We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tiger Inn

The Tiger Inn
232 Ashbourne Road, Turnditch DE56 2LH , England
01773 550200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Turnditch
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Food was really good and I especially enjoyed my beef and mushroom pie. Family said they enjoyed the food they had although on the night we went it was national pig day so they had a special menu on and my brother had the hunter pork with BBQ source. He said the sauce was to over powering and that's all he could taste.

Apart from that it was a really good night to celebrate my dad turning 50.

One thing I would say is they needed more staff on that night.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    16
    10
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, hearty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Really enjoyed our lunch here, friendly staff, warm welcoming atmosphere and the food is flavoursome and great value.

I had read a few negative reviews before coming , but thought I'd give it a try. I'm glad I did, we all enjoyed our food and it just goes to show, reviews are not objective they are purely based one persons taste and expectation. I don't profess to speak as a culinary guru, however I can't see anything wrong with this place it's honest, tasty,hearty food in a lovely setting.

I hope to return soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely friendly pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Vistied when staying nearby.
Lovely friendly staff, good quality drinks, charming setting and all in all a very nice pub!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT VENUE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

While staying locally, we booked a table for new years eve after seeing there would be live music later on in the evening, we arrived at 8pm and the place had a great atmosphere and were made to feel very welcome by the lady serving on the bar. We ordered quickly after reading the specials board and both decided on the Barnsley chop which was fantastic! followed by an Eton mess which we shared this was equally as good. The music started around 9.30 although the singer was young and seemed a little nervous had a great voice. All in all we had a great new years eve and would recommend the Tiger to anyone.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“very poor service in half empty restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Had visited this old favourite in the past and booked a table for New Years Eve.
Service was very slow and totally disjointed which was surprising as it was half empty.Waited well over an hour for the main course and even then the meat was served with a wait of 15 minutes for the vegetables resulting in cold meals.

The steak was very nice and tender , the pork was overly fatty and tough. No one asked if our meals were OK and no one seemed interested in us at all.
Desert portions were particularly small.
The pedigree was not too good.

Hopefully with a bit of work the pub will get back to what it was.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tiger Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Tiger Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tiger Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.