We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Place i Eat at Twice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Terrace

The Terrace
Moo 2, Khlong Muang, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
+66 75600055
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 23 Restaurants in Nong Thale
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Only Place i Eat at Twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Really enjoyed our two meals here.
Service was always good and the prices were very reasonable.
The place is quite busy with a nice atmosphere.
For us, the standout dish was the Curried Blue Tip Crab.................absolutely divine.
Highly recommend coming here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    60
    26
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Promising yet disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Let's get first thing out of the way - the food is actually good, not excellent, not amazing - plain good. Worst than usual Thai street food, but good for a tourist restaurant.

Let's now discuss the worst part which contributes to 3/4 of the bad mark given - service. People said robotic but they were wrong, it is not robotic it is MOODY. Not all staff mind you just the head waitress but the moods... wow. The pleasant demeanour of her male colleague simply could not compensate. We felt unwelcome, especially this evening when at 9:40pm she stopped us dead in tracks even before stepping off the road - 'kitchen closed, kitchen closed'. The restaurant closes at 10:30.. We wondered if we were welcome.

Other bad points are to do with pricing. Thailand is all about cheap food, full stop. What these guys do is take Sheraton Krabi menu and cut the price in half. Well I am price sensitive and hate paying over the odds. Sheraton Krabi has a lot of overhead, this little hut has just greed.

I love food. I love thai food. I love this country and the hospitality of the people. This place just does not fit in. If the head waitress was not so horrible we would given it a four stars, if her colleague weren't so nice we would have given it 1 star. Shame.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Visited three times in a two week holiday..Great food and good prices.The staff were very freindly and on all three occasions had a lovley greeting .We were staying at the Amari vouge so this was a ten miniute drive in a taxi but worth it..
Please try they deserve to do well.
Thank you Tim Tim and Joesph.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The restaurant is opposite the enterance to the Sheraton in which we were stopping, It has an attractive frontage and inside has a warm cosy feel. which was followed bt a warm welcome. The food was very good and great value for money. if i go back too Krabi i would eat there again

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Edible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have visited this restaurant for lunch and the service was just ok, polite but nothing special. It lacked this wonderful warmth that is felt in many restaurants and street food stands around Thailand.
The food is tasteless. If you are after feeding yourself for the sake of being "full" than go for it. If you are after decent Thai food, go elsewhere.
My meal was 220 Bath which is much more than tastier dishes in the streets of Bangkok or in Bangkok restaurants.
Poor quality of food like many of its neighbours along the same strip. Go to the Sheraton opposite to have some quality. In this part of town, quality comes at a price.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Terrace also viewed

Nong Thale, Krabi Town
Nong Thale, Krabi Town
 
Nong Thale, Krabi Town
 

Been to The Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.