We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer open and SAD that it's not.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ozark Medieval Fortress

Ozark Medieval Fortress
1671 Hwy 14 W, Lead Hill, AR 72644
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 attractions in Lead Hill
Type: Castles
Attraction Details
Harrison, Arkansas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“No longer open and SAD that it's not.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I went with my child on a field trip for school. Not knowing what we were about to discover, the trip was way worth it. It's been showcased on Larry The Cable Guys show also. It was closed earlier this year by the owner for not enough support from people visiting. So sad.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    1
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately,we too went to visit the fortress only to find it has already shut down and up for sale.
This was prior to the earlier review being posted and although we checked several websites there was no
indication that the castle was no longer operating tours. I think the owners could at least have put some information on their website to that effect. We made a long drive to see it. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, AR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fascinating... but sadly, now closed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I went to the castle, found it completely unlike any tourist experience I'd ever had... but sadly, financial woes have beset the castle and it is now closed. According to a blog post at Arkansas Times, it is unlikely to reopen unless a new investor or owner surfaces... and how likely is that, now that it's just sitting up there with no employees, no advertising, and no income?

It was amazing, educational, odd, and unique... but you missed it.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WALL BUILDERS WAS AMAZING...YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

My husband and I took our son and grandson to visit the Ozark Medieval Fortress and although I did not check out the reviews before we purchased tickets, some are worth reading but most are very judgmental in my opinion, they seem to forget that back then it took longer to do just about everything and the whole idea for the castle is... to build it the way it would have been built way back then. I originally just purchased tickets for the tour and had noticed the "Wall Builders" option and will say the cost slowed my decision some but our son is an Medieval fan in so many ways and being he hardly ever asks for anything and had showed interest in the "Wall Builder" we decided to chance it and go for it. Well we are very pleased with our tour and our "Wall Builder" experience. I would recommend it to all who are interested in the past, present & future history....sure it may look like they are not progressing very quickly but come on guys they aren't using any tools or machinery unless it was used back then so its going to take much longer... If you decide to take the "Wall Builder" for a spin .....I'll give you a head's up here..... maybe we were naive or lost I don't know but we thought that it would be something like we would tell them what we wanted on stone and get some kind of map telling us were it should be etc....... NOT .... MUCH BETTER .....we went through tour with James and like the other reviews stated he is very informative and we learned so much and that place would be lost without him. After tour we got to check out the town and castle in the making WOW...we were taken to the wall for our stone and we learned that our son who we were getting this for got to actually carve his marking in the stone himself once they taught him how to carve into the stone he was on his way, he had an idea what he wanted and started carving.... it turned out really well....we thought that would be it.. that the masons would set stone but NOT... our son got to actually set it and he was just thrilled. The experience is what your buying here not the tour... We can't wait to go back over the years to watch the progress of this "HISTORY IN THE MAKING" this will be here for many many years.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Indiana
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Don't Let the First View Fool You”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

The Ozark Medieval Fortress is the site of a real castle being built using Medieval methods. It began in 2009. It is scheduled to be finished in 2030. A costumed guide met us and took us on a tour to the castle construction site all the while telling us about the Medieval period. On the site we were able to talk with the stone masons and stone worker and watch them split and set large blocks of limestone by hand. We also spoke with a weaver in her open-air hut. She was so joyful sharing her craft. We learned about Medieval gardening from the woman tending the garden remnants (It was November and the roaming goats and sheep were eating the leftover plants.). There were also 2 rope-makers. A school group was visiting so we got to watch the staff's interactions with them. Every single person we spoke to was in costume, an artisan of their Medieval craft, extremely knowledgeable, and dedicated to making the site as realistically Medieval as possible. Be sure to talk with them or you will miss a great deal. The construction site there is rough terrain strewn with rock, so if one is unsteady on the feet or using a stroller, it would not be wise to go to down into it. It can be viewed from afar. The other dirt paths are easy hiking through a wooded area. There is a gift shop with Medieval items, books, and souvenirs. When we first approached the site we were a little uneasy that maybe the admission price was not worth it. The place is not fancy. But after spending 2-3 hours there, we felt we had seen something very unique. Don't let the first view fool you.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ozark Medieval Fortress also viewed

 

Been to Ozark Medieval Fortress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ozark Medieval Fortress, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ozark Medieval Fortress to your Saves list