We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frog and Catfish

Frog and Catfish
76 Moo 6, Din Daeng Noi, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
+66 (0)84 773 0301
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 stars 214 Reviews
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The restaurant is located 12 minutes from Ao Nang center in a small village named Din Daeng Noi. It is one of the most unique restaurant/ bar and bungalow operations in the South of Thailand. The chef is superb and the tropical ambience is amazing. It is a hidden gem.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

After seeing reviews on Tripadvsor visited yesterday evening and was not disappointed !!!
This is our first visit to Thailand and we enjoyed the owners recommendation..crab cakes were to die for as was red duck curry and fish dish..followed by fried banana.Enjoyed it so much that we have to go again tomorrow !!!! We want to see the beautiful gardens in the daytime as owners have put so much thought into designing this beautiful place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    20
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere, delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This restaurant's atmosphere is not only gorgeous, but the food is delicious and the staff are so nice and helpful! Probably the coolest atmosphere of any restaurant I've ever been to with little bungalow like tables spread apart, ponds, and even a pet turtle! I definitely recommend this place to anyone! It is a little out of the way, but well worth it!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“" Frog and Catfish...superb restaurant "”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Visted this restaurant with my wife Margaret on the 18th January along with my wife's neice,husband baby Zane and there two friends.
We all had a wonderfull time, food, drink, atmosphere and surrounding's all superb...also very well priced.
Gary,the owner, also showed us around the bungalow's he has to rent out,these are quite superb, if you eat at this restaurant
it would be well worth asking Gary to have a look around one.
The restaurant is 15mins outside Ao Nang, but please do not let this put you off as there is a shuttle bus service which will pick
you up at your hotel, Gary and his wife run a wonderful restaurant, if you plan to visit Krabi do not miss the chance to eat at this
restaurant.

Alfie & Margaret (Scotland)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“tasty, a great location in the middle of the jungle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

the food was great, the fruit juices were phenomenal, and the owner - as well as the rest of the staff - were both pleasant and more than happy to recommend the best dishes.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food in beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The most amazing food in the most beautiful surrounding. Stunning setting that makes each table feel like it has its own private dining area. Wonderful owners Gary and Bo make you feel so welcome and even showed us around there fantastic holiday villas too, which were stunning! Bo clearly very talented lady as she does the cooking and most of the joinery too! And still manages to look beautiful. A coach came and picked up our group of 6 and a baby. It's rare that every one of us are entirely happy with our meals. But happy we were. All curries were amazing, especially the crab curry. Great advice from the staff. We all had two courses and lots of drinks and were shocked at how cheap it was! The only negatives I have that there weren't many desserts left, but they are usually home made and fresh so understandable that they run out quickly. It's a little out the way too but that's part of its charm as it feel like a real hidden treasure. Do not visit krabi without going here!!!!! Also check out the rooms we are planning to come back and stay. At £50 for peak seasons it's a bargain!!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frog and Catfish also viewed

Nong Thale, Krabi Town
Krabi Town, Krabi Province
 
Nong Thale, Krabi Town
Krabi Town, Krabi Province
 

Been to Frog and Catfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frog and Catfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.