We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only special for the amazing beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Krabi Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Krabi Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Krabi Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   155 Moo 2 | Muang, Krabi, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
SCHOOL HOLIDAY PACKAGE
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Nong Thale
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Only special for the amazing beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

There is nothing really special about this hotel until you head to the beach and then it's FABULOUS!! I love a good beach and the Sheraton's did not disappoint. Not sure about at other times of year but during our Christmas week stay the water was beautifully warm, quite clear, very swimmable because it was so calm and has a very gradual slope so the 4 kids in our party could play ball in there with little supervision and no worries of being carried away by a wave. The sand is clean and super soft, felt like sifted flour. Only disappointment there is the lack of really nice beach chairs, everything was plastic and under the trees, not an elevated beach experience. Walking down the beach we saw that the other hotels did not have as nice of a swimming beach as ours, seems that the Sheraton really cleared theirs of rocks etc to be perfect. To those worried about jelly fish, we saw 2 during our stay there, both were quite large and washed up on the beach, did not see any in the water.
The hotel itself is quiet with a few restaurants outside the main gate. Rooms are basic and clean but have very little space for one's clothing, a pet peeve for hotels that focus on family trips that probably last an average of 5 days or more.
Breakfast in the downstairs restaurant was good, with fun animal shaped pancakes made to order and delicious waffles amongst the made to order eggs and other regular fare. Not much Thai food which was a little disappointing.
There are 2 pools both of which did not feel crazy busy or loud, even at full capacity but really we spent the majority of our time at the lovely beach.
Did not try the spa but in Thailand I never would since there are so many fantastic massage places on every corner. We had a few massages at the places on the beach which were fab.
The hotel was able to set up a couple of day trips for us to Railay Island on a long tail boat which was very reasonable at about $100 for about 4-6 hours and a speedboat to Phi Phi Island were we stopped off and snorkelled at a few spots and went cliff diving in another place. Couldn't dive since a couple of us had a cold but the snorkelling did not disappoint with fantastic visibility at the places we were taken to.
All in all a lovely vacation!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Manager at Sheraton Krabi Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear “KSJones1”,

Thank you for your review of the Sheraton Krabi Beach Resort, we think that the beach in front of the hotel is special too. To keep it in a pristine condition, we clean the beach every day and we are glad that you appreciate it. Generally speaking the water is calm and clear and during your stay in December the water was beautiful. The hotel does have over 300 beach chairs scattered throughout the resort, but to your point the beach chairs on the actual beach are plastic, but they can be moved to be under the sun. As far as I am aware, the resort has never had to move any rocks, but were blessed to have a great stretch of beach! The hotel also has 2 infinity pools (one with a swim up bar) located quite close to the beach.

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and we appreciate your remarks about the food and especially the pancakes, waffles and egg stations. We do try to accommodate people from all over the world and have discovered that not many people are adventurous in the morning, but are more daring at lunch or dinner, so we took most of the Thai spicy dishes off the breakfast buffet. I am sorry if this was a bit of a disappointment. Your comments about the storage is noted and unfortunately this was a design flaw that we will not be able to correct.

Getting out on to the water and going to see some of the many islands and seeing some of the fantastic marine life is a must if you are coming to Krabi. It’s good to know that are recreation team were able to arrange some tours for you during your stay with us.

I hope that you have the opportunity to come back to Thailand and stay at the Sheraton Krabi Beach Resort again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,112
    607
    181
    76
    30
See reviews for
547
1,015
41
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I took a trip with my family to this resort in December 2013 and overall it was very impressive. It could have been stressful traveling with 2 young children (aged 4 and 2) but the hotel staff made this an extremely comfortable stay. The property is relatively small but pretty and the lawns connecting to the beach are a great place to chill out and watch the sunset. The resort has a small private beach and 2 pools - 1 specifically for kids. The advantage of this resort is the proximity of local Thai and Indian restaurants to the resort's main gate. There are plenty of options just outside the resort - 5 minutes walking distance. Coming back to the staff, they were all very obliging and courteous.

Room Tip: I was in the "G" block. Each block is 3 floors high. Take a room on the 3rd floor if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Manager at Sheraton Krabi Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear “Kyan9”,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Sheraton Krabi Beach Resort. We are grateful about your remarks about the resort. I am not quite sure that I would call the resort small though. It’s great to read that we could look after you and your 2 kids. The resort does have 2 infinity pools and a I have to admit a great beach. Thank you for your kind words about the staff at the hotel, this really makes the difference in a stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

A warm welcome awaits you this is an amazing getaway. The hotel has three restaurants to choose from and two swimming pools. A stunning open grass area that leads down onto the beach. The rooms are serviced daily by staff who are warm and welcoming. Booking day trips was no problem and all staff were very helpful. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Manager at Sheraton Krabi Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear “Caryn A”,

Thank you for your review of the Sheraton Krabi Beach Resort. It’s great to read that you had a relaxing time while staying at the resort. The hotel landscape team do a great job to maintain the garden. It’s good to know that you appreciated the hard work that they do. Your comments about the hotel staff are much appreciated, it’s great to know that we could meet your expectations.

