We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value - happy staff - relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro to your Saves list
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Arena Gorda | Playa Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Bavaro
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good value - happy staff - relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Chose this hotel based on it being all inclusive as we were looking for a last minute uncomplicated "quiet" girls getaway from New York for a few days
We choose the perfect place. Direct flight from JFK, 20 minute ride from airport (hotel does not provide transportation, $38 air conditioned cab ride) and easy check in.

Hotel guests mostly couples on honeymoon, returning for anniversary or just returning for a third a fourth time. No children. Only one or two guys with sleveless (wife-beater) t-sirts at lunch buffet restaurant (comon guys, find a sleeved shirt for the restaurant) and people really dress up for dinner. Not jacket and tie, but women in great dresses and men in nice shirts with (non-athletic) shorts or nice slacks.

Several restaurants to choose between, but don't let them steer you to their sister property next door for dinner if you want a quiet dinner. This is where the families with children are staying. I don't mind children, have four myself, but just thought I would mention it to those looking for complete serenity. Food is not as good next door either, but staff is just as great. Guests from property next door cannot dine at the Grand property.

Staff is really well trained and seem genuinely happy to be working at the resort.

Small well equipped gym with ocean view next to the spa. We were able to get same day appointments at the spa. Spa staff gentle and efficient. Golf and tennis available at extra cost.

Beach has soft sand, clear water, gentle waves, nice palm umbrellas for shade and staff walking around taking drink orders.

One of the reviews I read suggested to bring dollars in small denominations for tipping. That was a good tip. It might be an "all inclusive" property but whenever appropriate, tipping was very much appreciated by the staff. Not for every drink ordered, but perhaps if the same server brings you drinks all day at the beach or if they go out of their way especially for you.

Good quality resort that is overall well kept. Upgraded bathrooms with rain shower and bath tub, great matresses, sheets and pillow, nice heavy doors for privacy, room darkening shades, easy Internet (in the room and lobby) tv, balcony overlooking courtyard with waterfall (soothing sound).

Air-conditioning and lights turn off automatically when you leave the room and turn back on when you return. Nice "green" feature. Don't leave the balcony doors open when you leave the room or you will return to everything covered in a slight mist and sheets and clothing slightly damp. It all dries out again when you turn the a/c back on.

I would come back but bring my husband the next time. Have to mention that we felt very safe in the environment.

Room Tip: Only a couple of true ocean view rooms at this very large complex as building is u-shaped around a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, hotel Manager, we thank you for your review about our hotel on Tripadvisor and for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your holidays.
We would like to express you our satisfaction when reading your publication in which you valued positively the quality of our hotel premises, gastronomy and services. Thank you for highlighting out the outstanding service from our friendly staff. In Iberostar we are all committed to ensure our guests to “enjoy being a Star” during their holidays.
We are looking forward to welcome you back. Please do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit,
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,910
    698
    184
    64
    23
See reviews for
447
3,485
115
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,333)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed at the Grand Bavaro from May 13 to May 20, 2013. This decision was made after careful reviews on multiple sites about this hotel. This place will not dissappoint. This was the most amazing vacation that I have had in my life. Everyone and I mean everyone was wonderful to be around. Arismendy 'Mendy,' our butler, was nothing but amazing this entire trip. Every need, want, or desire that we had was taken care of in a timely, efficient and courteous manner. Everyday, every butler than I ran into asked if there was anything special that they could do for us for the day. Our bath was amazing that he set up, there were flowers delivered to my room, everytting was thoughtful and special. Leidy, server at the pool, was also wonderful to me and my family. We waited for her to deliver our drinks, because of her pleasant attitude and the way she took care of us. Boom-boom, part of the entertainment staff, was so very nice and helpful. The staff went above and beyond in everything they did. Besides the ones listed, there are too many to name that did an excellent job. The servers at the restaurant were attentive at all times. The food was excellent, and there was always plenty. The staff was punctual. The grounds were absolutely breathtaking. I had an oceanview room and I would highly suggest upgrading to this room. You will not be disappointed. I cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an oceanview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of the hotel Manager, Mr. Stefano Baratelli, we would like to thank you for taking time to write some comments about your experience at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro and for choosing our premises for your holidays.
It is satisfying for the whole team to read that you have enjoyed “the most amazing vacation” of your lives, according to your review, due to the personalized service provided by our friendly staff, especially by your butler Mendy who was congratulated for making your holidays especial. Iberostar Grand Hotel Collection aims to provide the most exclusive personalized service so our valuable costumers can “enjoy being a Star” in an upscale level.
We are waiting for your next visit; please do not hesitate to contact us in advance so we can ensure you another memorable holiday.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a return visit for us to the Iberostar Grand Bavaro after only 18 months.

We are seasoned and experienced travelers, having visited luxury, all-inclusive, adults only resorts like Secrets, Excellence, Sandals, Palace, Iberostar, and others over the past 15 years. Many times, a return visit to a particular resort is not as rewarding as the first time. That is definitely not the case here -- this was one of our best vacations!

