We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“such nice staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Khlong Muang Beach | Nong Thalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,279 Reviews
tlv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“such nice staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

the hotel is very big and luxurious, the staff is so nice sometimes over nice! they were helpful in every way they could and always with a smile.
the pool is beautiful and the view also.

the only small problem that its far away from the center (45 min) so we rented a bike but still not a short drive...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment on the location of the resort. We are approximately 15 minutes from Ao Nang which is the popular place for tourists. In order to reach the place, note that we run shuttles to Ao Nang. We would like to assure you that most of our guest enjoys the tranquility of the resort, though it all depends on the purpose of the trip and holiday.

We appreciate your time in sharing your feedback, and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.


Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    353
    145
    48
    16
See reviews for
374
581
51
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at the last leg of our honeymoon at Sofitel Krabi for four nights and five days. I was immediately impressed by the look and feel of the Sofitel Krabi lobby and of our hotel room because of its elegance and its combination of Thai and French design. Once again we got a very yummy honeymoon cake, complimentary logan fruits and our bath tub was filled with beautiful flowers upon arrival. Our room was poolside which meant we have a quick and private access to the pool, which is a massive pool (the largest pool in Thailand). Unfortunately it rained a few days of our stay and it would have been convenient to have access to a DVD player which we weren't aware we could have rented. However, we made most of our stay by doing some of the resort activities. My husband did a Muay Thai lesson which he enjoyed thoroughly, and I also did a spa treatment of wrap and body massage for 2hrs in the Spa center which was very relaxing. There was also happy hour cocktail where I tasted a Tom Yum cocktail drink which tasted so much like the Thai dish! We had loads of fun in the pool however, the private part of the pool probably needs more frequent filtering. On the good weather days, I highly recommend the Hong Island day tour which Sofitel provides via a 10min ride by speed boat and it was such great value for money. The hotel provided a beach pack which contained two pairs of snorkels and fins, beach towels, beach mats, backpacks in addition the hotel also provided us with very delicious lunch packs. On the Island we were accompanied with a very experienced tour guide, where the group took our time and spent 4.5 hours of snorkelling, swimming and kayaking along the majestic coast. This is highly recommended. Althought we weren't close to some shops for some services, the remote location of the resort meant a more intimate stay together and its good to be away from the hustle and bustle especially for families and couples. We had several dinners at the hotel restaurant and the food was delicious. Also recommend the beach bar for an awesome Pad Thai! The staff were very polite, helpful and attentive which was evident when we asked if it would be possible to extend our checkout time to approx 4hrs which gave us ample time to pack properly. The breakfast buffet is very worthwhile and scrumptious which we had every morning, there were lots of variety ie Asian breakfast, western breakfast, pastries, fresh fruits etc....Overall we had a great stay at very elegant surroundings where service was excellent!

Room Tip: In case it rains, ask for a DVD player.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us as it is our clear goal to welcome our guests with the high level of standards and facilities for which Sofitel Luxury Hotels is better know for.

We would also like to thank you and assure you that we have taken good note of your comments.
We shall be looking into appropriate measures in the future to ensure our guests' entire satisfaction.

We appreciate your time in sharing your feedback, and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I love the style of this hotel. The lobby has a big high ceiling and all the rooftops have the traditional Thai sala style even though it is a new construction. When we arrived (which was quite early) we were not expecting to be checked in but after giving us some lovely tea to relax with in the reception area, they made a room ready for us. The buffet breakfast was fantastic. The pool is very big and nice too. The beach is just across the road (not busy road) and is nice too. This hotel is good for families or for couples who want to relax and peaceful surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Krabi in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

All the staff we have met are so friendly and gracious. They would try to help you whatever you ask for.

The Hong island trip provided by the hotel is highly recommended. Nice speed boat and service. The guide was being helpful and took care of me and my partner's needs. They also provide us the bread for fish feeding which was not expected. The food was decently packed. I enjoyed the trip so much ! The price is reasonable, I have compared the price to other local travel agent in Ao Nang. I would say what i paid to the hotel trip is so worth.

The room maid came to tidy up twice a day,keeping the room clean and cozy.

The lobby is a good place to relax and enjoy the sunset.

