We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There Are Sunsets, And Then, There Are Sunsets...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 Moo 3, Tup Kaek Beach | Nong Thale, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Nong Thale
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“There Are Sunsets, And Then, There Are Sunsets...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I am not an authority sunsets, but the ones I witnessed at the Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort & Spa truly blew my mind. Stayed here 3 nights and every evening was a different spectacle!

The resort is fairly small but tucked away from the sleepy Nong Thale town - it's almost like having a private villa on the beach. The check-in was brisk and we were offered a villa that was assured - facing the ocean. There was some expansion work going on, but didn't affect us much since we were toward the far end of the resort. The villa wasn't spacious, but was cozy enough for a couple. The restaurant and service wasn't a standout experience. But the big disappointment was the spa - the massages we had was very average and we made our point heard to the management.

In all, it was a very quiet, rejuvenating sunset holiday that we had hoped for.

Room Tip: The villas closer to the ocean are more expensive but offer unobstructed views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    77
    27
    7
    8
See reviews for
24
96
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

You really have to see the views for yourself to really believe they exist. The best view in Thailand (maybe the world!?) by a mile.

All positive and only minor niggles:

Cleaners sweeping/making noise outside a little too early for our liking (8.45am).

Most Sunbeds put away for low season (they got them out for us when we asked in fairness).

If you don't have transport (car/bike) you may feel a bit isolated. We had a car and drove to the 7/11 to buy food/drink more cheaply than they sell at the hotel. A lot more cheaply! May be worth getting a taxi at the beginning of the stay or bring supplies. I'd never recommend renting a bike in Thailand. Ever!

Apart from that all perfect. They even gave me a free plate of fruit and a card when they found out it was my birthday. All in all highly recommended and A LOT cheaper than all other hotels on the same beach. They even gave us a free room upgrade.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Having hopped off a long flight with little sleep this resort was like heaven!

We stayed in a beach side villa with a spa! The rooms were amazing and clean, spacious and the showers were amazing!

The cocktails and beers were amazing, cheaper then normal
Prices but expensive for Thailand but what can you expect when staying in paradise. The food was also well priced, buffet breakfast was plentiful and staff wonderful!!

Left feeling so relaxed and calm! Fantastic break from the hustle and bustle of normal life with breathtakingly amazing scenery on the beach!!

Highly recommended and worth a few nights stay!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Firstly let me start off by saying that I am someone who obsessively searches for the perfect holiday! I look at the reviews on trip adviser both negative and positive, as well as look at websites and you tube vids.

Every person/family has different requirements, and for me in this instance it was to find a beautiful beach, a room that had a beach view, and with the amenities that would satisfy our family. We were not looking for shopping or restaurants or hustle and bustle, but just a few days of family time in a gorgeous location before heading to the more populous phuket where all of those items would be available to us.

So looking at this site and others, there were definitely some other resorts I initially leaned towards, centara grand, railay beach, sheraton etc but I have to say that I am so happy I chose this resort. So let me break it all down for you, and explain why this was my number 1..

Pros
1. The location. Wow what a lovely beach. Situated next to the more expensive Amari and Tupkaek resorts, the tup kaek sunset beach resort has a lovely quiet position, with beautiful shade on the beach to shade the kiddies from the sun and enjoy the harsh sun without burning. The water is crystal clear when the tide is in, and interesting when not (crabs on beach). I spent much of the 4 days taking photos and videos of the same view. It was lovely.
2. The remoteness. As many other people have specified, this resort is not really near anything, but that suited us perfectly. Everything we needed was on that resort, but if you require anything else it is only a small taxi ride to ao nong. This is a great resort to spend a a few days. There are no kids clubs, gyms or activities, but there is plenty of wildlife, amazing views, lovely pool, and quiet and solitude. There are hardly any people and definitely limited kids, but don't let that stop you as we had a 3 year old and 5 year old and they loved it!
3. The beachfront rooms. This resort says it is a 3* resort! but I have to say it is underselling itself. It may have been before the renovations, but now it could easily be 4. With some additions and further renovations it could even be a 5! The main lure of this hotel was these rooms which were right on the beach. Our deck was 5 metres to the sand and our kids played with bucket and shovel while we sat on the deck having a beer reading a book. We also ate on the deck at night watching the sunset.

