We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Doesn't Get Any Better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro to your Saves list
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Arena Gorda | Playa Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Bavaro
Midlothian, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It Doesn't Get Any Better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 30th anniversary at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro March 29-April 4. Our experience there exceeded our expectations which were already very high.

The Arrival to Punta Cana:
We had already filled out our immigration forms on the airplane.
When we arrived, we cleared immigration within 10 minutes.Be aware that there are usually two lines, one is on the left and one is on the right. Most people were going in the line on the left-following the leader! We went to the right for a quick and smooth processing.
We found a cab immediately after we picked up our luggage. The cab ride was about a 20 minute trip to the hotel. It cost us $38 plus a tip. We booked the same cab company to come and pick us up at the time that we needed to leave to go to the airport for departure. They were there exactly at the time that we requested.

The Arrival to the Grand Hotel Bavaro:
When we arrived, we were greeted by cool towels, champagne, Pina Coladas, and Lolly. Lolly couldn't have been any nicer! She assigned us a room that she hoped would meet my request for the best ocean view room possible. We were not disappointed! We were in room 7357 on the 4th floor. We had a great view of the ocean even as we took our showers! Once we were in our room, our refrigerator was stocked with sodas, water, beer, liquor, and mixers that we enjoy.

The Food:
Much has been said about the food-good and bad. We ate breakfast at the buffet restaurant almost every morning and lunch at the pool side buffet restaurant every day. Both were good. We ate at the buffet restaurant the first night there. It was average. Our bulter, Victor, made reservations for us for at the Italian, Surf & Turf, and Japanese restaurants for 3 out of our 6 nights that we were there. We made reservations through the conceige for the other two nights for the French restaurant and the Italian restaurant a second time. The service was excellent in all of the restaurants. Overall, my husband and I had very good meals in the specialty restaurants.

The Staff:
Outstanding, attentive, caring, sincere, and hard-working! There are so many positive things that I could say about each and every one of the staff members that we came in contact with through out our stay. Just to mention a few of these wonderful people-Lolly, Happy Feet, Boom Boom, Maria, Ada, Lely, Tomas, Caroline, Ciara, and Rangui.

Golf:
My husband and I played two rounds of golf at the resort course. We found the fairways to be very fair and the greens somewhat challenging. The greens were some of the fastest that we have ever played. The course was well groomed with some very pretty holes. There is some construction around just a few holes. Overall, we were were very pleased with the resort course.
We also played Punta Espada at Cap Cana. What a beautiful course! 10 breath taking holes on the ocean made it hard to focus on my game:)

Facilities:
This resort is extremely clean and well maintained! You see people working all the time to keep it this way. One thing that impressed us was the amount of privacy that you had whether you were lounging around the pool or the beach. We never had a problem getting chairs on the beach. If you are a pool person, place towels on the chairs of your choice early to reserve a spot. We went to the see a show one night, the Rock show. It was entertaining and worth seeing. There are a few shops on the resort property. Keep in mind, that you have access to the other Iberostar restaurants, shops, casino, etc. on the three other properties if you are staying at the Grand. You can walk, but it would probably be best to be driven by golf cart to travel to the Bavaro, the Dominica, or the Punta Cana. We also took advantage of the water sports while we were there. We sailed for an hour one day, and we went kayaking for an hour another day. These are included in your stay at the Grand. There are also 2 very large pools and 2 large hot tubs. Security is evident. You will not have a problem feeling safe. I often left our belongings on the beach chairs while we went for walks. I never worried about anyone stealing anything even though there are a lot of people walking up and down the beach. We took advantage of room service for breakfast a couple of times while we were there. On the night of our anniversary, we had our butler pour a bubble bath complete with rose petals, tea lights, and champagne for us to enjoy! We did not take advantage of the spa, but it looked nice. You can also get a massage on the beach if you wish! The exercise room was small, but contained a reasonable amount of exercise equipment.

Dress:
Dress is casual during the day, but dressy in the evenings. Men wore long pants usually with sandals and a shirt with a collar. Women wore dresses, sundresses, skirts or pants with a dressy top.

