We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

2 Moatside Cottage

1 & 2 Moatside Cottages
1 & 2 Moatside Cottages
1 & 2 Moatside Cottages
Living area
Twin bedroom
Kitchen/Dining area
Master Bedroom
Poynings
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MrscLeice...
Leicestershire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

I booked this holiday cottage last minute. What a find! It is situated in a very idyllic setting, with the South Downs literally on your doorstep. The fixtures and fittings are exceptional, nothing has been overlooked. The 'extras' that welcomed us; home made scones, preserves, and local honey, along with tea, coffee, sugar, milk, bread and butter, were fully appreciated. The owner also provides toiletries and dishwashing and laundry detergents.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
lab_11
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage - perfect for young children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned home after 3 nights staying in 2 Moatside Cottages and had a fantastic stay. The cottage exceeded our expectations. It was particularly well equipped and it's clear the owners have put thought into the finishings and details. The open plan kitchen, dining area and lounge space was larger than it appeared in the photographs and was plenty of space for a family. The beds were especially comfortable! We liked the addition of the shower/ sink area in the main bedroom. We didn't use the outside space due to the weather but there is seating and a fenced garden area. It is shared with the other cottage. The extra touches such as the cake, jam, bread, butter and milk were really appreciated as were the dishwasher and washing machine powder!

There's nothing negative to say about Moatside Cottages. It is one of the best cottages we have stayed in. The one floor works really well for families with young children as we didn't need to worry about stair gates and we could tend to our baby really easily in the next room in the evening. Both bedrooms are next to each other, we don't always find this is the case with one floor properties.

The cottage is a really good location for Brighton and surrounding areas, we hope to return again in the near future! We will be definitely be recommending Newtimber Holiday Cottages to our friends.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Facilities and cleanliness
Liked least: Hard floors - maybe some more rugs in living space (due to crawling/ walking baby)
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Louise B
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious Cottages in a peaceful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

Myself and 7 friends stayed for a weekend in both Moatside cottages. The cottages are beautiful and both furnished to a high specification. The beds are comfotable, all showers are power showers and everything was spotlessly clean The kitchens are well equipped and all appliances and equipment are of a really high quality. There were homemade lemon drizzle and sponge cakes on arrival that were so good and didn't last long with our hungry group of friends!

We cooked one night in the cottage and the following day we ate out at a local pub, The Royal Oak. The food here was beautiful and really high quality. We walked which took about half an hour. The cottages are fairly remote but we managed to get out and about but if you were wanting to explore the surrounding area a car would be beneficial.
If you just wanted to stay in the cottages there are lots of books, smart tv's so you can get catch up, wifi and i pod docking stations.

The only minor criticism was that a few people in the group said the hot water in the showers was a little sporadic.

All in all a very comfortable stay, the cottages are beautiful and feel very luxurious!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Overall furnishing and decor
Liked least: Hot water in the showers was a little sporadic
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
djsage86
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Well equipped and comfortable cottages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

Seven friends and I rented both Moatside cottages for a three-night stay. Couldn't fault the cottages. They are newly refurbished and kitted out to the highest quality. Great kitchen facilities, comfortable beds and good TVs. Very warm and cosy. The owners had also left us a Victorian sponge and lemon drizzle cake (which didn't last long). Only fault was that the water for the shower could have been hotter - and there aren't too many great walks nearby the cottage.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Modern furnishings
Liked least: Location
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
PerthJuli...
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Peaceful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Moatside cottages have only opened this year and were originally horse stables. The renovation has been done to a very high standard. We had everything we required and the owner even baked us a cake! It is a beautiful peaceful location with lots of great walks on the doorstep. Henfield the closest village is a 10 minute drive away and has everything you will need. We will definitely stay again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
blackcat4...
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a very comfortable cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

we have stayed in lots of cottages over a number of years, we found this one very well equipped, no expense had been spared in the furnishing and decor, it was very peaceful, beautiful grounds.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: bathroom, showers, furnishing
Liked least: outside space was very close to next door cottage, if another family was staying privacy would have been difficult
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
EIBC_88
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fully Equipped - there's not one thing they've not thought of - Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We booked this for a week for a wedding nearby at Pyecombe, Pangdean Barn. We took my parents, us and our toddler. The booking was fast and efficient. The Property is a newly converted stable block in the grounds of a moated house. It's separate and has privacy away from the owners' house. Wonderful walks right from the door, in to the wood and around the grounds - all very well detailed in the inhouse Information brochure. The Information Brochure is the most uptodate and detailed of any we've ever seen, and we've rented a lot of houses. It is located about a mile from the A23 but you hear absolutely no noise at all, from there you can do Brighton very easily and other places.
The garden is shared, but each has their own seating area - there were others there but they didn't mind at all that our son wanted to play football.
The cottage is very well thought out, incredibly well equipped for self-catering and the Owners were very responsive to a few unforseen hiccups along the way (plug stuck in sink) were sorted out immediately.
Cleaning liquid, washing powder, dishwasher tablets and sponges etc were all provided enough for the entire stay - rare to find and such a thoughtful idea. Attention to detail is fabulous.
Wonderful assortment of essentials on arrival - tea, coffee, butter, bread and the orange cake ... rent this cottage immediately!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$716
/ Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Redhouse Farm P
Speaks English
Listed since : Aug 2009
Response Rate: 100 %
Calendar Updated: 6 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing