We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort to your Saves list
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   123 Moo 3, Tumbol Nongtalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Nong Thale
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolute bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at Tubkaak for 7 days and wished we could stay longer. The resort is one of those places where relaxation comes naturally. The design of the room, the beautifully manicured gardens, the stunning beach with amazing views, the awesome food, friendly staff etc etc.

For some the restaurant prices might be something to moan about BUT this is not your average restaurant. This is 5* food and well worth the price. The entertainment at night is well thought out and I really have to say that the couple singing from across the koi pond are the best at setting a perfect romantic mood.

Breakfasts are awesome. Pick what you want and enjoy. Don't forget to feed the koi.

I can only find one fault: they should really try and stretch the sunsets a bit more.

For those still in doubt about where to stay, just make the booking to this resort. You will not be sorry. You are close enough to the islands and many other activities.

I will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    131
    43
    15
    12
See reviews for
94
675
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We have stayed here several times before and never been disappointed. This year we chose to stay in the new pool villas, which whilst at the top end of our budget we thought were near perfect. The attention to detail in furnishings and little touches shows how well this resort is planned and managed. The new area of the resort merges seamlessly with the old which is amazing as a year ago it was a building site.

The Tubkaak beach remains the best location in the area in my opinion, and whilst it is a short taxi ride to shops and local restaurants the chilled out laid back atmosphere is what makes it special.

We have always received first class service and many of the staff have been there some while which is always a good sign.

We had the best meal of our whole holiday in the new Italian restaurant .

We will be back again next year, paradise is worth saving up for!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We cant compliment the Tubkak resort enough. It's a beautiful, tranquil, relaxing and unique boutique property set in lush gardens, on the most amazing beach imaginable. From start to finish our 5 days here were complete perfection.

Upon arrival we had a personal tour the by the most friendly, knowledgable girl, with a lovely manor and great sense of humour. The room was simply beautiful, with every amenity possible, including a fully stocked fridge, each day, without charge. We were also spoilt with a petal laden bath, waiting for us on arrival.

The grounds are beautifully landscaped to make the most of the natural springs, which run down the hill from the reception. The boutique size allows for a cosy layout, which is well thought through, with every room close to the beach and the pool. There are two restaurants, which are set with picture postcard views of the beach and the Amadaman sea. The breakfasts were incredible with a huge selection of typical local dishes as well as plenty of familiar western options. You must try the Banana Roti (a sweet Indian flatbread pancake)!

There have been a lot of comments regarding the price of the restaurants. They are as you would expect for such a resort, with a main dish costing approximately 350baht (£7 /$11) and this seemed okay to us, but once you add wine and other drinks, the bill can add up. Most people stay within the resort, but you can easily get to local amenities. We rented a scooter (delivered to the hotel) and visited Klong beach (about 4k away), which you can also get to in a cab. There are plenty of Thai restaurants offering traditional dishes at great value, as well as a few bars and shops.

We also took advantage of a couple of the many external activities on offer through reception. There's elephant riding, island tours, cookery, yoga, quad biking and more.

Finally, the staff are as amazing as the location... each team member knows who you are and what room you are staying in, making it clear that you are "one of our family" during your stay. The general manager, Sunni, is the most professional and genuinely friendly person, who goes over and above with every guest.

If you're considering it, do it!.. Everyone should treat themselves to this piece of paradise.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at the Tubkaak Resort in December for about 5 days. We had been recommended to stay here by some friends who had stayed here. We certainly were not disappointed! I wanted to stay longer!
We were greeted by very friendly staff and given a drink on arrival, afterwards we were shown to our room, which was, the best room I have ever stayed at. The decor/architecture were outstanding, the outside bath/shower was divine, and we were given a beach basket of thongs and towels to use. We were allowed everything in the mini bar as part of our honeymoon deal, and had 4 bottles of drinking water every day waiting for us.
The food at the restaurant was probably the best Thai food we have had. And we've eaten a lot of Thai! I just wanted to keep eating here every night and lunch time. It was quite pricey, but so worth it. We had lunch at one of the local resorts along the beach one day, which was a mistake, as it wasn't anywhere near as nice as Tubkaak. The atmosphere was delightful, sitting outside, overlooking the beach, with a fantastic water feature between the tables of the most gigantic fish you have seen! You could also feed the fish in the morning which was a nice touch.

We had a massage at the spa, and then we went to a place along beach for more massages, as they were right on the beach. We also went on a long boat one day around Ko Hong island which is not to be missed. We snorkelled and swam and saw some beautiful scenery.

Sunny was extremely welcoming and introduced himself while we were lazing around the pool. They were in the middle of building a deck, and he apologised for any noise. This did not bother us at all, they were so quiet in fact!