To summarize, my husband and I have been fortunate to travel to many of the islands and stay at many wonderful places. The Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro so far has been the best! In our opinion, it has earned its ranking on Trip Advisor as the #8 all-inclusive in the world and the #2 hotel in Punta Cana!

Room Tip: There are four floors. Choose the highest floor for the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Guest chcock,
We would like to thank you for posting your experience at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro and for choosing our premises to celebrate your thirtieth anniversary.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Ricardo Dominguez, I would like to express our satisfaction to acknowledge that this especial occasion was memorable thanks to the effort that our staff in all areas put to ensure excellent memories to our beloved guests. In Iberostar Grand Collection we aim to ensure romantic moments to all the couples who visit our grounds. We are proud to read that you experienced being “a star” in your anniversary. Victor, Lolly, Happy Feet, Boom Boom, Maria, Ada, Lely, Tomas, Caroline, Ciara, and Rangui are happy to read your nice words.
We will be more than happy to welcome you back again. Please contact us before your next visit,
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,907
    696
    182
    64
    23
See reviews for
447
3,478
115
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,331)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We went to Punta Cana on our honeymoon, choosing the Grand Bavaro as our hotel. We couldn't be more lucky, as we got to stay at the best hotel available in Punta Cana. It has a huge pool, with a wet bar, hot Jacuzzis and of course the access to the very best seashore in the island. The bedroom is neat, nice, cosy, clean, but meake sure you get something at least on the 2nd floor. They serve breakfast at your room, but do not waste your time as the breakfast on the buffet restaurant is 1000 times better. Do not forget to visit the theater, as they have shows every night, with very good musical quality. Are you ready to put some pounds on? Mind the lobster: The best We've ever had! Special thanks to Anthony, the butler that took care of us. He is a great guy, always ready to help. Ah, DO NOT forget to make a reservation at "Le Tourbillón", the best gourmet restaurant they have there. Spectacular!

Room Tip: At least on the 2nd floor, with view to the inner part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear guests,
First at all congratulations again for your wedding! We wish you the best. In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Ricardo Dominguez, we want to thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro to enjoy your honeymoon and for posting your experience in Tripadvisor.
We are very satisfied to read that we could accomplish our goal during your stay. In Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro we aim to be the best hotel in Punta Cana for honeymooners. We are pleased to read that our premises, our staff members, and the quality of our products left you an excellent souvenir of this especial moment.
We kindly invite you to celebrate with us your first anniversary, please contact us before your visit.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Just recently returned from a one-week vacation with two other couples at the Grand. It was an excellent time. From the time we arrived, we were treated like royalty. By the end of day 1, everyone knew our names and acted like they had known us for a long time. The front desk staff (Laura) was great and did her best to accommodate our room requests. Our main butlers Henry and Jason were so prompt and courteous and always asking how everything was for us. They even had a birthday cake and champagne delivered for our 40th birthday celebrations.The rooms were great and they were serviced twice a day so you always had clean towels. The fridge was stocked with whatever you wanted, you just had to leave a note. Slippers were laid out for you at night and the bed turned down. The beach attendants were also great and we became quite fond of Rafael who ran tirelessly back and forth fetching drinks for us, all while smiling from ear to ear. He would seek us out each day so that he could be our server. We tipped him at the start of each shift and he kept coming back. He also made each of us a CD with Dominican music on it, which we were so excited about. No issues with palapas, there were more palapas than people! Boom Boom, Luis and Letitia did a great job of keeping us entertained with beach activities but also spent the time to come sit and chat with us during the day. Those guys spend over 12 hours a day smiling and entertaining and we really appreciated their enthusiasm. Even got some Spanish lessons from Boom Boom. The servers were also excellent, I honestly did not run into anyone who was not smiling and friendly. I have absolutely no complaints, this resort exceeded our expectations and would love to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are only 1 minute walk to beach but those that face into the middle, have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear guests,
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our Iberostar Grand Hotel Bávaro for your fortieth birthday and for the time you took to post a review about your experience.
In the name of Ricardo Dominguez, Hotel Manager, we would like to congratulate you again. We are very satisfied to hear that you and your friends had a especial birthday celebration because of the excellent service from our staff members. Our varied gastronomy, our beautiful premises; and the friendliness and care from our staff members are part of our commitments to offer to our beloved guests in Iberostar.
We will be happy to welcome you back, please contact us as soon as you have your reservation details, so we can assure you another relaxing stay.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Trip was awesome and exactly what the doctor ordered for a Rx of R & R. The butlers, especially my boy Mendy, we're great. Actually, the overall service was great. Servers in the restaurants and buffet were friendly and attentive. And the servers on the beach and at the pool were great. My boys Leonardo and Niccolas were great! Keep them policia de Miami (aka Miami Vice) coming my boys!! Rooms are very nice. We stayed in 7013 and loved it. This room did not require an upgrade. It was on the ground floor and convenient to the pool, beach, and restaurants. Also, the staff do a great job of keeping kids out of the adult side of the resort. Never saw1 kid except when I went to the family side. Know that the casino is located in the family side. The casino was very small and a little disappointing, but it quenched the thirst for what've were looking for. Big gamblers will be disappointed.