We hope that you enjoyed your day trip, there are many things to see and do around Krabi and the islands.

We look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to the Sheraton Krabi Beach Resort.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Cannot fault the hotel. It's it a lovely quiet location and a perfect honeymoon destination. Rooms are well equipped and clean, good restaurants and a deserted beach to enjoy. I would defiantly like to visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Manager at Sheraton Krabi Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear “Jane C”,

Congratulations on getting married and choosing to spend your honeymoon at the Sheraton Krabi Beach Resort. It’s great to read that we could live up to your expectations. The resort has 2 infinity pools and a great beach that we try to keep in pristine condition by cleaning everyday. The rooms were recently renovated and the housekeeping staff were happy to read your comments about the cleanliness.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the future. Maybe on an anniversary.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney - Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I'll get to the title of my review in a moment, but I will start with a few observations of my recent 4 night stay at Sheraton Krabi in Jan 2014.

This is the place to stay if you want easy access to Hong Island, like stretches of clean beach to walk on and swim, and generally laze around next to pools or on large open grassed areas looking out to the Andaman Sea. Staff are all friendly, wifi in club room included in rate and the 5-7pm drinks and snacks in the club are ample, server by professional staff (beer is cold, happy days!).

The grounds are very well kept, especially considering the size of the resort - kudos to the grounds staff for an impressive effort.

If less than 4 people access to Hong Island is easy with the long tail boats that wait near the water activities hut down on the beach - ask the water sports staff there are they have the info and can call in a long tail boat if one is not there (staff were very helpful with this). 1800 baht for this journey, the boatman waits while you explore the beach - leave early to beat the crowds that turn up y 10:30-11.

Caught a cab from Krabi airport to hotel, 700 baht. Got a fixed price at the airport counter just after collecting the bags - they took cash only, but ATM around the corner.

Food - now the food situation. 'Bland and boring' is the quick summary for this resort.
This is the reason why I did not rate higher, the food itself nearly deserves a 2/5 for the resort as a whole. The food situation at this resort is embarrassing for a resort of this quality, it needs a total overhaul by a qualified and caring head chef. You would not know that you were in Thailand here, an Italian restaurant with pizza and pasta is the most popular - it does not deserve the patronage if you enjoy your food. The main signature restaurant - mainly Indian food...? Not Thai? The Indian food is adequate, but I've had better from my local take away - this is Thailand?

People often quote "due to western tastes", if this is the case why is there so many Thai eateries (of poor quality mind you) outside the entrance that are frequented by guests of the resort?! The most frequented food eatery here is the 7Eleven just outside the gates, this says volumes.

My comment to Sheraton management who will hopefully read this, find a head chef who is responsible for the entire food situation at the resort and cares about food, hire them and listen to them....match this with service and you have a winning combination, you have great potential...it's up to you.

I really enjoyed my stay, just not the food offered.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Manager at Sheraton Krabi Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear “DavidK-aust”,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Sheraton Krabi Beach Resort. Your comments about the grounds and facilities are much appreciated. The hotel is located on a beautiful stretch of coastline. We clean the beaches everyday to ensure that it is kept in pristine condition. The resort also has 2 infinity pools that are also good to laze around. We are glad that you enjoyed the Sheraton Club lounge and enjoyed the hor d’oeuvres and evening beverages. The club lounge staff were very happy to read your review about the service. The landscape team work hard to ensure that the grounds are well kept. The local long tail boats are not run by the hotel and need to be paid directly. The Long Tail boat drivers have no form of insurance so please be aware of this. However many guests choose to use the long tail boat services to go to some of the closer islands.

I am sorry that you did not like the food. If you have the time, could kindly email me paul.tsuji@sheraton.com so that we can look into what you ordered.

We hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to the Sheraton Krabi Beach Resort in the future.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Went in Dec 2013 with my wife.

A quick review:

Pros - Resort Campus (One of the best you can imagine). A grand resort campus located on the beach. Enough number of beach benches.
- Swimming Pool (Three pools with awesome beach views)
- Restaurants
- In hotel activities (kayaking, Surfing, Volleyball, Diving practice etc.)
- Breakfast (Too good)

Cons - Location (located a bit far from Aonang - 5 miles). This could be an advantage also if you are looking for a quite location. Aonang is a bit crowded. Also, because of the location, getting to the hotel is a bit expensive.
- Garden view ground floor rooms in Block D. There is no garden view for such rooms.

Could be improved - Charges for Aonang shuttle and the frequency of the shuttle.
(If you book the shuttle and don't board it, the hotel will charge you 200 Baht for no-show. This was my only negative experience with the hotel. I was surprised moreso because they never mentioned this in the previous conversations. But later they had waived off the charges as I had informed them about my no show through an email.)
- Spa Charges are too high.
All in all, a wonderful resort barring some minor negatives. Highly recommended for a break from the busy life to relax on the beach.