The cons
1. I definitely think the resort has got the grand deluxe rooms wrong and would not recommend booking. The beachfront rooms are so much better! The grand deluxe rooms have crap vies and water around them that smelt like sewerage. My recommendation to them would be to take out water and replace with a garden.
2. The massage on beach was under-utilised. At double the price anywhere else I think either lower your prices or offer a more luxurious service.
3. The water pits in beach front rooms on beachfront? These are dirty and smelly and a hazard for kids. Get rid of them and add an outdoor shower I wash off sand from beach!

Additional thoughts for future enhancements to bring up star rating
1. Add beach bags in the rooms with the towels.
2. Add an oil burner in each room with various oils and ask which guests prefer. Light when the room is made over
3. Up your rates for the beachfront rooms and add in a health spa where the old restaurant was near the pool. Create a new health spa facility. Very rustic, earthy and retreat like.
Renovate the beachfront bar. It looks ok at present but with very little effort could be lovely.
4. Breakfast choices could be more extensive. Very basic but definitely adequate.

In summary, you will be very happy with this resort if it fulfils your criteria for your holiday. If you want a relaxing start or end to a greater family trip, if you are getting married and want an idyllic location or if you are a honeymooner and want time to yourself, then this is for you.

If you are a family that is looking for thrills, with older kids, if you want to party or be sociable, or need a resort with lots of facilities then this is not for you!

Thank you tup kaek I was impressed and will take away beautiful memories and given I am such a fussy and obsessive traveller, then this is high praise indeed!

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort is located on a clean and quiet beach with sun chairs underneath big shady trees. On arrival, we received a welcome drink from the friendly and professional staff, who apologised for our driver not being at the airport and promised to reimburse us for the 800TBH taxi fare (which they did at checkout). The accommodation has been recently refurbished and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the rooms for a 3-star resort; our deluxe garden view room also had partial views of the ocean. The food and beverages were good with a wide variety of choices on the menu - the included buffet breakfast was extensive. We enjoyed the beach and stunning view of the islands, kayaking (free), watching the sunset, relaxing in our room, a trip to Hong Island on a longtail boat (1700TBH + 200THBpp for national park fee) and a visit to the Krabi night markets (1400THB return in taxi). The location is a bit remote, but we didn't mind. We would certainly return to this resort and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others wanting a quiet, relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: Try for a deluxe beach front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is a destination if you only want to relax. Along way from town (Ao Nang about 15 minutes/Krabi town 20 minutes away by taxi). This region is more rural than Phuket but local area is developing. Taxis just outside gate can take you to sites, town & activities at a reasonable rate. Great place to just relax and take in the amazing breathtaking view or go for a swim at beach or pool. Went for great day out with a Longtail boat from beach. I just enjoyed sitting on deck watching the view. Nice to walk along beach at low tide. View from restaurant lovely, with big breakfasts of choice and other meals were good value - able to watch the locals, longtail boats and sunsets from our table. Stayed in a beachfront unit & the room was perfect for us and had everything that you need - room service available. The open shower was a great novelty (no one can look in & only a head gap). We really enjoyed what this resort had to offer us.

Room Tip: Beachfront deluxe room a must for views & good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The resort is located at the very best spot of the beautiful Tubkaek beach. We stayed in a garden view room which was very nice and near the beach. The room seems to be newly renovated. The space was enough for 2 adults and 1 little kid. We enjoyed the spacious bathtub even though the shower room could not be closed properly so the bathroom floor got wet when we had a shower.

The wifi was free of charge but did not reach our room which might be too far from the lobby, so we did not use it at all.

We had dinner at the main restaurant of the resort. Most of the staff did not speak Thai and this was strange. The price list was high but the food quality was good.

Breakfast was very nice. We loved it.

I accidentally left my son's favorite toy on the bed so we called the front office if it was possible to send it back to us by post, as we were far away from the resort already and had to catch the flight. The front office was very helpful and asked me to send my address to the resort email. We were very impressed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort

Address: 109 Moo 3, Tup Kaek Beach | Nong Thale, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refresh your body - Relax your Mind The 80 unit tropical style which fully facilities in stand alone bungalows and building with natural beautiful landscape look out over the pristine beach, crystal clear sea and against the backdrop of the mountains which shelters the resort and provides its unique privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Hotel Nong Thale
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort Krabi, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.