Golf was also nice. Nice course and definitely worth hauling the clubs. Spa was also very nice. Spent minimal time there but did enjoy the massage very much.

I've read some of the other reviews whereby the service was questioned and I couldn't disagree more. With regards to the butlers, they're just that... Butlers. Not personal servants. I think they delivered on everything that I would have expected from a butler service.

If there is one complaint, I would criticize the reservation process for the restaurants. Bottom line, make dinner reservations for your entire stay immediately upon arrival. Don't wait as they limit seating and reservations go quickly. Also, know the dress code. Specifically, all men NEED PANTS for all dinner reservations except the buffet. "Resort Wear" with nice shorts is not acceptable. I had to buy a pair of pants on the property just for dinner. A possible solution to ensuring you get reservations at your desired restaurants is to arrange a private transfer (we used VIP) from the airport. This will get you to the resort faster than the buses and avoid having to compete with an entire bus load of guests checking in at the same time.

In conclusion, it was a great time and I really want to stress just how impressed I was with the overall service. The service made the trip a truly relaxing one. I have no problem in recommending this place to anybody looking to escape and know that one day, I will definitely be a repeat guest.

Room Tip: As mentioned above, we stayed in 7013 from 3/29-4/3/12 and loved it. It's considered a garden vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Mr. Jeff,
We want to thank you for posting your comment in Tripadvisor about your experience at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro and for choosing our hotel for your relaxing holidays.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Ricardo Dominguez and his team, I would like to express you how satisfied we are to hear that our beautiful premises and facilities, our exquisite gastronomy, and the friendliness of our staff members ensured you a relaxing holidays, as you stated, just like doctor advised. Those aspects are part of our commitments in Iberostar. We are happy to acknowledge that Leonardo, Nicolas, Mendy, among others, did a remarkable work.
We are looking forward to welcome you back, please contact us before your arrival.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We would actually give this hotel 3 ½ stars.
We stayed 5 nights in February. Married, late 30s, no kids, have visited several places in the Caribbean but this was our first visit to DR.

Pros:
1. Great beach and ocean.
2. Beautiful pool grounds.
3. Friendly service in buffets, restaurants and bars, and you can always find something you like to eat in the buffets.
4. Being able to have lunch with a view of the ocean.
5. View of the ocean/beach from the Fitness Center (although more treadmills would be nice).

Cons:
1. Lack of energy at night: We are not partyers; we just like to have a drink, a nice dinner, and maybe listen to some music.

Due to previous negative reviews, we stayed away from all the restaurants except the Japanese, where the food was good and the chefs entertaining. (It was a bit of a hassle getting our two reservations there, despite emailing the hotel prior to our arrival. ) The other restaurants were half-empty; I’m assuming because of the negative reviews about the food. But I found the décor in the other restaurants to be unappealing as well. (I found the décor in many inside parts of the hotel to be unappealing, but the restrooms were all beautiful.) The grounds immediately outside the restaurants are nice with sofas and tables scattered about. There is potential there for an energetic atmosphere with people getting drinks, hanging out, etc. but with mediocre restaurants, and music not beginning until about 9pm on just 2 of the 5 nights we were there, this area was mostly wasted, and the hotel had a dead feel to it.