TIP - Spend most of your time in the resort and you will not be disappointed :)

Rgds,
Ashish

Room Tip: Take the sea side room. And even if you take the garden view room, make sure that it is not on the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Manager at Sheraton Krabi Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear “ashdhag”,

It’s great to read that you had a relaxing time and enjoyed the beach. Thank you for your positive comments about the resort layout. the resort has over 300 sun lounges so that everyone can relax and unwind. The hotel actually has 2 infinity pools that overlook the beach and has 3 restaurants, Gecko’s Italian restaurant, Malati Royal Thai and Indian Restaurant and Mangosteen’s international cuisine restaurant. The recreation team try to ensure that guests have something to do during the day, we are glad that you enjoyed the activities that the hotel has arranged. The chefs were very happy to know that you liked the breakfast at Mangosteen’s restaurant. We try to cater for travelers from all over the world and your feedback is much appreciated.

The hotel is located from the hustle and bustle of the Ao Nang district, but is a 15 – 20 minute ride away. The hotel uses a 3rd party company to take guests to and from Ao Nang. The shuttle service is available 4 times a day and costs 200 baht return from the Sheraton to Ao Nang. The 3rd party service is very strict and the hotel does not have control over their policies, however we do try and work with them to ensure guest satisfaction. The spa is also run by a 3rd party operator Mandara spa with branches located in many places across the world, the prices are high however everyone that has experienced the service have also commented on how good it was.

We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will come back to the Sheraton Krabi Beach Resort.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Where do I begin? I've been staying at the Sheraton Krabi for the last four days. One word, amazing. The staff is super friendly, although their English proficiency could use some work. It gets rather frustrating when they cannot answer basic questions. That would be my only complaint about the resort. The grounds are beautifully maintained. The rooms are nice and very clean.

I should note though that I redeemed SPG points for this stay. If I was paying the full rate I may have felt differently. The rooms could use some updating like iPod docks, etc. However, I spent very little time in the room so it wasn't important.

Pools are beautiful and large, but if you don't like children then the pool isn't for you. There were several children and they were rather loud and rowdy so if you wang tranquility by the pool you may not get it. I spent the majority of my time by the beach so this wasn't an issue.

I took a longtail boat from Ao Nang (200 baht round trip) to Phra Nang and Railay beach. It was gorgeous but very crowded. Also, took a tour from the hotel for 1800 baht (per person) to the Phi Phi islands. Amazing And well worth the time.

If you are SPG gold or platinum then they treat you like royalty. Free breakfast every day in the club or in Mangosteen's. Free snacks throughout the day in the club and free drinks at happy hour in Malati Bar or the Club. Also discounts on food at three restaurants, tours and the Spa.

All in all a great deal and a great stay. Would highly recommend and would come back. Beach in front of hotel is also very nice. Water was warm and clean and shallow which made for pleasurable and calm swimming.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsujip, Manager at Sheraton Krabi Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear “Najjp”,

It’s great to read your comments about the Sheraton Krabi Beach Resort. We are glad that we could live up to your expectations. The staff do try hard to communicate to the guests and the hotel does have English classes, however that being said I do take on board your comments.

Thank you for being a loyal SPG guest. As an SPG Platinum member breakfast is complimentary as is access to the Sheraton Club lounge. At the Sheraton Krabi we are one of the few Sheraton resorts in Asia Pacific that have a Sheraton Club. As we have restricted access to the Sheraton Club lounge to a no children policy we have opened up another venue at the Malati bar for parents with kids to enjoy. There is an open space for the kids to run around and there is actually a fantastic sunset that can be seen from the Malati bar area. All SPG members are also able to get a 15% discount off the food and beverage in the hotel.

Your comments about the ipod dock are noted, we are looking at some options that can accommodate the new and old ipods connections and other devices. This is surprisingly difficult to find something that works across multiple brands.

The gardens are maintained by our hard working landscaping team, we are glad that you enjoyed the work the team has to put into get them in the condition they are in. The housekeeping team were very happy to read your comments about the cleanliness of the guest rooms. The resort has 2 infinity pools that are situated quite close to the pristine beach. The hotel has over 300 sun lounges scattered around the resort and thank you for enjoying the beach to get away from the kids.

As it is peak season in the resorts, most of the tourist destinations would be quite crowded but I do believe that it is worth the trip to go and see some of the amazing islands around. As you have pointed out, the water is warm, clean and pleasurable.

Great that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Krabi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Krabi Beach Resort

Address: 155 Moo 2 | Muang, Krabi, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#4 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Krabi Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located on a peaceful, white sandy beach, our rooms feature every comfort to ensure a blissful stay. With a full range of activities and excursions we are the ideal choice for families and couples alike. Be as active or as relaxed as you like - try kayaking, rock climbing, diving, snorkeling, the heavenly Mandara Spa or lazing in a hammock by the Andaman Sea. Fabulous dining, live entertainment and warm hospitality await. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Krabi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Krabi Beach Hotel Nong Thale
Krabi Sheraton
Sheraton Krabi Beach Resort Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Krabi Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.