At the Iberostar Grand Bavaro the guest is king. The staff truly goes out of their way to please and grant your every wish, and not just because they have to – they WANT to. It is evident that they enjoy their work, as we witnessed staff providing service to some rude, demanding guests (you know the type), compounded by a language barrier, with a smile, patience, and politeness. And if they couldn’t help, they would find someone who could. Our treatment was always high level, no matter whom we dealt with.

I’m also happy to report that we saw some improvements since our last visit. For instance, the spa got a makeover, and is beautiful, clean and inviting. If you can, take advantage of it - my massage was amazing!

The food was also noticeably tastier, thanks to a new and talented Executive chef. When asked, the dining room staff will accommodate your food preferences, if at all possible. After just one such request, we never had to repeat ourselves – they got it right the first time! One of the restaurant chefs ran to his HOME to get us a particular ingredient that wasn’t on hand at the restaurant. We were surprised and touched; and he was happy to do it. I don’t think we’ve ever encountered that level of service anywhere!

The pool and beach areas have plenty of lounges, and we never saw guests wandering around trying to get a spot. They are now making guests account for their towel usage, and while annoying, is understandable (and you know why!). I also wish the pool was heated – maybe that’s a suggestion we can bring before our next visit.

There were a few minor room complaints that we encountered, but that could be because prior guests did not notice or report them. Any issue that we brought up was taken care of quickly and we were never inconvenienced when doing so. Kudos to the butlers for that, as they are the first line of defense for any problem.

I do, however, have a complaint that the resort probably has no control of, and that is the reservation requirements for the restaurants. You have to know in advance where you think you’d want to eat on any given night, and you need to know this at the beginning of your stay. If you decide at the last minute that you want to change a selection, it is practically impossible to get the restaurant you want.
We’ve also heard grumblings about Wi-Fi not being available throughout the resort - but to us, that’s a minor inconvenience.

We have occasionally left some resorts with sentimental feelings, and this was one of them. Over time, we have come to realize that the reason some resorts stand out while others do not is the relationships developed with the staff during the stay. This stems from the genuine warmth and helpfulness of staff in striving to make your stay as enjoyable, satisfying, and stress free as possible. The credit for the overall experience has to go to the management team for their support and commitment to superior guest services.

