We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saved Save
You added 1 Moatside Cottages to your Saves list.
1 & 2 Moatside Cottages
1 & 2 Moatside Cottages
1 & 2 Moatside Cottages
kitchen
Living area in kitchen/diner/living room
Master bedroom
Twin bedroom
Poynings
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacqui H
Cirencester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Perfect Cottage, Ideal for walkers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Our family enjoyed this excellent cottage in a quiet location which is ideal for walkers or cyclists. The cottage was clean , comfortable and had everything you would want and more. We especially enjoyed the cake and watching the ducklings in the moat.
It is close to Brighton but also ideally situated for country walks. We had a lovely meal at the Royal Oak Pub after a walk to Wolstonbury Hill with views over the South Downs. With the Bluebell Steam Railway and National trust gardens close the weekend just was not long enough.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to review your stay with us. We are glad you had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
S5Gue
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a wonderful location ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My family and I stayed here in June 2013 after searching for a holiday cottage near to Brighton. This cottage did not disappoint and far exceded our expectations.

We stayed with our two young children (both under two) as we just wanted a quiet relaxing holiday where the children could play in the garden (under close supervision). No. 1 Moatside certainly provided this for us with the added bonus of being able to go for long, lazy walks admiring the local scenery.

The cottage itself was immaculate, often when we stay in holiday cottages there's usually something that isn't as clean as you'd like. But with this property I would struggle to say that anything was not up to scratch. The property itself has been renovated to a high standard, the furniture was of a good quality (no Ikea in site) and the cleanlines was second to none.

All this with the added bonus that central Brighton is only 15 mins drive away. The best of both worlds, great night life, great shopping yet quiet and tranquil on your return to the cottage.

On top of the pure quality and location of the cottage I particulary liked the fact that upon arrival there was tea, coffee, sugar, condiments, washing up liquid and tablets for the dishwasher etc. The owners had also put a fresh pint of milk in the fridge alongside some bread and butter. And that's not mentioning the homebaked cake as I know this has been mentioned in other reviews (it was lovely thank you). To me, having these small extra on hand upon arrival makes all the difference when staying in a holiday rental and I really can't see why more owners don't do the same.

Overall I couldn't recommend this cottage enough, it was perfect for our visit and with family living close by I would definitely say that we'll be back again soon.

When initially searching for a cottage in the Brighton area, we did feel that the weekly rental was a little more expensive than some other properties. However, upon arriving at the cottage this little fact complety disappeared from our minds and we both agreed that it was well and truely worth the little extra.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location was absolutely tranquil
Liked least: Nothing - it was all great
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
LPfans
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

This is a brilliant cottage in a superb location. It's well equipped, has parking and a shared private drive from the end of the public road. You will need a car, but then this will give you great freedom to travel around the countryside and visit the numerous towns and beauty spots. Andrew Clay's details on how to reach the property and very helpful, and there are comprehensive dossiers on the cottage, equipment and the environs.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: new, clean, well-equipped
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Reflectiv...
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfort in attractive setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The house is carefully designed and well-equipped, and made comfortable and welcoming: from good bathrooms to useful leaflets to home-made scones - and much more. Great walks and countryside all around, and also close to Brighton. We really enjoyed our relaxing home base.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
violethil...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect retreat in a lovingly renovated barn in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We were delighted with the cottage which had been renovated to a very high standard with great care and attention to detail and we felt at home immediately, A lovely touch was the homebaked cake on arrival. We enjoyed sunny breakfasts outside on the terrace overlooking the moat amidst the beautiful grounds with morehens for company. The cottage is situated in an area of outstanding beauty with wonderful walks on your doorstep. A little further afield are many historic houses and gardens. All was perfect and we look forward to returning soon.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: loved the high standard of refurbishment and the beautiful location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
sheenapar...
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant Location and Accomodation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Wonderful service, Andrew and Carol were very welcoming.. You got to stay there just to taste Carol's homebacked cake and jam! Really nice location and the accomodation is home from home..

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The Location and the surrounding area.
Liked least: The travel time!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
johnTonce...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

This was the best cottage we have stayed in. It is very well equipped and the owners have given a great deal of thought to the layout and quality. It has two very nice , en-suite bedrooms, a spacious living/kitchen area and lots of storage space. It was perfect for walking the South Downs. The location is very nice and there are plenty of good places to eat nearby.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$1,033
/ Week
Book this property
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
Owner
Redhouse Farm P
Speaks English
Listed since : Jun 2013
Response Rate: 100 %
Calendar Updated: 7 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing