We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the Tubkaak is excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort to your Saves list
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   123 Moo 3, Tumbol Nongtalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“the Tubkaak is excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2007

My husband and I just returned from Thailand and loved the Tubkaak! All the staff were very accomodating and helpful. Our room was small but gorgeous, the shower and outdoor tub are to die for! Be warned though that this is a very quiet, secluded, resort. Don't expect to be entertained but it's a wonderful place to relax. The food was expensive but excellent. The beach was disappointing, it wasn't well-maintained and the water wasn't clear. The pool was well-maintained and the spa top-notch. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    145
    44
    16
    12
See reviews for
105
744
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
tasmania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2007

This resort is in a word -magnificent!! Located in Krabi, Thailand and fronting a white, sandy beach the resort offers outstanding views of the Andaman Sea and the outlying Hong islands - with enormous limestone cliffs that appear to rise from the sea.

This resort must rate as one of the most environmentally sensitive resorts in the world. It fronts a beach but blends into the jungle so as to be completely unobtrusive and utilises the water from a mountain stream that runs through the property to meet its needs.

Each individual villa enjoys a pool or ocean view and the views from Reception are breathtaking. The design elements of each villa reflect a traditional Thai way of life and include an enclosed outdoor bath and shower.

The emphasis in this resort is on relaxation and I have never been so relaxed in my life!! Relax by the pool, on the beach in a hammock or in the guest library which also includes free internet use. The service is outstanding and the restaurant offers a wide variety of Thai and western dishes.

Tjhe resort offers a free shuttle service to the nearby town of Ao Nang for those who like to shop but for those who want to unwind, this resort is heavenly.

  • Liked — uniqueness of style, brilliant setting and outstanding 5 star service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2007

Perfect for people looking for a quiet place in the nature.
Nice room with beautiful bathroom (outside bath for standard room), lovely pool, fantastic view from the beach, good restaurant, good service. I only missed a fitness room...

  • Liked — Room, Hotel, Deko, Atmosphere, view, beach
  • Disliked — no fitness center
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2007

After reading many excellent reviews of the hotel before I planned my trip I was somewhat disappointed with the Tubkaak overall. I specifically booked this hotel last on my honeymoon to get the luxury on the beach at the end of my trip. Truly it's a lovely resort and spotlessly clean but there was just NOTHING to do here except eat and sleep. The website gives the impression that there are 3 restaurants to choose from but in fact there is only one.. the "Library" which is listed as one of the eating points is really a small room with two computers and two armchairs where you could possibly eat a packet of peanuts.. but by no means a restaurant.. as for the Sundowner, well this is just an extention on the main restaurant where you have your pre-dinner cocktails.
The reception was helpful when organising day tours but if you are looking for a resort with any sort of entertainment you may be disappointed..
I would not go back to this hotel and it really is in the middle of nowhere..

  • Liked — The staff were very friendly and helfull
  • Disliked — there was nothing to do at all, day or night apart from eat and drink..
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2007

From the moment we stepped out of the transfer car into the reception area, we were treated like kings. The Tubkaak Resort is 1 of the most exquisite places we have ever stayed. Although the rooms are a bit on the small side, everything is perfectly laid out and does not feel small at all. The location of this resort is fantastic as you sit at the dining area and watch over the ocean towards the islands. Food is excellent, with everything catered for. The rooms have an outside bath / shower area which is partially open to the sky, and with the sunken granite bath, makes you feel like you're bathing in the forest. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone that wants to get away from the hustle from Thailand and want to stay in a lovely piece of paradise.
I will be back!!!

  • Liked — The location and the dining area
  • Disliked — Nothing!!!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

For any of you who have any doubts about The Tubkaak Resort for your holiday/honeymoon. Don't have any doubts.
You could not choose a better resort or destination. It is amazing. Not enough can be said about this little gem.
For a start the staff make you feel like royalty. From the minute we arrived to the minute that we left we lacked in nothing. Perfection is a good way of describing The Tubkaak. Take the beach bag and fans for our use for example. How about the flip flops? How about umbrellas and DVDs to watch on a rainy day? The plasma TV and the satelite chanels were also great. Oh! and how about the outdoor bath with the sound of nature for company. Total bliss. Oh and having breakfast right next to the beach with the most amazing views. I must also tell you that we were given a complimentary Thai massage each AND 600 Bahts each to spend at the hotel for food/beverages per day (accumalitive if not used).
We stayed here for 7 nights and although the hotel is about 15-20 mins out of town we still had a wonderful time. We took a tour of other islands and ate in town 2 or 3 times. The rest was spent at the hotel and we were really sad to leave it.
But we will definitely be back.
Thank you sooooo much Sunny and Pat and everyone else. Your hospitality will never be forgotten.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and outdoor bath.
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Tubkaak for 5 days in October 2007 and we were both amazed at this resort. The property is fairly small but felt like the perfect size for us. We booked a deluxe room through Asiarooms.com, and because we were on our honeymoon, the bathtub was filled with floating orchid flowers when we arrived! We were given complementary Thai massages in the wonderful spa (of course we got more too). Loved the outdoor bathroom in the room - very nice touch. The service is fantastic - the staff was calling us by our names after just a couple of days.

They arranged whatever trips we wanted to do - we went elephant trekking, kayaking through mangroves and caves at Bor Thor, speedboat trip to Phi Phi island and other islands, and longtail boat to Hong Island, all of which were excellent and very memorable. This is a incredibly beautiful area of the world and this resort perfectly complements its surroundings. Their beach is very nice for relaxing too, and Hong Island close by has an even nicer beach and great snorkeling.

After our 5 days at the Tubkaak, we stayed for another 5 days in Ao Nang, and by far the best food we ate the whole time was right there at the Tubkaak's restaurant! We certainly didn't get bored at all with their selection; they have quite a menu and everything was delicious. The manager Petcharat was very nice and spoke with us for a while about our stay - we just can't say enough good things about this place! We'd love to go back some day.

  • Liked — the harmony with the surroundings
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort

Address: 123 Moo 3, Tumbol Nongtalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#1 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#1 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very chic boutique resort with just 59 stylistically finished rooms and pool villas located at Krabi's most pristine Tubkaak Beach. Offering utmost privacy, spellbound tranquility with friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Hotel Nong Thale
Tubkaak
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.