We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for families and couples but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Turistico del Este Km.28 No.74, Bavaro, Punta Cana 74, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% OFF + $1,800 CREDIT
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Bavaro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sunrise, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place for families and couples but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Features I like the most: SPA, GYM and BEACH A++++. The beach is incredible beautiful though it was bit noisy on one part of the beach due to improvements. Also the customer service is really good, staff is very friendly and courteous. A lot of entertainment either for families or couples.

Things to improve: Food ,transportation to the room/around the hotel and WI-FI range.

The trip from the airport to the Hotel is 30 min. Check-in for members of the Hotel is in a different section but still busy. Once my husband and I checked in, they gave us a map to locate our room...really? We got lost, the property is huge , so we asked around to get to our room. Luggage takes a while to get to your room, we waited more than 30 min and we left. On day 1 we felt a horrible smell coming from the toilet, next day we coimplained and they suggested to change our room without hesitation.
The hotel is huge but very busy, pools were busy we rather stayed at the beach and order drinks there. Restaurants were also busy especially Los Gallos and Toro and depending on the time of the day you likely will have to wait. Now in regards to food, it is ok, some items were better than others, but they substituted items without communicating you. For example at Toro my husband ordered Pina Colada Mousse , it was a slice of canned pineapple with whipped cream on top and then mashed potato out of the box they told us later that they usually do that when they are out ..really? Also we went to Ciao since we wanted to try the Ossobuco, they were out , 2 times!...For the rest of restaurants, mostly buffets food is ok you get your steak/chicken /fish to your liking and a variaty of other choices. I mostly enjoyed fresh food and the ceviches and the seafood stews were good.
Entertainment is everywhere, a lot of activities and at night casino, disco and shows. No complaints there.
Credit resorts: I didn't use them all, mostly for the spa ,some gifts from the store and the horseback riding tour. You pay 16% of everything , you get 300 credits for spa if the massage is $300 then you pay $48 and this is fully explained when you arrived.
Cable and WI-FI is intermittent and very weak during peak hours especially afternoon. Didn't get signal in iphone, ipad, nor reader at times.
Now, and this is for members -especially Palace and comparing my experiences with other Palaces (Hard Rock Punta Cana used to be a Palace Hotel) so far this Hotel is really above other all inclusives I had been Hard Rock Cancun , Sun Palace, etc but still Moon Palace is a step above in regards to food quality and even customer service, but still Hard Rock Punta is really a nice Hotel to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hey there Rock Star, thanks for the review you’ve given us about your most recent stay with us! We’re so happy to learn that you enjoyed the Body Rock, got to splish splash in our amazing beach and still had time to indulge yourself in the Rock Spa!! Now that’s what we call Livin' the life! We’re glad that you enjoyed the fast pace and the bustle of our Rockin’ hotel since there’s always tons to do! We truly hope to have you back to our Sunny Punta Cana for another unforgettable stay! Peace, Love and Rock n’ Roll!!! ALL IS ONE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,522
    2,371
    1,104
    450
    311
See reviews for
3,632
3,657
82
576
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,748)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Hard Rock Punta Cana is the biggest hotel complex I have ever been too. The room was wonderful. We had a family room, which had a second bedroom . This room is perfect if you have kids. The only issue is those rooms are only in the.back of the property away from the ocean but very handy for the restaurants. We found that with the shuttles the beach was just a minute away and the shuttles were always running, so we really didn't mind being in the back so much.

The hotel is HUGE so if you are looking for a romantic place you may want to stay somewhere else. We were there for a wedding and with everything being all inclusive this hotel worked out just fine. All the pools were very clean as was the whole resort. The food was generally pretty good but nothing gourmet. The were good at giving you all the drinks you wanted and the in room mini bar was always full. Service was generally pretty good but again you don't tip at the resort so it is 4 star service not 5 star. That said it is a beautiful place that if you are looking for a party or wedding vacation . I think you would be happy with you choice.

