We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Haven in Kerala” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marari Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Marari Villas to your Saves list
Marari Villas
Pollathai P.O, Mararikulam 688567, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Heraklion, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Haven in Kerala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were at the end of a tour which was exciting but tiring and we were glad to unpack for five days. We stayed in Hibiscus Villa and found it to be one of the best and most relaxing places we had visited. The garden and the pool which are your own are very private. The food was excellent and was served to us in our garden. The sound of the birds and the music from the church all added to the atmosphere. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    13
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
111
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had 3 nights in Hibiscus Villa followed by 4 nights in Orchid Villa. Hard to choose as both great but we liked Orchid because of the large window overlooking the pool and the front garden with chairs and a fan. Both have outside toilets and showers with lovely plants growing in them.

There was nobody else there so we had 5 staff to ourselves!
The staff and service are first rate. Shan, the host, and Rajesh, the chef, are fantastic.Olga and Rupert run the whole show and are lovely. There are no other restaurants close by or indeed anything much but this added to the restful isolation. Meals are taken in your own garden and you will not see other guests.We had planned to do self-catering but having sampled the food this thought went straight out of the window. We went to the local market with Rajesh one day and had a cooking course in the evening with him which we enjoyed immensely. Some reviewers have commented on the small breakfasts - we did not find this at all - we had, for example, fruit, pancakes (fabulous!); eggs and toast - as much as you wanted! There is a weekly cycle of different dinner choices so you are never bored with the food which is both Indian and continental.

The villas are surrounded by coconut palms and banana trees.

I did use the free cycle and toured the area a few times.

The villas are 4 minutes walk to the beach which is deserted except for your own sunbeds and umbrella set up by Benjamin when you want them. You have to remember that the beach has no facilities and does have local fishermen who defaecate in front of you in the sand and you do have to be careful where you tread. We walked along the beach each day; went to the private pool afterwards and the beach at the end of the afternoon when it was cooler. It was fascinating watching the fishermen land their catch and auction it on the beach.

We loved the whole week of doing very little at the end of a long trip round India. I can see that the isolation might not suit everyone but it was perfect for us.

I stocked up on beer and wine on the way as it is considerably cheaper than that on offer in the villas (usual hotel prices). You could easily take the tuk-tuk to the local liquor shop to buy some.

Do not be put off by the road and houses on arrival as you are in a residential area. The locals we met were very pleasant. The only annoyance was if they set a fire going which sometimes smelled in the garden but a small price to pay for the bliss of being there. Laundry was cheaply done and Tincy also kept our rooms looking lovely.

We would definitely go back - it is probably the best experience we have had in our travels across many countries.

Room Tip: Orchid and Hibiscus have private pools but no sea views like Palm villas. We loved the pool - Orchid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga O, Manager at Marari Villas, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
A big Thank you from all of us at Marari Villas for the lovely review and hope it will be a great help for all of our viewers around the world. If you're looking for an Indian village atmosphere with local sounds and smells and hardly a tourist in sight, this is the place. We look forward to welcoming you back here again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Our whole trip was worked around the only 4 days I could find available - and it did not disappoint.
The villas was very well equipped with everything you could need - even down to a sunhat!

The staff were lovely, the food delicious and the whole area so peaceful and relaxing. We took some lovely long walks, chilled by the pool and generally re-charged our batteries.

It was bliss.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I booked the Orchid Cottage at Marari Villas months in advance as we wanted to stay over New Year and I knew it would get booked up quickly seeing as the property is only small. We booked our stay via email as well as arranging a couple of tours and an airport drop off. If you plan to arrive on your own, they can send you very detailed instructions on how to get to the villas which helped us a lot and we found the place easily.

On arrival we were given welcome drinks and had a chat with the lovely Rupert and Olga and then got settled into our room. My husband didn’t know anything about the accommodation as I’d booked it all myself so he was extremely surprised and over the moon to find that, not only was our cottage absolutely gorgeous, but we also had our own private pool!

The cottage was just how I imagined it would be but even better when we were actually there. The room was beautifully decorated with a huge soft bed with flowers scattered over it, a kitchen area stacked full of drinks and free water, and a large TV with a desk full of DVDs and books. There was also a little traveller goody selection of mobile phone and SIM card, sun cream and insect repellent (which came in very handy) and this just shows how much attention to detail they go to to make their guests happy.

