyn is the Royal Service pool bartender/server and as in other years she was fabulous! Thanks for the Coco Locos :)

Augustin, at the RS pool snack bar, makes the best roast chicken legs you will ever have along with burgers, pizza and popcorn.... Mmmm...

Luis, Jose and Pedro looked after drinks at the Gabi bar. Thanks for the Mamamosa Pedro! (Mamajuana and champagne)

We are golfers and the course was well groomed, lush and full of beautiful flowering bushes and trees. It was not as busy as other years and there was no trouble getting a tee time.

All in all the four of us had a fantastic vacation.
We highly recommend the Melia Royal Service... Treat yourself! You wont regret i

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear sungolfer3;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to know that you really enjoy your stay with us. It was our goal to make sure that your stay was graded as excellent. We really appreciate your positive comment.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Heidy, Pablo Garcia, Eddy, Leo, Ivelisse, Vladimir, Juan, Arnold, Ramon, Frankie, Raydesther, Evelyn, Agustin, Luis, Jose and Pedro ; it’s thanks to employees like them that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband, myself and our adult daughter took a Christmas trip to this resort. We were there for 5 days starting Christmas day 2012. My husband upgraded to the "Royal" service with the suite.

When we checked in, it seemed very unorganized on the "Royal Service Lounge"...luggage all over, lots of talking...we were assigned a'concierge" (Wilson Guzman)who would 'take care of our every need'...He took us to our suite...they didn't give us our room keys...we had to wait for him to go back and get them.

Our suite included a king bed, fold out couch, dining area, kitchen with fridge/cabinetry etc and an oversized whirlpool tub. Looked like a small apartment.

Pros-Very spacious/prob too much space for 3 of us

Cons-One of the TV's did not work. Amenities were of substandard quality. You got shampoo/lotion/body wash/shower cap & sewing kit. I've seen better amenities in a low rent travel lodge. There was also NO conditioner. When I asked housekeeping for it, they said it was NOT provided. The I want to the Royal Service lounge to ask for it...they looked at me like I was crazy and said I could purchase it in gift shop. We had to purchase conditioner in small bottle gift shop for the bargain price of $11.00.

We also did not travel with a large bottle of sunscreen knowing we could not have more than 3 oz. We planned on purchasing it there. Gift shop price-$33.00!! You did not read that wrong...THIRTY-THREE American dollars for sunscreen. Ridiculous!!!!

One would think that if you pay for an 'upgrade", special services and amenities would come with that upgrade. Not so. In fact, I asked my husband , "what were we getting extra to show for the 'upgrade'"?. We couldn't name anything.


Other notes...grounds are massive...be prepared to walk...ALOT. There do have trams and golf carts running you to beach, etc...but it was only by chance that one would come by.

If you want to book an excursion, be prepared to go to the 'other' resort on other side of complex to book it. It's far away too.

We did do some gaming in casino. Many of the slots were out of order or malfunctioning.

The food was good...I would not say world class gourmet. I guess when you're preparing that much for such a huge resort, quantity wins out over quality.

Service-There were a few people who insisted on taking great care of us..."You are on vacation, I do the work for you"...That was great, but unfortunately, only sporadic. Many of the times we wanted/needed something, it was seemingly a bother for the people to help us. Not saying hello when we walked up...engaged in their cell phones/conversations. (This was especially evident when we went to get towels at the kiosk by the VIP pool..there were FOUR people in the booth, not ONE of them looked up to help us)..There's that "Royal" service again. BTW, we never heard from or saw our concierge for the entire trip.

Suggestions-

-Upon our arrival, we should have been given a tour of the ENTIRE facility. Only on my morning walk on the LAST day did I discover the other pool, restaurant, climbing park, ponds and facilities.
We missed out on this stuff.

-The ENTIRE staff needs a refresher course on service. (Perhaps banning cell phones while on duty?)

We spent between $6-$8 THOUSAND dollars on this trip. The "Royal" VIP service upgrade was not even close to its moniker. Don't waste your money on it.

Would we go back? Probably not. With all the descriptions like "Royal", VIP, high end service, top class floating around...they need to look those terms up in the dictionary and start over. They have a lot of work to do.

My guess is with the upcoming Winter/Spring break season..things will likely get worse.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room near the tram/train path. They have those, as well as full size trucks drivin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear mary o;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana;

As a service-oriented company, we highly appreciate our guests' opinion and therefore we recognize the value of taking your time to let us know about your experience. Our commitment is to achieve our guests’ total satisfaction, therefore we feel very regretful that some of our services did not meet your expectations. We have taken a good note of your observations and discussed it with our management team in order to take the appropriate measures wherever possible.