Room Tip: Ver large resort so make sure you look at the resort layout before deciding on a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hiya OrlandoCDB, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your lovely family suite! While yes, our hotel is big, we do have a total of three tram routes to take you our Rock Star where you need to be so we’re glad that they came in handy :) we just love to read reviews about weddings!! Glad you enjoyed the pools and the food not to mention the complimentary mini bar!! We hope that you can come and stay with us soon! TAKE TIME TO BE KIND.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I could not help but read some of the reviews before I wrote my own! I'm shocked at how picky some people can be when it comes to expectations of a 5 Star ALL INCLUSIVE holiday!!
I returned yesterday from a week with my partner and another couple. ALL of us had an amazing time and found the whole experience nothing but enjoyable. The HRPC is huge in scale but caters to everyone with countless pools all set with a different aura depending on what your feeling for that day, some very busy with loud music and a party atmosphere where as a lot more quite and tranquil. The staff are very very pleasant and friendly and always more than willing to help. Entertainment was available daily if you wanted it, food was of a high standard and of a wide variety (even the buffet). Excursions where made very easy and where fairly priced. I would advise this resort for families and couples.

NO COMPLAINTS!!!!!

Room Tip: Even the basic rooms are of a high standard and very spacious (all come with wet room and jacuzzi in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi E C, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your week in our lovely Hard Rock Hotel! It’s great to know that you had an amazing time and an enjoyable stay. We would love to roll out the Red Carpet for your next visit soon!!! SAVE THE PLANET.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stay far, far away. Half the members of our 10-person party received one form of food poisoning or another -- one even had to overnight at the Punta Cana hospital, where only one person (not the doctor) spoke English and decrepit conditions that will not be described here.

A recent reviewer said this resort is wonderful at accommodating the dietary needs of guests....far, far from the truth. One member of our party has celiac disease and is also a vegetarian. We were told to bring a note describing dietary restrictions and provide at each meal. No one at Hard Rock that prepares food there understands celiac disease, gluten or anything related to dietary needs. If not for a iPhone translator app, we would have been completely lost. Zen restaurant, the Japanese hibachi, was the most accommodating, Ciao, the Italian restaurant, too, to a certain extent. Ciao provided a meal of cooked vegetables, as did Zen. However, Ciao advertised on its menu it had gluten-free pasta at request. When requested on two different occasions, it was not available. It's a nightmare trying to explain dietary restrictions to people preparing your food that display no comprehension of what you're saying.

Breakfast and Lunch is buffet-style, so there's ample opportunity for cross contamination, whether it's food poisoning or gluten for our celiac disease sufferer. During a previous stay at a Jamaican resort, this individual, who has celiac disease, was provided with individually prepared items by the chef for each meal, so long as they indicated at which of the resort's restaurants they planned to dine. At Hard Rock, upon multiple requests of similar service, we were told to just bring the note to dinner every night and it would be OK. Therefore, on every dining experience we had to explain to a new set of waiters and chefs what this disease was and what it entailed for dining options, then fear the chef actually understood.

We had "rock star level" status, which for our duration of stay afforded us $1,500 U.S. in resort "credit." The credit is a crock. You have to pay 16% in tax. We were aware of this in advance of our stay. Sure, not bad, but they jack up the prices so that you're still paying about normal price. A beach bag at the Resort Credit Shop listed for $100. After the "credit," it became $16. You can only use so much "credit" at the spa -- $300, I believe. At checkout, a pair of massages that should have been $48 were incorrectly billed for $98. There's Billabong, Pandora and other shops but you can't use your credit there, because they're independent shops, which to an extent, I understand, however, you can't even use your credit at the officially licensed Hard Rock Shop.

With rock star level, you're allowed an "exclusive" pool and beach area. The Rock Star pool was closed at least once all day for private functions. At least twice, the Eden pool, the lone adults only pool, was closed all day for private functions. The Rock Star area of the beach is flagged but there's no means to ensure only people who have paid for that extra service gain access to that area. The same goes for Legendary status, which I believe is above Rock Star. There was a Legendary "members only" pool and beach area. As it was smack in the middle of the resort, we routinely walked through the pool area to get from one side to the other. No one checks your wristbands.

Rock star status also afforded us butler service. I've had butler service at another resort. Our butler service at Hard Rock was a joke. Our butler had no respect for our concerns and routinely incorrectly provided the wrong items to different members of our party. He blamed it on miscommunication, not his lack of attention to detail. Instead of coming to correct the problem, he asked us to sort it out amongst ourselves to ensure proper items were delivered to the correct members of our party.