I loved the outside bathroom with its open roof where plants and the occasional lizard joined us as we were showering or cleaning our teeth! Although showering in the open air felt a little strange at first, no one can see you over the wall and it turned out to be quite exhilarating!

Our garden was beautiful with sun loungers, hammocks, a cute dining area where we would eat our meals by candlelight and a private pool that was big enough to do some short lengths in in the morning. It was absolute bliss!

Not only was the place wonderful but so were the staff. We had our own villa host, Shan, who was there whenever we rang a little bell to get whatever we needed, from food and drink to arranging a tour and getting us an ironing board. I felt a bit bad ringing the bell at first but Shan was always lovely and friendly and eager to help us out. We also had a personal chef, Rajesh, who rustled us up an amazing selection of food from the menu every day. Tell them early on what you want to eat as everything is freshly prepared so they need to know in advance with some dishes. I can’t tell you how amazing the food was. I tried a range of dishes and it just seemed to get better every time. Make sure you try the pancakes for breakfast and the thali or fish for dinner. It was South Indian cuisine at its very best. Delicious!

Benjamin, the beach attendant, was also very friendly and would chat to us on the beach where we had our own private sandy area away from the local fishermen with sun loungers and hammocks.

On New Year’s Eve we had a barefoot beach BBQ with the other guests and the staff, and it was one of the most memorable New Year’s I’ve ever had with more delicious food, champagne, Indian drummers and dancers, fireworks and floating lanterns.

I’m hoping to return again as soon as possible and will be bringing all the family with me so they can experience the paradise that is Marari Villas. I honestly can’t recommend this place enough; it is not only the best place we stayed in India, it is the best place we have ever stayed! Complete paradise!

Room Tip: Orchid and Hibiscus Cottages both have private pools and Palm Villas doesn't have a pool but is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga O, Manager at Marari Villas, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
A big thank you for writing such a lovely review. We work incredibly hard to provide a special experience for our guests, but its seriously worth the effort, as the wonderful people we have staying with us makes this the best place in the world to call work! We look forward welcoming you and your family back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

There are hardly words to express the wonder of this place. It is an oasis of beauty and peace, especially after the hubbub of the towns. Rupert and Olja could not be more considerate and nothing is too much trouble. The staff are wonderful and food absolutely delicious, and presented beautifully. As an elderly woman travelling alone, I felt completely secure. I stayed in a beach side cottage, and opened my doors straight onto the beach each morning to watch the pretty fishing boats coming in and the wonderful sunsets each evening.Could lie in a hammock or on comfortable loungers, eat when I wished, or share with other guests if I wanted company. Was able to have great yoga sessions looking out to the odeon, and visit local crafts. 5* plus!

Room Tip: You can choose a cottage with pool,short walk to beach, or one opening onto beach..all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

My wife joined me after I had visited Kerala on business. I stayed in 3 other hotels and locations and this was leagues ahead of everywhere else I stayed. We had 5 days in one of the most stunning locations in the very beautiful state of Kerala. The owners and the staff are very professional, courteous and friendly. The beach is still a traditional fisherman's beach and therefore totally unspoilt by commercialisation. If you want a rammed busy beach with bars and sports you are looking in the wrong place. If you want beautiful deserted palm lined golden sand, warm seas and very few people then pick this location. Marari has been for hundreds of years and is still in use by the native Malayan fishermen and it's their livelihood that we as visitors need to respect. There is a busy beach fish market a mile down the beach that is amazing to see in action. But do expect the unexpected as the fishermen do occasionally use the beach shoreline as a toilet! We take things for granted like indoor plumbing but if you are a fishermen earning less per day than we pay for a bottle of wine with a meal priorities are very different. We will be going back and I will be adding this location as part of the itinerary I take clients too when I visit Kerala on business.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We spent the last 2 nights of our Kerala holiday at Hibiscus Cottage and our stay was a wonderfully relaxing way to end what had been a great holiday. The villa is well designed and very well appointed, the managers have thought of everything for the guest's comfort. The small enclosed garden with plunge pool is a bonus. Most of all the service provided by the staff is exceptional, always on hand whether to provide catering at the villa or to accompany you on the nearby beautiful beach (mainly deserted apart from local fishermen and children). There is an extensive menu and the meals we had were all very good indeed.
John & Sue Darby ,Edgbaston, Birmingham,UK.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marari Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marari Villas

Address: Pollathai P.O, Mararikulam 688567, India
Location: India > Kerala > Mararikulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Mararikulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marari Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marari Villas Kerala/Mararikulam, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marari Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.