We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marong Family Hotel

Marong Family Hotel
26 High Street, Marong, Victoria, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Marong
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

First time At Marong Family Pub but certainly won't be our last! Outstanding meal and amazing service. We will certainly be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cohuna, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good place for a Work Function”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had our Christmas break up at the Marong Family Hotel, we booked the outdoor area ( there was about 50 of us)which I thought was great, room for the kids to run around and nice atmosphere for a November evening.
Plenty of room for everyone, nice area to sit and talk as well as the well kept garden and fountain.
Meals were well presented ,tasty and reasonably priced. Visited again in early January 2014 came in with 5 minutes to spare before the kitchen closed and they were helpful and cooked us our meal again good (ordered the chefs platter for a second time and honestly it was better the first time around but not sure if we got what we got as we were so late in the day).
As others have commented we ate indoors the second visit and there were a couple of guys in the bar and they were swearing and quite loudly too, this was a little annoying and I could have done without listening to that. However other than the obnoxious blokes in the bar I would recommend and go back there again anytime....

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We had tea at this amazing restaurant on 6/12/13. I give the meals and friendly service 100/100!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

What a perfect meal! The best we hav ever had evrything was so fresh and tasted absolutely divine! We had salt and pepper calamari which was so tender it melted in your mouth, The vegetarian option of crumbed haloumi with a very exotic salad was gorgeous and to top it off the sticky date pudding was to die for!!! We will be telling everyone we know about this gem!!! Thanks for providing fantastic prompt and friendly service with a smile!!! We will definitely be back!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fun and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Great pub near Bendigo. Very rustic and typical of an Aussie pub. Fun rowdy bar area and then a very nice restaurant and garden area. Serving up very reasonable and delicious cuisine. Also able to be the excellent Connor Park Winery products there which I strongly recommended. Try the Shiraz.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The hotel has retained an old-style public bar welcoming locals and truck drivers for a beer & bar-meal while providing a space for finer dining. There is plenty of space inside and out. The meals were excellent, well prepared seafood crepe and lamb pilaf followed by brandy snap basket and pavlova mess (which was a bit over-chewy). Well worth the visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marong Family Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marong Family Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.