As for the room, the comforter and another bed piece smelled of mold, so much so we indicated to room service not to place on our bed. There were tiny ant-like looking bugs in the rooms, as well as mosquitos, and no we didn't open our doors to allow them in. We awoke each day to bites. Once a cock roach was spotted. If you can ignore that, it was otherwise a suitable room.

The lack of care for guest concerns runs rampant throughout the resort. There are some very hard-working and respectful workers. However, it seems most use the language barrier as an excuse to just ignore you, whether it's a request for individual attention for a meal to ensure dietary needs are met, a request for extra bottled water in the mini-bar (essential because you cannot drink the water there) or asking for a clean towel.

The trams, another joke. Many, many, many times, I walked from our building (the closest to the ocean and furthest from lobby) all the way to the lobby, along the same path the trams take mind you, and never saw a tram. It's an approximate 12 min. walk. We only waited for trams for the sake of our sick or not so able party members. If just me, I walked every time.

Drinks are really watered down. By the end of our trip, the healthy members still drinking were asking for double shots along with whatever ordered drink so they could be combined.

Positives
The beach/water is beautiful and long. Close to the rock barrier, the water is calmer. The sand there is rougher but still not a big deal. The waves further from the barrier can be kind of rough, but we honestly enjoyed them.

The casino was fun. Didn't spend a ton of time there, but the time there was enjoyable. Decent size, in my assessment, complete with a sports book. Drinks are free if you're playing but otherwise you must pay for and not covered by the all-inclusive resort. There's a club inside the casino, but we never visited so not fair to give a review. However, I do know it was $30 to enter, $15 if purchased in advance. I was told the cheapest drink was $16.

The spa is nice. They incorrectly charged us, but beyond that not much negative to report. Before your massage, there is a series or circuit of different hydrotherapy stations. It's nice if you're lucky enough to perform the circuit alone, but because it's such a large resort, they shuttle people constantly through them and you're bond to share a jacuzzi or other station with a stranger.

The bed was very nice, very soft, and one of the best I've ever slept on. There's also a pillow menu.

In conclusion, I would never advise anyone to visit this resort or any other Hard Rock establishment. I'm sorry I cheated on the Jamaican resort where I experienced so much great service and attention. I now have a greater appreciation for their services rendered and care provided.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear NeverAgainHardRock, thank you for taking the time to review us. Since opening our hotel, we have prided ourselves on our consistency in delivering top shelf level of service to our guests, which in turn has reflected in our satisfaction ratings. Your comments are being followed up directly with each of the departments’ respective managers. We were happy to see how you rated our service in the spa and the Casino, but we’re shocked to read your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room. It is our hope that you’ll be able to give us another opportunity to provide you with the true Rock Star experience, that so many of our loyal guests have come to know and love. SAVE THE PLANET.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We've just spent 2 weeks at the Hard Rock Punta Cana and we got back yesterday.Prior to our honeymoon my husband and i read trip adviser a lot,,so we basically had a good idea what the hotel was going to be like,and knew it was going to be huge,and also we both understood how the room credits would work ie you pay 16% tax on everything you used your credits on. I'm actually disappointed i'm not giving the HR 5 stars,because although we had two lovely weeks away,and enjoyed ourselves,we both feel disappointed that we spent a lot of money on the Hard Rock when we know and have experienced better hotels that offer better value for money.So here is my honest review.
.
We flew from the uk,and we we're only 2 out of the 23 uk guests,the hard rock is very Americanised,but we did not feel like a spare part,we met some lovely people and had some great laughs. Check in was easy and was upgraded to a huge room with balcony.We we're put in the children's section which i was surprised about that at first as we we're honeymooners,but it was a good move as it was quiet. A honeymoon cake was sent straight up with Happy anniversary written on lol. we did get a honeymoon package,and this included a romantic meal in the Mexican, and the hot jacuzzi bath with petals,champagne with a turn down service.We booked the jacuzzi bath twice and the maid didn't turn up,third time lucky and it was done for us,but we did not get the champagne like some people did..
our favourite restaurants we're Zen the quality of food is top notch,and good entertainment watching the chefs with they're cooking skills,i would rate this a 10/10
Toro was also good,they serve nice steak,and i found the service was excellent,nice staff!
The Market place was good for a quick meal,we'd often use this after watching a show when time was getting late
The pizza and the ice cream place we used a lot,and was very good.
Lots of other restaurants to mention but the food was so so,nothing special. I was surprised to see there is no dress code in any off the restaurants, i like to dress up for dinner,so to see people in day wear is a bit of a let down,but after the two weeks it didn't bother me.Also i felt there was no ambience in any of the restaurants except Zen, for example..when i'm eating in an Italian i like to feel i'm in an italian play some Italian music,or when i'm in a mexican play some mexican music,instead of hearing echo's of people talking/shouting and children crying,the size of the place doesn't help because the restaurants are that huge everything just echos,
Nightly entertainment was a let down,all shows are inside the theatre,we couldn't understand why everything seems to be going on inside when the nights are so warm and lovely. The Hard Rock has HUGE unused areas,so why not have the shows outside. Also we thought the sun terrace was a big disappointment,it has a huge potential to looks nice,it has nice seating but it's dark,why not include some nice lightening/candles and put a cocktail bar on the terrace. Our disappointment in the evening was the fact everything is inside and and not many areas where you can sit out and have a drink on a warm evening.

