We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool villa is amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nakamanda Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nakamanda Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Nakamanda Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   126 Moo 3 Klong Muang Beach | Tambol Nongtalay, Amphur Muang, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Nong Thale
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pool villa is amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have just returned from our second vacation in Nakamanda and loved it. Both times we stayed at their pool villa which is a spacious villa overlooking the bay. On both trips, the service was excellent and we always make a trip to their spa which is also very good. Would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    189
    53
    16
    7
See reviews for
129
464
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is a beautiful resort outside the craziness of Krabi. The grounds of the resort are beautiful, clean and very well manicured. The pool area is very nice and overlooks a cove into the ocean. During low tide, the view isn't great but it's nice to be able to go for a walk or a jog on the beach. When the tide comes in, even though the beach is not great for lounging or swimming, the view is really nice. Great views of the sunset at night.

The service was excellent and the staff was beyond friendly. Very easy to schedule boat excursions, tours, massages, etc through the resort. Other than breakfast, which was delicious, we generally ate outside of the resort so I can't really comment on the food.

There are plenty of stores, restaurants and bars immediately outside of the resort so there is never any feeling of being "trapped". We grabbed drinks or dinner almost exclusively at the bars/restaurants along the beach or on the street outside. Should you wish to go to Ao Nang or Krabi, in addition to a scheduled hotel shuttle, there are taxis and scooters immediately outside the hotel.

The only negative is that it is a bit expensive for the area. We went during high season so it may be more reasonable during low times. But overall, we had an excellent experience at the Nakamanda and would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We just returned from staying at Nakamanda for 8 days during the Christmas to New Years. I selected the hotel after much of research. We chose four rooms as we were a large family of 11 who were traveling. We were mixed age group from 4 to 70. We spent a lot of time at the resort

Pros
a) Excellent staff - The staff have a very friendly vibe and as previous reviewers have pointed out, you get to know them well and create a good bond. This is definitely because of the fact that the resort is small and is not one of those 200 room resort. The attention is hence personalized. Additionally, I think that there is little sense of hierarchy and each staff member seems to work very well with the other. They all seem to be multi-skilled. We found that the service staff sometimes manned the pool area, the bar staff manned the restaurant etc. This keeps all of them friendly and engaged. Ms. Por is an excellent manager and works well to keep all her staff happy and in-turn keeps the customers happy.

b) The rooms are fantastic. They have a really nice outdoor balcony. For someone who stays for a longer time, this is absolutely necessary. The room is a little villa. For the comparable price of Sheraton, Sofitel etc. for a standard room, this one is a heaven send. You will not feel suffocated here even if you stay for days on end

c) Swimming Pool and Ocean - The swimming pool is the best. With just 39 rooms, you will always have space in the pool. You can do laps and not bang into someone. The ocean view is just great. The low-tide and the high-tide that happens here must be witnessed. During high-tide, you will see the ocean come all the way to the hotel steps. During low-tide, the water is very far away and you can walk on the rocks / beach. This beach is not a sandy beach where you can sit / sunbathe. However, I found most guests sunbathe on the hotel near the pool. This was not important for us

d) Food / Drinks - The food & drinks were good. They were not gourmet or really exceptional. However, they work well when you are in the hotel. You should head out to Ao Nang anyway for that. Jenna's Bistro & Azurra really worked well for us

e) Cleanliness - No problems here at all.

f) Spa - I am not really a spa person, but even I enjoyed it to the hilt. Some of my fellow travelers who visit a spa quite often rated the spa as one of the best that they have been to. I could see a clear difference in the health of elderly people after the spa. We used the spa extensively with all types of massages. The steam room after the spa is also recommended

Cons

a) Incline for elderly people - The hotel is built on a hill. There is certainly a climb up and down from the rooms / main office to the beach / restaurant / pool areas. A few of our family members found the climb tiring. For most people, this should not be a problem

b) New Year's Celebration - The evening was to show-case Thai cultural dances. It was very slow and long. A couple of dances should have been sufficient. The fireworks were good at the end.They should have had a lot of guest participation with some dancing and music on the stage. They can get a local DJ to play popular tracks. The new year's eve would have been perfect

Overall, this is a fantastic base for long-stay that feels like a luxurious home

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Pros:
- Great location. I would not have travelled there if it was not for this hotel. Totally worth it, rather than Patong style Ao Nang. Beach is not the best in the region but still pleasant. Some restaurants and useful stores just outside the resort.
- Villas setting is spotless clean, manucured gardens. The villas are very appealing from outside and the outdoor terrace are great.
- Staff is a major asset, everybody is so friendly and helpful.

