We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday at Sofitel Krabi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Khlong Muang Beach | Nong Thalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special code 25-35% Off
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A TripAdvisor Member
“Holiday at Sofitel Krabi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

everything fine and the service is vary good,The room is very good also and very clean.
No Negative.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.
We were delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us.
It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    405
    162
    51
    22
See reviews for
429
641
52
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

I will start off by saying, yes this hotel is beautiful, yes the pool is amazing. We cannot fault the hotel in this regard. Our room was OK, from the pictures on the website we expected something a little nicer. It was quite small and the bathroom seemed a little tired.

We found the staff good, however checking out proved difficult and the girl assisting us had little to no understanding of what we were asking her to do. A gentleman behind the reception was very helpful and assisted her through it (perhaps she was in training). It is hard because obviously there english is much better than our Thai however we found compared with other 5 star hotels we had stayed in within Thailand it was much harder to communicate.

The reason I say this hotel was not for us, was simply the location. We knew that it was not in the middle of town (which we usually prefer) however people have written similar reviews regarding Karon in Phuket, so we expected something similar. We felt quite iscolated, there is a nice selection of small local restaurants and the prices/food are great. However we found ourselves at a loose end by about 9:30pm every night.

The shuttle to Ao Nang was good, but it was difficult as you have to nominate a time you wish to return, we found this a bit restricting as we generally just see where the night takes us and do not like being time restricted. Never being to Krabi before if we were to return we would definately stay close to Ao Nang.

We loved the trip to Hong Island and would reccommend this to anyone staying at the hotel, the island does get very busy during the day, so I would reccommend snorkling early. We hired a canoe in the afternoon and made our way around the whole island which was fantastic. The hotel does offer lunch to be provided however, there is a little restaurant on the island and a kiosk which sells drinks/snacks etc. We had a huge breakfast before we went and found we didn't really need a big lunch anyway.

Also, I have noticed many people complain regarding the expensive internet service in the room. There is a business centre in the hotel lobby with 3 computers offering free internet and printing. This suited our needs while on holidays perfectly.

All in all, the hotel was nice, but as I said not for us. If you enjoy staying mainly at the hotel and not venturing far during the day. Enjoy hotel restaurants and early nights then this hotel would suit you perfectly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay as it is our clear goal to welcome our guests with the high level of standards and facilities for which Sofitel Luxury Hotels is better know for.
We would also like to thank you and assure you that we have taken good note of your comments.
We shall be looking into appropriate measures in the future to ensure our guests' entire satisfaction.
We appreciate your time in sharing your concerns, and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

This is a really well run hotel, great staff, organised activities and very well maintained. The pool is fabulous, there's a par 3 nine hole course in the grounds, a beach across the road and the trip they run to Hong island is a nice touch. They also run a daily list of activities you can take part in such as Thai cookery school, Thai language lessons, Fitball, Windsurfing lessons etc. if your looking for something to break up the day relaxing by the pool. There's free internet access in the Business Center which has 3 computers which is nice when most hotels seem to charge for it.

My only two faults with the hotel would be it's slightly isolated location next to a beach that isn't great and there's no restaurants etc. right outside the front gate so you need to organise your own transport to nearby areas or get the hotel shuttle to Ao Nang at night. Also in a Las Vegas casino style way you'll find you'll be easily parted from your money, the breakfast is extremely expensive in Thai terms, I couldn't justify it so only had it once. The onsite restaurants are also quite expensive but if you want to escape to Ao Nang instead for your evening meal you have to pay the shuttle "tax" of 200 Baht per person return which would get you a meal in most Thai restaurants. I know it's quite a trek to Ao Nang but maybe the hotel could subsidise it due to it's location and lack of other options or offer a free shuttle to the area outside the Sheraton which has some restaurants. The Mangosteen in Phuket for example done a free shuttle to Nai Harn beach during the day and Rawai for night time dinner due to it's isolated location.

Overal though, I couldn't see how anyone could be disappointed with the hotel itself and it's nightly room rates are great value for money especially if you can get a breakfast included rate.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.
We are pleased to learn you had a great time with us.
We all look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

During a month of work in Bangkok, I took a few days to enjoy the beautifull beaches in Krabi. Booked at Sofitel not knowing what to expect. What I found was a beautiful hotel-excellent service, outstanding rooms and awsome food. The spa was fantstic.The boat trip offered by the hotel to nearby island is a lifetime experience. I have stayed in thousands of hotels, this is one of the best! Why because of the friendliness and kindness shown y the general manager of the hotel. The GM and staff insured that everything was perfect and made one feel at home in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2011
I would like to thank you for choosing Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Krabi and for taking the time to share your feedback.
We are pleased to read that you had a wonderful time with us.
We all look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Khlong Muang Beach | Nong Thalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nong Thale
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning resort providing traditional Thai hospitality. Close to AoNang, Koh Phi Phi, James Bond islands. 276 Victorian-style rooms & suites with spectacular views. Includes Thailand's largest pool (75,347 sq. ft/7000 m²), private yachts, golf course, tenniscourts, Kids club, Spa and a line-up of restaurants: Pizzeria, White Lotus with Thai & Indian recipes and Poda with pool-side BBQ's rounding off your culinary experience. The indoor and outdoor spaces are ideal for weddings & events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf And Spa Resort
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf Hotel Nong Thale
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort Thailand
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Hotel
Krabi Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.