Pool's.. Our favourite pool's were the Eden pool,Adults only,but i have to say i was surprised to see children in there on a couple of occasions, they we're well behaved but still an adults pool should remain an adults pool. Food at Eden pool was delicious,service was good and the girls do a great job of keeping your drinks topped up. Eden does tend to get a bit loud in the afternoon with groups drinking in the pool,but hey they're on holiday your allowed to.. I was disappointed to see some pool's closing around 3pm including the Eden pool for Weddings,i love a wedding,but surely the Hard rock can provide nice areas with all that unwanted space just for weddings,i think it's wrong to close off pool areas when people are relaxing and sunbathing on their holiday..Other pool we used was the Bongo pool,nice and chilled also serve good food. Sax ia another nice pool,i will miss looking over the wall at the turtles.
All over pool's are right on the front,which were a bit noisy for us,and difficult to find a bed later on in the afternoon. Beach is one of the best we've been to,and there's three good beach bars to use and serve good cocktails.
Our rooms were cleaned daily,only problem we had that our mini bar wasn't stocked up or even looked at for 5 days,no water,or juices it took 2 phone calls to reception to sort this.
Whilst we we're there my husband hurt his back,we went to see the doctor and he sent us to the hospital,we spent nearly a whole day there and cost us $900 please make sure you travel with insurance you never know what could happen. The Doctor at the Hard rock is very nice and speaks good English,but it was an expensive visit.
Room credits: yes they we're a joke,we we're fully aware of the 16% tax,but it's what you spend them on is a joke and not worth it. except the Spa,you can spend 500 credits in the spa we had the 190 minutes couples massage and payed $75 plus 16% tax ourselves,it was worth every penny,and the best massage i've ever had. The romantic dinner was another one we spent our credits on,a lovely meal in a great outdoor setting,food was delicious and worth paying the tax on. we went to play a game of crazy golf one evening,and i couldn't believe this wasn't free for an all inclusive hotel,we refused to use our room credits for this,because in theory you are actually paying for it anyway by paying tax on it. Lot's of other activities in the hotel you can do,but once again you had to use your credits,hence the reason i think it's a joke.. My advise is to save your money and pay for your own excursions with the hotel,they use a company called blue and they are very good and look after you. Best excursion is by far the v.i.p trip to cap cana..
all in all we had a lovely holiday,but i wanted to high light our disappointment with the hotel,because i know the Hard Rock could be made to be perfect. The staff work extremely hard and where ever you look there is someone always working,either around the grounds,which are kept to a high standard,and the cleaning you will always see someone cleaning the toilets,the hotel is immaculate and anyone who says different that isn't true!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hey Lesley t, congratulations on your honeymoon, we’re amped to know that you spent two weeks with us!! We’re excited to know that you had a smooth check in and that you upgraded to one of our lovely and spacious suite!! We are appreciative of the feedback given by our Rock Stars and you can be sure that your remarks have been shared. We’re glad you enjoyed the food and of course the Rock Spa where you got to enjoy a very pampering couples’ massage!! We would love to welcome you both back to our lovely hotel soon!! Rock On! LOVE ALL, SERVE ALL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Let me start by saying my review is based on experiences at other all-inclusive resort experiences and that is why I gave it a 5 star rating. I think it only fair to compare it against others in its category. My husband and I spent 10 days at this resort and traveled with a large group of all ages. We unanimously agreed this was an excellent experience and would highly recommend this resort for those considering a trip to Punta Cana. We stayed at the Majestic a few years ago and now that I can compare the two, the Hard Rock is absolutely worth spending the extra money!

