We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not come back , under expectation for overall ,pls don't lie me it's standardization of Ritz Carlton ? Very small breakfast” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Phulay Bay, A Ritz Carlton Reserve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Phulay Bay, A Ritz Carlton Reserve to your Saves list
Phulay Bay, A Ritz Carlton Reserve
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   111 Moo 3 Nongthalay, Muang, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Nong Thale
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Will not come back , under expectation for overall ,pls don't lie me it's standardization of Ritz Carlton ? Very small breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011 via mobile

I m alwalys trusted the Ritz Cralton brands until today it's not like that , overall standards are poor ( I travel so many 5 stars hotel so I can compared ) should improve and benchmarking according to good 5 stars hotel immediately, wanna say it again " I will not come back here and tell my friends and family to do like that "

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    54
    22
    17
    8
See reviews for
68
233
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
SF
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011 via mobile

The Ritz Carlton reserve is the Aman of the Marriott. While it impresses on many levels, there are many misses that takes the wow away. To begin with the property is beautiful. Beautiful rooms amidst lush gardens. The main overlooks the beach and is very nice. The spa facility is impressive. But the main wow factor is the main entrance with it's 3000 lit candles at night which you will not see for your whole stay unless you make the track up to the reception.
Now you know where the money went. I am guessing none of it went to train the spa staff because we had a terrible experience there so much so I stop my massage after 10 mins and did not partake in any more treatments for the rest of my stay.
This place is pricey and you realize how ridiculous it is when you pay usd 50 for a plate of pad Thai. But you are captive since there are no restaurants within walking distance.
There isn't much of a beach at the resort but the boat ridebto the beach reserve is worth it since the beach is much nicer than phi phi island.
Overall, this is a great resort but be willing to put up with so of the unexpected quirks.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJ
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I booked for 5 nights at the hotel somewhere in April and I did so after much deliberation because it is not cheap. But there was a special offer and it was too good to resist.

Pick up service was impecable with staff who spoke fairly good English and helped us all the way when we checked in and when we checked out - and the small chatter as we drove to the resort was helpful in giving us an idea of the place.

BUT it was incredibly hot and we could have taken that if somehow the cooling facilities both in the rooms and the public places were efficient. Sadly the electric fans weemed to have a losing battle getting a nice breeze to us and this could have been because of the very high ceilings of most of the rooms which meant the fans were too far up to cool anything efficiently. Air conditioning was also inefficient. So what happened was that we chose to stay indoors most of the time waiting for the rooms to cool down. One might say we are supposed to be outoors enjoying the sun etc, but frankly, it is very hard to do that when you know that should you want to come in from the heat, the rooms are not much help in providing some relief from the heat!

In fact, one night at the restaurant, an Indian family with a very young child kept changing their tables in search for a spot that was cooler or where the fan or airconditioning could be felt. The fact that it was an
Indian family that would be accustomed to the heat is significant in that it demonstrates how the inside was just not comfortable enough for them.

The chalet we were in was beautiful, but maintenance was a bit questionable in that leaves were in our plunge pool and we were conscious of the fact that the pool was not cleaned on a daily basis! so we hardly used the plunge pool.

Service was brilliant and responses were so nice to whatever we wanted - to the point that we just did not feel like complaining. Buggy rides were efficiently managed, room service was good, service at the restaurants was
also good and our butler was a sweet girl ever willing to please. And the spa was heavenly!! You get garments for some of the treatment, you also have individually packed combs and hair brushes which you are welcome to
take because they would thrash it anyway.

Gardens and landscaping were also beautiful and pleasing to the eye - it was as one might say - a sight for sore eyes.

BUT one main point I would like to make and which I complained about in my feedback to the management. The cost of eating in their restaurants is unbelievable - unbelievably high. The thing is we selected only local dishes for our meals and it was on a sharing basis in the way that Asian meals are taken. But any main meal, without wine etc., set us back at least USD180. I could not understand such exorbitant pricing considering that ingredients were easily sourced locally. The problem compounding the situation is the fact that the Resort is so far away from the town. We could not consider eating outside. As I said in my feedback, the Resort has a captive market. Wouldn't it be better and nicer to consider pricing of meal items especially for local dishes? In fact one of the staff privately told me that a number of guests had complained about this and that it had put them off the resort as a whole.

