We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cheval Blanc

Le Cheval Blanc
9 Rue du Miroir, Alise-Sainte-Reine, France
03 80 96 01 55
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Queenstown, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Just an amazing meal! Even with a massive language gap (we speak very very little French!) we had such a lovey dinner.

Our only complaint is that we came out too full because we had to try dessert! What a hard problem to have! Lots of little extras at no charge made the night

Well worth a visit, even if you have to travel a bit to get there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    29
    10
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Restaurant Worth a Speical Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I discovered this restaurant by looking through an old Michlein Guide - wanting a good restaurant out "in the countryside." It was denoted as one of those places of "good food and exceptional value." Now Michlein gives it their "Bib" rating and 2 forks. It really deserves a star. They serve traditional burgundian food prepared with the greatest attention to detail in a very pleasant setting. The service is excellent. It remains one of the best restaurant meals we have ever had in a country restaurant. Not expensive. A meal of the same quality would cost twice as much in a Paris restaurant. I will be returning the next time I am in Burgundy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOUILLON, Burgundy
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Régis never fails to delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is one of the best restaurants in Burgundy with correct prices and delightful food which is always beautifully presented. Lucky us as we only live about 20 minutes drive away. On our most recent visit, the Michelin inspector ( a Brit!) had recently visited so Régis awaits his judgement. Fingers crossed that he maintains the 'Bib' that he has held for many years. In our opinion, his standards never vary - that is always high! Well done Régis!
If you are in the area, don't hesitate to pay Angelique & Régis a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

A lovely restaurant in the town where Caesar defeated the Gauls at the Battle of Alesia, everything here is sensational. Even the escargots, prepared according to the traditional Burgundian method, stood out. This beautiful cuisine is available for the price of a Paris bistro, with service that is also perfect in every way.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcey France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Go go and go again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Subject: Auberge du Cheval Blanc, 9 rue du miroir, 21500 Alise-Sainte-Reine
Location: Burgundy, France, Europe
Title: Go go and go again
ID#: 144621637

I have the luck to live about 10 minutes from this wonderful gem of a restaurant so have visited it on many occasions over the past seven years. It has never failed to delight. The dining room is charming and light in the summer and has a huge welcoming fire lit during the colder months. The food from the first amuse-bouche (which arrive whether or not you decide to have an aperitif) to the final desserts and bonbons is always exceptional, perfectly presented, beautifully served, and just so amazing to the palate. There are several choices of menu, which changes during the seasons, with à la carte, a menu de tradition and a menu gourmand. None makes you overeat so the different courses are a continual delight to the palate. Occasionally a small dish of something truly exquisite will be presented "pour patienter" while your meal is being cooked. Always mouth-watering. As other people have mentioned, the chariot de fromage has to be seen to be believed, and then fully sampled as it is not just a massive piece of equipment that requires two to handle it deftly between the tables, but quite incredible in its variety. The wine list is very comprehensive and well priced, but I now leave it to either Madame Angelique Bolâtre or Monsieur le Patron and Chef, Régis Bolâtre himself, to chose them for us - as their knowledge is far greater than mine. We have eaten here on many occasions with friends and family and on three occasions it has just been my husband and me, alone in the restaurant, and we have NEVER felt embarrassed or rushed. We have lunched once (not our forte) which was again superb and different, but dining is our favourite. When we have no reason to celebrate, we bet on something ridiculous and whoever loses pays - and as we only have one account we both win! It is just one of the best places to eat, so if you can get a table after reading all these glowing and well-deserved reviews, do so. The website is www.regis-bolatre.com where you can find lots of other relevant information.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cheval Blanc also viewed

Flavigny-sur-Ozerain, Cote d'Or
 
Flavigny-sur-Ozerain, Cote d'Or
Flavigny-sur-Ozerain, Cote d'Or
 

Been to Le Cheval Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cheval Blanc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.