In summary: For me the differentiating factor at all-inclusive resorts is the food. The Hard Rock Punta Cana (HRPC) had an excellent selection and variety of food. They especially do a nice job of catering to guests with dietary restrictions (e.g. vegetarian, gluten-free, dairy-free, etc). The pools were absolutely beautiful and the property is very well maintained. Entertainment is excellent and the staff were among the most friendly I've encountered in my travels. I speak very little Spanish and had no problem getting around the resort- I found the majority of staff to understand and speak English very well. We loved our time at HRPC.

Now on to specifics...

Food: Toro was our favorite restaurant. They served excellent beef tenderloin and hot chicken wings. We are from the Buffalo, NY area and while we are chicken wing snobs, we found the taste of the sauce on the wings here to be very tasty. The wings were smaller and less meaty than we prefer but we were pleasantly surprised with them. I also thought Toro had the best breakfast served- generally the same items but were more fresh and had the best coffee on the resort. We also loved Zen (Japanese) and strongly recommend going there. We ate there twice and had consistently delicious and fresh meals. On our second visit to Zen they gave us lobster instead of shrimp and it was mouthwatering. Pizzetto had delicious pizza! Another shocker coming from a New Yorker, we were very surprised at how good the pizza was! One caveat, the "prosciutto" was nothing more than ham so I would warn you in advance so you aren't disappointed if you were expecting cured prosciutto. We also enjoyed the 'Ice Cone' shop- it was more similar to gelato than it is to ice cream but tasty nonetheless. For lunch we primarily ate at the Central Pool area- grilled chicken, nachos, hotdogs, hamburgers, french fries, etc. We did have the Market Buffet for lunch but never for dinner. We enjoyed the sit down meals so much that we didn't have a need to try the buffet for dinner (we heard from fellow guests it was good). The Brazilian place was okay but not my favorite and the same goes for Ciao the Italian restaurant. We ordered chicken fingers from room service late night after spending time at the bars and were pleased with them (let's assume anything would have tasted good at that point!). We ate at the Simon Mansion (not included in the 'all-inclusive') and had a delicious meal- I will review this separately since we had to pay cash for this.

Pools/Beach: Amazing. We never had a problem finding an open beach chair. I recommend "reserving" a chair by leaving your towel there before 10am if you would like to get several chairs together. There are pools for every mood- music and entertainment, relaxing/quiet, children, etc. It was nice pool hopping each day and getting a different vantage point. I was very impressed with all of the beautiful infinity pools. The beach is incredible. White sand, clear blue water and plenty of space! We felt safe at all times and were not harassed by soliciters.

Entertainment: LOTS TO DO! Nightly shows, entertainment crew, water polo, beach volleyball, snorkeling, karaoke, etc. We were there for 10 days and were not bored once.

Spa: Fantastic! I used the spa twice; facial and marine bath/salt scrub. The facilities are very nice and the services were wonderful. I used my resort credits for it and spent only a fraction of the cost these would have run me at any other all-inclusive resort. I had a pedicure that cost me $5! Take advantage of the spa if you are here...it was very relaxing and refreshing.

Staff: Great! We were greeted by anyone who passed us by (bell hop, grounds crew, waitress, etc). When we needed something, we simply asked and received it. Out of the large group we traveled with (11 other rooms in total), no one had a complaint about there room. No one had to change their rooms due to anything being broken/dirty as I read in some reviews. We had a wonderful experience while on the resort. Ramon at the towel station and Ramon at Pizzetto were especially helpful and kind.

Wedding: My sister was married at Isla Beach and it could not have turned out better! Iliana deserves an employee of the month award for her excellent service and guidance in the wedding office. She made sure everything was taken care of so my sister could be stress-free. The ceremony was gorgeous and the rehearsal dinner was perfect (at Toro)! We have nothing but great things to say about the wedding and loved every moment of it.