We went on the shuttle bus one evening to Ao Nang. We had dinner here, which was very average, but it was good to go and see somewhere else. We purchased some cheap clothes and sunglasses.


One morning we went for a walk up the mountain. The staff were so nice and gave us a business card so we could find our way back in case we got lost!! They also made a note that we had gone up the mountain, which we thought was very caring of them.

I would recommend this resort to anyone wanting a lovely relaxing holiday, no children, just pure indulgence. The beach is magnificent, and the bean bags on the beach make it hard to ever leave!

Oh and the sunsets are amazing!

We hope to be back.

Louise & Rhys

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I spent 4 days at Tubkaak at the end of our tour of Bangkok and Koh Lak.
We were met by Sunny the manager who was most welcoming. We were shown around the resort and to our room (136). The room was a little small but had a really nice outside shower and bath. It also faced the pool and had and outside terrace. The beach towels, flip flops and beach bag were a nice touch. As was the stocked mini bar with soft drinks.
Firstly i would like to say how friendly the girls on reception, room maids and girls in the restaurant were. which made up for the rudeness of the male staff who quite frankly made me keen to leave.
We had pre dinner cocktails in happy hour. The service was very slow and drinks small. We got the impression that they had been told to serve drinks slowly and we often had to go to the bar to order directly.We ate dinner in the Thai restaurant on our first night. Our starter soup was forgotten and my husband had to prompt the waiter. It arrived after I had eaten mine, with no apology. They were hardly busy and this did not make a good impression.
The next day we had lunch in the Thai restaurant and my chicken was raw, again no apology or offer of a replacement or taken off the bill.
The final straw was cocktails on our third night in happy hour. Again slow service and after receiving my bill I noticed we had been charged full price. The waiter advised me that this drink was ordered after happy hour had finished. The previous night we were advised last orders for happy hour which i told the waiter. He stormed off with our bill, leaving me quite upset. Really it was not about the cost but the principle. My husband caught the two waiters hanging out by the kitchen and quite clearly not working. It seemed like there was no one in charge in the restaurant and as they were getting there 10% service they were not interested. This was a stark contrast to the service we received in Khao Lak.
We used the shuttle bus which was 200bahts twice to Ao Nang which was a bit hit and miss for food, it may be better to look up places before you go, avoid the banana leaf and the first restaurant on seafood street.
We pre booked the 4 Island speedboat tour which was ok for the money and we got to snorkle
Finally we notice contruction work next door, which was not to noisy, however you may wish to check before travelling.
Due to the bad service we would not return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Beautiful location, tranquil and unspoilt, yet with every facility needed for a perfectrelaxation.
Loved the dicreet outside shower and bath area.

When, if ever, you get bored with the tranquility, take an exciting boat trip to the numerous islands for a day.
Alfresco dining an absolute deight with a superb range of delicately flavoured dishes. Great buffet breakfast, too.
Superb white sandy beach and warm shallow sea.

Just can't think of anything which would improve this wonderful retreat.

Room Tip: Ask for residence on the beach front. Superb,spacious two storey villas with two separate bedrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We had a great stay at Tubkaak! We stayed here on our honeymoon.

Pros:
Delicious breakfast buffet
Private beach with comfy bean bags to lounge on and great view
Get a 400 baht 60 minute massage and buy drinks on the beach, which is much cheaper than at the resort
Clean rooms. They are on the smaller side, with an outdoor shower and tub.
Excellent service- rooms were cleaned promptly, fresh beach towels every morning and speedy room and bellhop service.
Isolation is good- if you see the crowds at some of the other beaches, you will appreciate it!
Lots of excursions to choose from

Cons:
200 baht each for a ride into town. The town is pretty small and we did get to try a yummy restaurant.
Wasn't really a con for us, but there's only 2 restaurants - Thai and Italian. We didn't try the Italian one.

Other:
We took a cooking class which was simple and straightforward. Made me feel like I could go home and easily recreate the dishes. Besides giving us the recipe, we got aprons and a certificate of completion which was a cute touch.

Stayed in room 138 across from the pool on the bottom floor. We didn't notice the construction.

I scheduled a private Yoga and Reiki session with Marina. Marina was an excellent instructor and the view was gorgeous.

We purchased the honeymoon special which included a transportation, massage, dinner and wine. The massage was nice, but we wish it was in the fancy open air spa and not a regular room. Dinner was a prefixed menu which was excellent and more than enough food.

Overall we really enjoyed the stay and would recommend it to anyone going to Krabi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort

Address: 123 Moo 3, Tumbol Nongtalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#2 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very chic boutique resort with just 59 stylistically finished rooms and pool villas located at Krabi's most pristine Tubkaak Beach. Offering utmost privacy, spellbound tranquility with friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Hotel Nong Thale
Tubkaak
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.