The Swimming pool is really huge and clean , we could swim there freely.

The beach near the hotel is not bad, even though someone said it is not directly next to the beach since there is a road between the hotel and the beach. But partner and I did not think it is a big problem , the distance is very very short, just few steps only.

The breakfast is not so outstanding in terms of variety of choices and taste, however it is acceptable, 7.5 out of 10. The environment of the restuarant is also good, we could sit outside looking at the nice pool while we had our breakfast.

It is only 15-20 mins to An Nang by car and around 35 mins to Krabi town. Sofitel hotel is definitely a good place to let you stay away from the busy world and give a real relaxing zone.

Renting a car to travel around Krabi is a good idea, the road condition is easy to drive.

Finally, this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Krabi in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Telling the truth my first impression about this hotel is not quite good.
We just left another nice beach hotel (Centara Grand Krabi Resort and Villas) to stay the last night of our Krabi trip at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra due to my Accor Advantage Plus free night. We had to take a long drive from Ao Nang to get into a small village. I didn't see any good restaurants nearby. The Klong Prao beach where the resort located was quite dirty (at that time) and narrow. The waves were too strong for swimming.
The hotel is so big and elegant, but the lobby and guest rooms are far from the beach. At first I thought this hotel might suitable for a big group seminar rather than a family holiday.
Check in took time a bit longer than usual, probably due to the free night process. However, reception and lobby staff are nice and very friendly. Our room is luxury, especially the bathroom is really nice. The swimming pool is very big. They claim that it is the biggest swimming pools in the southern region. So, we had a really great time at the pool.
I also found out that the hotel offer a luxury speed boat tour to Hong Island (in a very reasonalble price). From the pictures I saw, Hong Island has a really nice beach. Unfortunately, at the time we came it might not be a good time to go out to the sea.
On the next day, we planned to leave the hotel at 10 A.M. because I wanted to visit downtown Krabi then take a drive back to Phuket. However, my children just didn't wanna leave the kid club. There were so many activities for children, and two lady staff at the kid club were really nice and friendly. I could see that they had great service mind. So, finally we left the resort about a half past one.
I had a problem when I checked out because my free night were used by somebody else at an accor hotel in Singapore without my consent. However, staff at the reception are really good. They understood and tried to contact the Advantage Plus's guest services and the hotel in Singapore to return a free night to me. This was a result of "a member for a day coupon" that I gave to someone else contained my member number. Just your surname and member number, your free night could be taken whild you didn't know it.

So, this is my lesson about a "member for a day certificate." If you are also a member of Accor Advantage Plus" like me, tear it and throw away - don't give it to anybody!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was very pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our staff and enjoyed your visit in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

Your kind words have been passed on to our teams. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Krabi in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We highly recommend this wonderful hotel, where we stayed five days. The property and hotel are really beautiful, the restaurants excellent, but what really stood out was the amazing staff - easily the best of any we have encountered in any of the hotels we have visited in the world. They were remarkably friendly and attentive. Many excursions, for example to ride elephants or visit the nearby islands - can be arranged from the hotel at reasonable rates. We especially enjoyed the Thai cooking course with Yaya. The huge, beautiful pool is also quite an asset at this hotel, as is the excellent spa, but again, what really won us over was the kindness of the staff, making this beautiful hotel an especially pleasant and relaxing place to be.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was very pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our staff and enjoyed your visit in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

Your kind words have been passed on to our teams and particularly to Yaya who made your stay a pleasant one. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Krabi in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Khlong Muang Beach | Nong Thalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning resort providing traditional Thai hospitality. Close to AoNang, Koh Phi Phi, James Bond islands. 276 Victorian-style rooms & suites with spectacular views. Includes Thailand's largest pool (75,347 sq. ft/7000 m²), private yachts, golf course, tenniscourts, Kids club, Spa and a line-up of restaurants: Pizzeria, White Lotus with Thai & Indian recipes and Poda with pool-side BBQ's rounding off your culinary experience. The indoor and outdoor spaces are ideal for weddings & events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, ACCOR, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf And Spa Resort
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf Hotel Nong Thale
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort Thailand
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Hotel
Krabi Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.