We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it Love it Love it ......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Copper Horse

The Copper Horse
Main Street | Seamer, Seamer, Scarborough YO12 4RF, England
+44 1723 862029
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Seamer
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $36
Cuisines: Bar, British, English, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Copper Horse is proud of its reputation of being one of the best places to eat. Our creative Evening menu features a variety of Traditional and Modern English Classic dishes together with Seasonal Daily Specials, and we offer Lite Bites for Lunch, Children's and Gluten Free menus, all packed with local and regional produce that showcases the best of Yorkshire food. Traditional Sunday Lunch with a choice of Roasted Meats with all the trimmings are served every week.
bolton
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Love it Love it Love it ......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Another return visit to the lovely COPPER HORSE ! Can't keep away from this resturant whenever we are staying at nearby Scarborough . Food always delicious and good choice of wines to go with it . Very cosy atmosphere and decor candles everywhere . Just a pity we don't live local because we would never be away !!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear your time with us has been thoroughly enjoyable, we strive on giving you the best service. Thanks again and we hope to see you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    72
    44
    28
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yours Faithfully!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

On Sunday evening 25th August 2013 we joined friends at the Copper Horse for a meal. We relied on them to choose a restaurant as we were visitors to the area. The atmosphere was spot on - relaxing, the staff were firendly and attentive but not pushy. We need to return to take in the decor on the walls alone! The food was well presented, and the right serving temperature. We left in good spirits and will return. Good value for money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear your time with us has been thoroughly enjoyable, we strive on giving you the best service. Thanks again and we hope to see you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food we had the swordfish it was cooked to perfection. Enjoyed looking at the old photos of presenters it took us back to our youth! The only down side was I have a dairy intolerance and was not offered an alternative pudding. Children very welcome and good food for them too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear your time with us has been thoroughly enjoyable, we strive on giving you the best service. Thanks again and we hope to see you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pretentious and not value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Ordered steak pie, it was burnt, when I complained was told that this was made on the premises. If it is they need to change the chef, don't go if you want friendly staff

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your constructive comments of your visit to our restaurant, I am sorry you did not enjoy your meal with us, all our dishes are made here on the premises by our talented kitchen team. If on this occasion we made an error in service then all I can do is apologise for this. Our front of house staff are trained in customer standards so it upsets me that you think they were not helpful in this matter. Once again thank you for your feedback, we have taken your comments and board and will use them to better ourselves as a business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were staying at a nearby hotel. We had been out walking and wanted some good food to finish off a lovely day. We stopped in Seamer village as there were several places serving food. The Copper Horse had the most customers - usually a good sign so we went in.
The landlady gave us an immediate welcome and showed us to a table.
The food was great - really fresh and tasty and a good choice on the menu and specials board.
The staff were very friendly and service was good.
Many thanks

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Manager at The Copper Horse, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear your time with us has been thoroughly enjoyable, we strive on giving you the best service. Thanks again and we hope to see you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Copper Horse also viewed

Seamer, Scarborough
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Copper Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Copper Horse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.