We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small paradise in Krabi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frog and Catfish

Frog and Catfish
76 Moo 6, Din Daeng Noi, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
+66 (0)84 773 0301
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 restaurants in Nong Thale
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The restaurant is located 12 minutes from Ao Nang center in a small village named Din Daeng Noi. It is one of the most unique restaurant/ bar and bungalow operations in the South of Thailand. The chef is superb and the tropical ambience is amazing. It is a hidden gem.
Oudenbosch, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“small paradise in Krabi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We would spend three nights of our honeymoon at the Frog and Catfish. When we arrived, we felt lucky we choose this spot. What a beautifull place in nice surroundings. There are only a few rooms, which makes it feels warm and cosy. We felt like we where family of the owners and staff. The rooms are beautifull and we had a nice private terrace between the beautifull ponds. The swimming pool is amazing. After three nights we decided to stay another three. And if we had more days left of our holiday we would stay there..The restaurant is lovely. The owners and staff, give you nice excursion tips and do all they can to make it your holiday to never forget..For sure, we will return one day. Check it out, you will not regrett it for sure.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    167
    16
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We went with a great couple we met in our hotel. The owner had arranged for us to go kayaking with Captain Baan, as he was called, in the afternoon who took us around the Mangroves. We saw monkeys and monitor lizards as well as birdlife, then we stopped and had snacks of fruit and rice. Can really recommend our captain as he was very friendly and helpful, telling us all about the local area. We then went to the Frog and catfish for some drinks and a great meal. We all thoroughly enjoyed the food and the owners were fantastic hosts Gary the owner joined us at our table telling us of his tales he had had in the twenty years of living in Thailand. The location is stunning and as they have beautiful and very reasonable accommodation, would be a lovely place to stay for a very relaxing holiday. Gary and his lovely wife Bua and staff made us feel really welcome. Hope to see them again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krabi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you want a romantic relaxing place for dinner Frog and Catfish is the place to go. The owners were out and about the whole night and made a note to come by and chat. They built everything you see. There are plenty of options to sit, a pool to swim in, and beautiful plants surrounding you. Their menu is really big and they have both Thai and western food. The service was great and everyone is friendly.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANGKOK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“really mega place !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

brilliant food and really genuine people after travelling extensively through out thailand you do not find to many of these """ GEMS """

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
451 reviews 451 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“Best value food in the world?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We are staying at the Amari Vogue and according to Google maps this was pretty close by - yes it was as the crow flies but a little longer due to the jungle in between! The TA comments were consistently great so really needed to try the place out for ourselves.

We were greeted by Gary when we arrived and shown to a lovely table under a wooden canopy. It was already obvious that the surrounding gardens and pools were fantastic and this was proven throughout the evening as we had the opportunity to look round more. Gary and his wife were excellent hosts and made us feel really welcome. All of their staff are really friendly and happy too so it had a lovely atmosphere.

We looked through a hugely comprehensive menu but in the end we asked Gary what he recommended and went with that. We had some excellent crispy crab cakes, a thai spicy prawn salad and some 'clear' spring rolls as our starter and all of them were great and so full of flavour.

I had a duck in red curry sauce for my main course which was so creamy and tasty. The spice level was great and was not over reliant on chillies. My partner had the fried snapper fillet with mango - the flavours in this were fantastic and went well with the crisply fried fish. We both had a portion of crab fired rice which was very good in its own right.

We didn't have room for dessert but we given a slice of pineapple each which was really juicy.

Overall we had a fantastic night and Gary arranged for someone to take us back to our hotel at the end of the evening.

Please note they do not accept credit cards but 1000 to 2000 baht in bank notes will buy you a very nice evening!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frog and Catfish also viewed

Krabi Town, Krabi Province
Krabi Town, Krabi Province
 

Been to Frog and Catfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frog and Catfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.