In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guest's opinion; it is a shame to know that the Royal Service, the amenities and the service in general did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apologies for the experience during your visit and any inconveniences that this may have caused.

We are really concerned to know the inconvenience that you had during your vacation in the hotel. Please accept our apologies for the experience during your visit and any inconveniences that this may have caused. Thank you so much for bringing these comments to our attention so that we can continually improve our service. If you wish to contact us on a private matter you may reach us at calidad.melia.tropical@meliacaribetropical.com.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Went to Melia with my family (wife and kids 18 and 20) and another family (2 adults and kids 16 and 18). The good- weather perfect every day. 80 degrees, sunny and a nice breeze. Beach, nice but lots of seaweed. Beautiful grounds. Large rooms The bad- Service was hit and miss. Sometimes very good- bar tenders, maids, staff on gounds, sometimes horrible- Dining, Reception, most desk help. Rude and gave bad information (Thanks for nothing). Ugly- Did not change our sheets for 6 nights and mites in room. Other- Food very average overall.

Would not recommend

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Andy Z;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana;

Thanks for your commentaries; I am Helia Estrella, Web community liaison. Beforehand I want to apologise for the incommodities you had during your vacations in Melia Caribe Tropical. For us it is great value to receive our guest’s observations for it helps us maintain and improve the quality service that we provide on current and future stays.

In reference with changing of the sheets in your room, I can assure you, that this is not a common situation in our hotel. The Housekeeping department follows established procedures and the rooms are subject to a very strict daily supervision. However, we will look daily for ways to improve this service. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you encountered.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience that you get through. Let this not be a motive for you not to stay with us in the future. I guarantee you that your comment has been forwarded to the departments involved in order to find and apply ways of improvement and be able to prevent future matters, if you wish to contact us on a private matter you may reach us at calidad.melia.tropical@meliacaribetropical.com.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were back at Caribe for our 7th time last month. So we obviously really like the place.
The resort is still beautiful, rooms in good shape, etc.
Unfortunately we are not sure if we will be back next year, mainly because of 3 major issues:
1) The buffet food is really going downhill in quality and variety.
Very little real salad ingredients, very few and sad choices of veggies, very poor choice for
breakfast (bacon wasn't even available most days!). So unless you enjoy greasy, carb-filled
food, it was a poor experience.
2) The house wine is undrinkable (and the cost from the wine list is just silly)
3) Service is getting very slow -- it is NOT the servers, but the lack of them that is the problem.

We have to name some people who did an outstanding job for us and who definitely made our stay worthwhile which I will post later.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear MeliaFans;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

I would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Melia Caribe Tropical for your vacations, as well as for letting us know about your recent visit; I am Helia Estrella, Web community liaison. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guest's opinion. Please accept our apologies for the experience during your visit and any inconveniences that this may have caused.

In relation with the quality of the food offered in our restaurants, we carefully selected products compose our gastronomical supply; taking into consideration the diversity of clients who visit our hotel, we sincerely want to apologise that our food did not meet your expectations.

I truly regret and apologize for the impression of the slowness in the service that you may have received due to the attitude of some of our staff. That definitely is not the image we wish to project and I can assure this is not a common situation in our resort.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience that you get through. Let this not be a motive for you not to stay with us in the future. I guarantee you that your comment has been forwarded to the departments involved in order to find and apply ways of improvement and be able to prevent future matters, if you wish to contact us on a private matter you may reach us at calidad.melia.tropical@meliacaribetropical.com.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

First of all thank you to all the employee, they are so nice and kind especially jose and jan luis.. And our house keeping lady...i forgot thier names...to all of you thank you so much!!! I would like to express my feeling how im happy to stay at melia caribe.... I love the place, foods,anything...i had a very good time and im gonna miss it soo much!! Melia caribe tropical are very clean environment!!! I wish to coming back again soon!!

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aris_MCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Divina J;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thanks for your positives commentaries; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by Jose and Jan Luis; it’s thanks to employees like him that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Melia Caribe Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Caribe Tropical

Address: Playa de Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#5 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#5 Business Hotel in Bavaro
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
#8 Family Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Caribe Tropical 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Melia Caribe Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Cana Melia Caribe Tropical
Sol Melia Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Punta Cana
Melia Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Tropical Punta Cana
Melia Tropical Punta Cana
Melia Hotel Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Tropical Resort
Punta Cana Melia Caribe Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Caribe Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.