We were also taken for a ride to a lovely place somewhere out about 20 minutes away by boat. It was certainly breathtaking and the resort made every effort to have towels sent with us and fresh drinking water. But the whole trip was a little spoilt - perhaps it was not a good time to go - because we had only choppy waters and certainly no space to sit quietly by ourselves except for an area that was filled with boatmen and guests smoking away! We gave up after about 45 minutes because there was nothing to do a proper space to relax in. the water was also so choppy that no one could swim or even snorkel. On hindsight it occured to us that the hotel could have advised on this so that we could plan for some other activity.

Room Tip: Depends on your budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed here in August 2011 in the least expensive room (I believe it's called a Resort Villa). We really enjoyed our three night stay, and as other people have said we were more than happy with the size and quality of the room.

The next category Ocean view Villas are above the Resort Villas and are actually smaller as they lose the large rear garden and outdoor bath, Reserve Villas are larger and have a pool and the Royal Villa (which our butler took us to) have a private pool and are directly on the beach.

There are only around 50 rooms in the property, August is low season but I think even at full occupancy it would seem very private. We often had the main pool to ourselves, and at most saw 2 other couples when we were out.

I was expecting the food to be pretty bad as per previous reviews, maybe because of this I thought the food was okay, but it is quite expensive (burger $30). Breakfast is just okay as well, nothing to exciting.

Beach bar is great at sunset, loved the 4 meter bed in our room, and Yin our butler was great as well.

I would recommend this hotel for people looking for a luxurious relaxed hotel. Please be aware however that the resort is quite remote, you can't really walk to any bars/restaurants outside hotel and the main town is about 35 mins away.

That didn't bother us however - highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I have traveled all over the world and stayed in hotels and resorts in 40 countries but I have never stayed in place as nice as Phulay Bay. The service is the best I have experienced (I just stayed at the Oriental in Bangkok and the Four Seasons in Hong Kong on this trip as well) anywhere in the world. The check in process was wonderful and the butler service was terrific. Our butler Tanya unpacked and organized all of our belongings and took care of our side trips, dinner reservations and car service.

The grounds of the resort are meticulously maintained and our Reserve Villa was also not only large but very well cleaned and organized every day. The gym was a good size for a resort of this caliber and the restaurants offered good (but not great food). The pool was beautiful and the pool service in our cabana was fabulous.

We will never forget the beautiful sunsets on the beach every evening (along with a cocktail of course !)

We will be back !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

My 4 days stay at Phulay Bay was blend of sheer beauty and luxury!It is by far the best resort that we have stayed at.As we entered the resort there is no reception but podium surrounded by water .On the periphery are 2000 odd candles that are lit up every night.The staff including the manager greets you,you have a welcome drink and head straight to your room.We stayed in the Royal Villa replete with an infinity pool and an outdoor jacuzzi overlooking the beautiful sea dotted with the limestone cliffs.The views are unmatched.We had to tear ourselves away from the beauty and tranquility of our Villa and Hotel to go into town and do other things.IT was worth every penny.
The service is impeccable even though sometimes one has to struggle to make them understand in english.We had a butler who would organize everything for us from cars ,to yoga classes to ferry rides and totally spoilt us.The area is so huge that we felt that there was hardly anyone living on the property but you would know only at breakfast that the hotel was full to 75%of its capacity.The only area they can probably improve is the food which was decent but not wow.The breakfast buffet is limited and never changes.They provide free shuttle to a neighboring island for swimming since this is rocky beach.I wish they also provide snorkelling equipment and a light snack to make it wholesome.
We thoroughly enjoyed the stay .Even our kids 11yrs and 9yrs didn't want to come back inspite of the fact there weren't too many kiddy things to do.I would definitely recommend Phulay Bay for the beautifully constructed and landscaped resort.Nearly takes your breath away!