Room Tip: ALL the regular rooms are good becuase they're all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro and for your loyalty when choosing our hotel as your holiday’s destination.
In the name of Hotel Manager, Mr. Stefano Baratelli, we want to express how motivated we pleased we are when reading your positive valuation about the service provided by our staff at the different areas of our premises, the improvement in our gastronomy and the refurbishment of our spa. This certainly motivates our entire team to keep ensuring memorable holidays to our valuable costumers as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts.
We are waiting for your return; please do not forget to contact us before your arrival.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ona, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel has a wonderful location, good people, and great accomodations. Their one weakness is their poor room service. As a 5 Star Hotel there room service rated "no" star.
Unfortunately, it was so bad it was as if they did not want you to order it. A property is only as good as its weakest link. I rely on reviews and felt I needed to provide this one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, Hotel Manager, we thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at our hotel and for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your holidays.
We are very pleased to acknowledge that you enjoyed a pleasant holiday despite that our room service could not meet your expectation and for which we extend our apologies. We have shared your feedback with our Executive Chef so we can work on improving this aspect of our service so our valuable costumers can enjoy completely their stay at our hotel.
We will be honored to welcome you back and show you our improvements. Please feel free to contact us before your arrival so we can ensure you another especial moment.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We vacationed May 4- May 11, 2013. We previously vacationed at the Grand Bavaro in Mexico (2012) and in Jamaica (2010) so we were curious if the Punta Cana Grand Bavaro was equivalent. We found that this resort was as nice as the other two Grand Bavaro's. We were able to email reservations for the restaurants for the first four nights prior to our arrival and confirmed upon our arrival and booked the other three nights. We also booked two rounds of golf prior to arrival and confirmed upon arrival. We also purchased our $10 pass to enter the country that is required upon landing ahead of time on the internet and this was a time saver as we were able to skip one line at the airport and continue to immigration. The ride from the airport to the resort was 25 minutes we were fortunate to only have the party I was traveling with in the van so it was a direct ride to our resort. The van service (VIP) was part of our package. We were offered a cool towel and a drink upon arrival. The check in process was efficient, we had requested three rooms on the top floor facing the pool but only one was available the other two on the first floor but all three rooms faced the pool. This was not an issue. The rooms were clean, large enough for the time you are spending in the room, quiet and cool. One of the three rooms did have an air conditioning issue but the issue was resolved. We spent our days in the ocean and at one of the larger pools not containing the swim up bar. The pool and pool area are clean and well maintained. The towel building opens daily at 7am and also in this building they will inflate rafts if you bring your own as well as have some rafts to use that have been donated by previous guests. the cabanas did get taken quickly in the morning we got ours at 630am. The beach is clean, not rocky and very little seaweed. The beach is cleaned daily. The breakfast is a buffet offering a variety of items including omelet stations and fresh donuts. Lunch consists of two buffets one that is more open air that includes to order steaks and lobster tails and the other inside air conditioned buffet that had a pasta station and beef/chicken to order station. The dinner options are buffet (did not eat dinner at the buffet- did go for dessert), Japanese, Italien, Surf & Turf and Gourmet. We ate in the Japanese, Surf & Turf and Gourmet twice each and once at the Italien (all restaurants were well air conditioned). Our vacationing group enjoyed all four restaurants equally. We found the portions to be adequate. Nighly entertainment- as a group we attended the Beatles Show this was very good. Two from our party attended one other show and did not find it as entertaining. Three of us played twice at the golf course. Our package included everything but the rental clubs which is $40 (Nike or Taylor Made) or $60 (Titlelist). A van from the course will pick you up in front of the reservation area. We walked to and from both times it took about 15 minutes. We had 7am tee times both days and played in under 4 hours the first time and 3 hrs and 15 minutes the second time. The course is well maintained. There are many fairway sand bunkers. The beverage/snack cart came around frequently. Our package also included lunch in the club house but we did not take part. Three people in our party visited the spa and were very pleased with the treatments (massage and wraps) that they chose. We had a great time and would return in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the pool it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to post some comments about your experience at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro. In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Stefano Baratelli, we also thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Collection as your holiday’s destination.
We are very satisfied to read that our hotel premises and facilities, the friendliness and excellent service of our team, the wide variety of our gastronomy and our “Adult Only” policy has ensured you once again a memorable holiday as it was your previous visits to Iberostar Grand Rose Hall and Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso. As you well know, it is fundamental to us to ensure exclusivity and calmness, so our guests can enjoy a relaxing, romantic and pleasant stay. We are pleased to hear that we accomplished our goal whilst you stay.
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance so we can ensure you another memorable stay at any of our Iberostar hotels worldwide.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is my first time going to a Iberostar Hotel, I have say everything in the Hotel is positive for me, starting with cleanness, staff excellent anything you need they will gladdly please you. Food was excellent and not to forget the Drinks..24hr. Service..at your request they will do anything for you..Beaches are great...white sand and clear blue water. My husband and I went for his Birthday...we really enjoy..the only thing I did not like is if you take a tour to see other Cities, the traffic is very bad...there they don't respect the traffic laws...don't drive overthere..Entertaiment very nice...nighlife great. We had Oceanview room it was perfect spot...I will highly recommended, and I will go back again to this Hotel ...perfect for couples/adults life.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, hotel Manager, we thank you for posting a review about your experience at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro and for preferring our hotel to celebrate your husband’s birthday.
We are very pleased to read that your husband had enjoyed an unforgettable birthday celebration and both of you experienced a relaxing holidays at our hotel due to the excellent service provided by our friendly staff as well as our exquisite international gastronomy. In Iberostar we are committed to ensure a memorable holiday to our beloved guests.
We will be pleased to welcome you back again, and please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival to help you to enjoy your next visit.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had 22 people in our party and we had a great time at the resort. The staff are by far the best we have encountered in any retreat. They were amazing. The food is good; however, getting reservations is extremely complicated and very hard to acquire. We tried setting up reservations for every night we were there in advance and there was minimal opportunities. What was troubling was that all of the restaurants were only half full at best, but they had no reservations available. We were driven towards the buffet most nights, which is what we think they wanted us to do. It was a the only frustrating part of our experience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of the hotel Manager, Mr. Stefano Baratelli, we thank you for your review about your experience at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro on Tripadvisor and for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
On the one side, we appreciate your positive valuation about the beauty of our premises, the variety of our gastronomy and the excellent service provided by our friendly staff and we are satisfied to know that you and your friends enjoyed “a great time” as you stated in the review despite the issues related to our a la carte reservation system. In Iberostar we want our valuable costumers to “enjoy being a Star”.
Our booking system is based on restaurant sittings for our 4 specialty restaurants at 18:30, 19:00, 20:00 and 21:00. If we reserve all the tables in 4 turns, we would have to force our guests to have dinner too fast, therefore not being able to enjoy a nice dinner. Booking every table in the 4 sittings also leads guests to wait for completion of previous guests enjoy their evening, which eventually causes a whole delayed reservation system and affected many guests. It is important to specify that the most popular sitting time among our guests are 19 and 20 hours and it is impossible for everyone to dine at this time interval, as the quality service to be offered would be mitigated. An excellent alternative to the specialty restaurants is our theme night at the buffet, where you will find more flexible hours as it is not necessary to book and a wide variety of exquisite products diversifies every night depending on the specialty chosen by our chef (Oriental Night, Dominican, Mexican, and Tropical, among others). Some of our a la carte restaurants are regrettably not adapted to hold table for large groups e.g. our Japanese tepanyaki table for six.
We hope that this information helps our dear future guests to be comprehensible with our booking schedule and to understand that we strive to provide the best service. It is not our goal to keep our guests far from our specialty restaurants, or to disturb our guests’ holiday.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and remain at your entire disposition for any assistance prior your next visit.
With the best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro

Address: Carretera Arena Gorda | Playa Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#1 Business Hotel in Bavaro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, BookIt.com, VISIT US, INC. and Orbitz so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Punta Cana
Punta Cana Iberostar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.