Cons:
- Interior of the Villas and common areas are outdated and a bit old and tired. Could do with a strong refurbishment, though it was still bearable, but not quite the standards of a Small Luxury Resort.
- Spa, though pretty cheap for a hotel spa, was a disappointment. Both treatment and facilities were average/bad.
- Breakfast is horribly low quality and choice. Rest of the food is ok, but overpriced.

Overall:
The best lodging option in the area! Do not hesitate to stay at Nakamanda (stayed at Phulay bay after Nakamanda, it did not stand the comparison, though it was supposed to be high end luxury). This resort is a destination in itself.

Room Tip: All villas are far from being equal. There are some excellent ones, and some horrible. Do not hesita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I can't say enough about our stay at Nakamanda. The service here is incredible, with a smile and welcome by all employees that you might encounter. The most memorable of employees were Book and Berm. They took every opportunity to make sure we were comfortable and very attentive to every need you we had throught our stay.

We stayed here for 11 days and loved every minute, from our long walks on the beach to pick up shells. To the most wonderful massages at their spa. They also had a birthday cake for my husband awaiting him the morning of his birhtday. This was done without any request. The extra touches this resort provided was very much worth every penny paid.

New Years was brought in with every guest lighting a paper latern and making a wish, followed up with an incredible fireworks display.

The only negitive remark I could make is the beds were extremly hard and uncomfortable. The room was nice and the air condition work very well. I had read many reviews on a problem with misquitos...we never saw one! If that had been a problem they took every percation to protect you from such a pest.

The food was ok, but suggest eating across the street. There were two resturants we frequently visted and the food was tasty and again the serviece was great!

Both my husband and myself would come and stay here again and look forward to our next visti.

Room Tip: I suggest staying in a top floor. However, with that said, there are many steps and would take hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were there for two nights and it was wonderful. The hotel and staff are excellent. The hotel locates at Klong Muang beach, which is very quiet but not the best place for swimming. The hotel has a very good pool though. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

If you have not experiened the pool villa, i highly recommend it. I haven't stayed in a normal villa so I can't compare which villa is better quality, but the pool villa includes a living room with sofas, chairs, dining table and speakers, and two bed rooms, with one TV each, a queen size bed (possible to ask for an extra mattress), very clean bathroom and a few others. There is also a kitchen and easy access to the beach and breakfast hall, and a private pool and jacuzzi. The downside is that it is a long walk to exit the resort and to access the reception. However, do not be put off by the entrance, as it looks very shabby from the outside, but when you enter the resort you will be stunned...

As for the service, very friendly and very fast. As for the food, a wide choice of food to choose from and some of the best quality thai and western food I have ever tasted. It is also surrounded by a variety of good quality thai restaurants.

It is a wide and luxurious estate with many facilities that are perfect for relaxation or adventure such as the spa, pool, beach and many island hopping and general tours. The resort is also very peaceful, and taking a stroll around is quite pleasant.

Overall, it was an amazing experience. The service was out of this world and they cannot do enough for you. As for the food, they have many vegetarian/vegan options, as well as a wide variety of different cuisines.

I highly recommend this resort to any tourist travelling to Krabi.

Room Tip: If you have not experienced the pool villa, i highly recommend it. I haven't stayed in a normal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nakamanda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nakamanda Resort & Spa

Address: 126 Moo 3 Klong Muang Beach | Tambol Nongtalay, Amphur Muang, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#4 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nakamanda Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Nakamanda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nakamanda Resort And Spa
Nakamanda Hotel Nong Thale
Nakamanda Resort Krabi
Nakamanda Hotel Krabi
Nakamanda Resort & Spa Krabi, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nakamanda Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.