2. Wine/beer selection: The beers are all similar in type, and house wines left much to be desired. The bottled wine list for purchase did not offer descriptions of the wine.

3. Service within the room: Upon arrival, our room was not completely clean. The stall around the toilet was dirty, and the tub had not been cleaned well. There was lots of hair around the perimeter of the room. It took 3 phone calls over 2 days to have a simple minibar request filled. We were given a newspaper only on 2 of 5 mornings, and empty water bottles were not always removed. We only ordered room service on time – dessert – and it arrived promptly. (It consisted of a larger portion of the mini dessert cakes in the buffet.)

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this resort, but for the money we paid, we were also disappointed due to the cons listed above. Small issues such as not receiving our welcome drink upon arrival and washcloths like dish towels also prevent this hotel from being 5-star.

One last thing…this is not the fault of the hotel, but there were definitely some selfish guests. By 8:00am, almost all the beach chairs under the palapas were claimed with towels, but we witnessed several guests not coming out to their claimed chairs until 2 or 2 ½ hours later. Only half of the palapas had small tables, and we noticed one couple hoarding 2 tables. Pillows are even scarcer, and we saw one couple hoarding 4 of them. Just wished some guests were more considerate.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear guest kiki09,
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bávaro for your first visit to the Dominican Republic, and for taking time to post a review about your experience.
In the name of Ricardo Dominguez, Hotel Manager, I would like to express how satisfied we are to read that despite some details, you had a wonderful stay. The friendliness of our staff as well our outstanding cuisine and varied gastronomy are very important aspects for us and the key to the success of our services and facilities in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts.
The Iberostar Grand Collection aims to ensure an ambiance of exclusivity and calmness, so our guests can enjoy a relaxed and pleasant stay. I would like to clarify that in Iberostar Bavaro, Dominicana or Punta Cana the ambiance is more party time, as you might have looked for. Our bellboys are always willing to bring to any part of the complex where some action could be going on.
On the other hand, we apologize for the other inconveniences that you might have encountered during your visit; I have shared your concerns with our Departmental Managers. We are working in how to prevent this type of situations in the future.
We would feel honored welcoming you again in our establishment. Please, write us before your arrival
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