Resort Credits: I feel compelled to mention the resort credits on here after many negative reviews I read prior to my arrival at HRPC. The resort goes out of their way to explain how the resort credits work if you choose to use them. This happens immediately after check-in and there is no excuse for anyone stating they were not aware they had to pay the service fee (16%). As mentioned earlier, I was able to receive a 30 minute pedicure for $5 with my credits! Please tell me where you can have this service done in the states for this price? You can't. We also used our credits on nice bottles of wine (some of our favorite Napa Valley wine that I'd pay $65 here in the states were under $10 at the resort!). If you use the credits wisely and educate yourself with how they work, you'll be pleased. I was not impressed with the Resort Credit Store quality and selection- they can certainly improve there.

Liquor: On three separate occasions I watched the bartender open a brand new bottle of Grey Goose. My husband only drinks certain vodka brands and was very happy to have Belvedere, Kettle One and Grey Goose to choose from. Not every bar had these but we had no problem walking 20 feet over to the next bar to get it. Toro and Zen both had these brands. This was the first all-inclusive I've been to where premium liquor was easily accessible. If you want something, JUST ASK!

Property size: This is a very large resort. Shuttles run every 10-15 minutes so if you have trouble getting around, you can hop on. We are active people and elected to walk everywhere (even in heels!) with no problem. I enjoyed the 5 minute walk from my room to the main lobby and had no concerns with getting around the resort. If you're traveling with someone who has limitations on how far they can walk, plan to use the shuttle.

Overall experience: If you look at my other reviews on all-inclusives you can see what I used to compare this to. While I don't have a ton of all-inclusive experience since joining TripAdvisor in 2010, I can say in all of my experiences (including prior to anything before 2010), HRPC was much better than any I've encountered. I don't prefer all-inclusives but this one has changed my mind. I will consider going to other Hard Rock properties now that I know what to expect. The resort is couple-friendly, group-friendly and child-friendly. There is something for everyone. Several in our group also won money at the casino (ranging between $200-$600) while others lost- this is to be expected, right? I was never asked to purchase a timeshare so I cannot comment on that experience as some reviewers have. I would come to this resort again and would absolutely recommend it to anyone considering a place to stay in Punta Cana. If you have detailed questions, please feel free to message me.

Room Tip: We stayed in building 4A and liked the location. It was conveniently situated close to the beach and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi carlabella16, thanks so much for the detailed review!! We’re head over heels to know that you and your family had an amazing stay! We’re pleased to know that you liked the food, our lovely beach and our fabulous spa. Thanks for the shout out to our staff Ramon from the towel station, Ramon from our Pizzeto restaurant and of course our lovely Iliana who made sure that your sister’s wedding turned from being a dream into a lovely wedding!!! We’re glad that you took advantage of our Resort Credits and enjoyed top shelf liquor. We hope that you can come back soon to our lovely hotel! ALL IS ONE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just spend a weekend with the wife and had a great time!! customer service was excellent, they never say NO to anything and were always friendly!! Food was very good, I highly recommend the Zen (Japanese) and Los Gallos (Mexican) restaurants!! Rooms were very clean and spacious!! Definitely will go back my my entire family!! Can't Wait!!

Room Tip: Get a good map of the property because is huge!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
How nice to know that you and your wife spent a weekend with us Elmerj21. It makes us happy to know that the service given by our staff was top notch and that they were really friendly. We’re excited to know that you enjoyed some of our restaurants and your spacious and lovely rooms. Please do come back to Rock with your entire family soon! TAKE TIME TO BE KIND.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana

Address: Boulevard Turistico del Este Km.28 No.74, Bavaro, Punta Cana 74, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Bavaro
#4 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
#6 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1,787 room Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana is situated on pristine sugar white sands stretching 121-acres along Macao Beach in the Dominican Republic. Hard Rock's first all inclusive hotel and casino exudes lavish five-star amenities and personal service to create the ultimate rock star getaway. Among the resort's many offerings are luxe accommodations, the signature Rock Spa(R), 18-hole Nicklaus designed golf course, iconic music memorabilia and a larger-than-life Vegas-style casino - the largest in the Dominican Republic, featuring Oro nightclub. Guests also enjoy 15 expansive pools, four swim-up bars, a kids pool and lazy river. A variety of gourmet dining options are available through the resort's nine restaurants, with Simon Mansion & Supper Club by the famed Rock n Roll Chef Kerry Simon, which opened in 2013. The property also features more than 65,000 square-feet of flexible event and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel And Casino Punta Cana
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Resort All Inclusive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.