Room Tip: Royal Villa ...simply splendid
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This was our second visit to Krabi. First trip was 13 years ago when there was no airport. We had to travel 3 hours by car from Phuket airport then a 1/2 hour humpy boat ride to a Krabi Resort. The shell-cemetery at that time was so amazing. We decided to go back to Krabi as attracted by the Ritz- Carlton brand.

We stayed 5 nights at the Reserve Villa, set in beautiful landscape; the room was really huge with a round sofa sitting at the centre of dressing/ closet area. During day time, I found it hard to decide where I should rest to read a book… porch in front of villa or sala at the backyard or soak myself in outdoor bathtub with flower petals or put my legs in the front yard small plunge pool. Appreciated the complimentary well-stock mini-bar and snacks, the full range of TV channels which no resort could offer, esp. in March when the whole world were concerning the Tsunami in Japan (on NHK) and keeping my eyes on HK stock market (on Now TV).

Walking to the Main pool through a rock path by the side of our Villa 19 was mind smoothing, as it was set on a beautiful greenery landscape, felt like a scene in “Sound of Music” but a miniature version. The main pool got decent size for a real swim, with 4 posters beach day-beds and free sips of young coconut. Although it was low season, we waited for other guests to leave before we could get onto one of the few day-beds. I wonder what would be like in high season.

We had 2 spa treatments at ESPA, both were excellent. Thai massage was done in outdoor area of treatment room overlooking the lush of garden. On the next day, we returned for the oil massage done in air-conditioned indoor.

Nice shuttle boat ride to nearby Hong Island, the boatman showed us the astonishing island cave and emerald waters but snorkeling was not that appealing.
The most surprising act of the house-keeping team was putting toothpaste onto each toothbrush each night before we returned from dinner!

Things let us down:
Our butler, JB left us waiting for at least half hour in the sun for buggy pick-up from restaurant, claiming she was looking for us in pool area. Another night, buggy pick-up supposed to be at 8pm, after a 20 mins wait, we saw her driving by and replied us operator told her pick-up time was 8:30pm and no apology from her. On the last day of our stay, she told us there was free ride to nearby local restaurant but the booking was full already. There were lemon slices in the mini-bar, I wrote a note to JB requesting some lime pieces. They were only present on first day, then still only lemon on 2nd day, even lemon was not replenished on 3rd day.
JB showed us the menu of Lae Lay Pavilion suggesting us to go there for dinner as it had our favourite French dishes and fresh seafood. We had big expectation but when we got there, we were astonished to find out the menu were totally different and seafood was unavailable. The executive chef and manager came out to apologize that we were given an old menu by JB.

Things to appreciate:
Heartfelt thanks to the Executive Chef, Gaetan who had specially asked for our preferences and prepared us a fabulous seafood dinner afterwards! The team showed a warm farewell to guests leaving the resort, and we were taken to the airport by a resort’s new luxurious and comfy van.

Further comments:
Amenities: So impressive…manicure set in leather case and many more…
Room rate: The resort is charging a very high 50% of the original room rate for the 3rd person staying in same villa.
Food: We had chicken curry 3 times, all tasted different with inconsistent chef cooking style.
Plunge Pool: Why is it so small for Reserve Villa? We had to request to have it clean up the debris by house-keeping before use.
Room-service: The staff returned 2 phones calls to confirm the order, when the 4 dishes arrived, 2 were still wrong.

Overall: A very nice resort but some staff need more coaching.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phulay Bay, A Ritz Carlton Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phulay Bay, A Ritz Carlton Reserve

Address: 111 Moo 3 Nongthalay, Muang, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Phulay Bay, A Ritz Carlton Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Phulay Bay, A Ritz Carlton Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phulay Bay, a Ritz Carlton Reserve Hotel Nong Thale
Ritz Carlton Krabi
Phulay Bay, A Ritz Carlton Reserve Krabi, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phulay Bay, A Ritz Carlton Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.