There is no doubt that the facilities/grounds at this hotel are excellent. We are very familiar with the higher quality all inclusives (Excellence, Zoetry, Secrets, Sandals resorts), but this was our first time to an Iberostar resort after reading the great reviews posted here. We thought the staff was very friendly and the entertainment team was also very good. The only part that was extremely dissapointing was the reservation system. I have read this in many reviews and just cant believe how bad this is for such a high quality hotel. During our 7 night stay, we were only able to secure one reservation at an a la cart restaurant. If I had wanted to pay a lot of money and eat buffet food, I would have gone to Vegas. I admit the buffets were very nice, but that is not what we expected. I have seen responses from management to these reviews, so I would like to ask them why they feel this system is necessary after seeing so many complaints and if there is a plan in place to fix this? This experience has turned us off from the Iberostar chain. It is unfortunate because we truly enjoyed everything else. If you are planning on going, plan on buffets and be pleasantly surprised if you get to visit the other restaurants. I hope management will address this issue.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear Mrs. Monica,
I would like to thank you for writing a review about your experience at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro and for choosing our hotel for your holidays. On the behalf of Mr. Ricardo Dominguez, Hotel Manager, we want to express our gratitude for your kind words about the cleanness and care of our hotel grounds and the friendliness and excellent service provided by our staff members.
On the other hand, we regret that our reservation system to enjoy our four specialty restaurants has ruined what could have been a memorable holiday in our hotel premises and facilities. I can assure you that it was conceived to ensure to all guests to have a seat and eat without any rush in all restaurants. We apologize if it might have given you an opposite experience or idea. Our Management team is working to improve the system so our customers can enjoy a wonderful dinner in all restaurants. We kindly thank you for your comprehension and at the same time we apologize for the inconveniences.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and show you our improvements, we stay at your entire disposition for any request you may have before your next visit,
With the best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogdensburg, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Looks can be decieving. The place looks nice but I have found that people expect very little when the drinks and food are plentiful, they have a tendency to overlook the small but important things. Check in is ok, the drinks are a nice touch, the rooms are the same at the place and the ones facing the back to the east are actually pretty private. The in room jaccuzzi is a nice touch if you like having fecal water your sitting in. The so called resturants were so so, the menu they give you is very limited, so hopefully your not picky. The pools are nothing special they are what you would find at any resort. I stayed from 3-24 to 3-31 minus the two days I spent in the hospital. Thanks to the food or some other thing from the resort because I was not the only one that ended up in the hospital sick from the resort. There were at least three of us at the hospital but try to find that out from the resort I have a feeling that is not something they share. My wife and I travel a lot so we know the rules, don't drink the water etc... I know I was thinking I was going to die just imagine if I was elderly or a young kid, saw both in the hospital, not something I would wish on anyone. Until I got sick I didn't look at things closely but after I have to believe that if that many people get sick, who do you think is making money off that, I can assure you the money is the first thing they want from you when you go to the Tourist Hospital. They expect a tip for everything. Even the ambulance that brought me to the hospital had a cigar box with tips on it. What a country. I saw the same fingerprints on the inside of the elevator all week long, they have a lot of people who are suppose to be cleaning but when you look close, there is a reason why so many people get sick. I did not see one employee wash their hands, not once. When we went over to the Sports bar or Casino we rode through the other resort and the smell of the septic system was sickening in itself. So my advice, bring your own antibiotics if you go, both viral and bacterial or else you could be staying at their hospital and paying an extra $3000 for your vacation stay. The resort manager did not talk with us after I came back from the hospital, they called the room one time and asked if I was doing ok, and had flowers in the room, oh boy. I have sent them an email as to what to expect from them for the two days that I was in the hospital but have not heard anything back and really don't expect to. How about refunding two days worth of fees to start, taking care of the massage my wife got after we got back to the resort, picking our bags up on the morning we were checking out, or making sure we had transportation to the airport. That is what a 5 star resort does, not hope that we left before we talked with other guests. The entertainment was pathetic, Get up to date on entertainment, it really isn't hard to please people on vacation, I do not expect Vegas caliber but at least try to upgrade, you are far from a 5 star resort. There was a side walk that had buckled and cones were placed in a couple places but for the whole week no one did any work on fixing it, not sure how long it was like this but really not something that a days work couldn't fix. This is my edited version because Trip Advisor had some issues with my first one, everything in here is true. Another recommendation is go to the State Department website or CDC website, look into how many get sick and what you should do before you go if you do.
Service - it was ok, not 5 star, this resort is like a 3 star in most places.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear guest NNewyorker,
I would like to thank you for writing a review about your experience at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Bávaro and for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
On the behalf of Mr. Ricardo Dominguez, Hotel Manager, we want to express how deeply sorry we are to acknowledge that your visit to our premises and facilities was not as pleasant and relaxing as you may have been expecting for which we apologize.
I would like to clarify that Hygiene is a serious matter for Iberostar Hotels and Resorts. Our high standards HACCP procedures are strictly implemented and followed more than 100 hotels around the world, including our 30 hotels and resorts in the Caribbean Area and South America. Our department of Hygiene and Quality as long as our external Sanitary Consulter (Saniconsult, from Spain) are always checking that all recommendations and regulations coming from our Consulter and the Dominican Republic Laws are followed and implemented in our hotel premises.
On the other hand, I would like to clarify our standard procedure in a case when a beloved guest feels bad and stays in her/his room. We give several courtesy calls in order to be aware about any special request or need: one daily call from your butler, two daily calls from our Public Relation Manager, and of course from our Management Team. Those calls are limited as we do not want to disturb or harass our beloved guests. In any case, our guests can call any time his/her personal Butler for any request or need. I apologize if this was not your case and you received only one call.
Once again, we truly regret this uncomfortable situation.
I assure you that our Management team is working to double our efforts to prevent this type of issues. We welcome your feedback; our Departmental Managers are informed about all your suggestions and concerns in order to improve our standards.
We are available for any further assistance that you may need, please feel free to contact us,
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro

Address: Carretera Arena Gorda | Playa Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#1 Business Hotel in Bavaro
#1 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com and VISIT US, INC. so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Punta Cana
Punta Cana Iberostar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.