We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little peaceful find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marari Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Marari Villas to your Saves list
Marari Villas
Pollathai P.O, Mararikulam 688567, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A little peaceful find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Marari villas was such a wonderful find, peaceful and quiet with our own chef to cook whatever we wish for along with the flexibility to cook for ourselves should we choose. A kitchen along with a large well stocked fridge and decent coffee was particularly welcome and the pool just outside the bedroom provided for all our needs. Added to which a five minute walk to the beach should we feel the need for excercise! If you want peace and quiet, good food and comfortable surroundings look no further

Room Tip: Only two to choose from!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    13
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
112
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights, the last of our Kerala holidays, in room 3 of Palm Villa. What an idyllic way to end a holiday. The welcome was great (a mint lime cooling drink) the accmmodation was perfect and the food was mouth watering. We visited the local fish market with the chef and chose our fish for the evening barbecue. Fantastic value for money, expertly cooked. The sea waves were too big for us so we just lay on our hammocks. Regrettably we had a 5am start on our last morning, my 'phone alarm failed to go off but fortunately Rupert was around to wake us in time for our car. He and Olga are a delightful couple.

Room Tip: Depending on whether you want to be directly on the beach or a few walks back from it, is your choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed at Palm Villa with my daughter for 3 days in January and would highly recommend it. The villa is right on the beach which is very rare, it is nicely decorated and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and it was very relaxing to soak up the sun on the loungers in the small garden and cool off with a swim in the warm sea. Marari beach is stunning and totally deserted. Although Marari Villas doesnt have the facilities of the large hotels they can arrange massages at the nearby Marari beach hotel and the sea is so warm and enjoyable to swim in that you dont miss having a swimming pool. Rupert and Olga were the nicest and most helpful owners - nothing was too much trouble for them. I have stayed in many beach hotels and villas round the world and Marari Villas is definitely one of the best

Room Tip: The room on the left hand side of the villa is the largest and very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was the very best part of a one month trip in India. The welcome was wonderful and the staff looked after us perfectly and on top of that the food was delicious. What else is there you could wish for. Five stars.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in the Orchid cottage for a couple of days at the end of week-long trip to Kerala and it was the perfect way to end the vacation. The beach is only a short walk away from the cottages. The food was excellent. We are already dreaming on going back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed in Orchid cottage -perfect for 2 people who wanted to relax after a gruelling 3 week's touring.It is a bit 70s Habitat with one red wall and pine
furniture [the cottage next door looked more stylish] but is perfectly comfortable,quiet and private with its own plunge pool. I liked the information file which gave all the information a guest could need- something I found lacking in most of India.There was also a mobile phone pre loaded with useful numbers [ english speaking tuk-tuk drivers etc.This is a brilliant idea.
The staff are marvellous. Shan is the perfect houseman- charmingly efficient, while Rajesh is a wonderful cook.Rupert and Olga were the perfect managers- friendly and helpful without being obtrusive.
Perfect if you don't want a resort, but want somewhere low key, private and quiet with great service and a tropical beach a short walk away.
[Don't miss the fishing fleet leaving at sunset and returning at sunset-a photographer's dream.]

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a fantastic few days staying at the Palm Villa which is right on to the beach.
The villa is beautifully designed and finished, luxurious but in a comfortable way.
The staff are really welcoming - we enjoyed talking to Suresh who was always available to help or give advise, and Jijo is a wonderful chef. The owners (Rupert and Olga) make an effort to meet every guest to make sure their stay is as good as possible.
I would recommend visiting this beach asap before too many other people catch on to it and you have to share the beautiful beach with other tourists!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marari Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marari Villas

Address: Pollathai P.O, Mararikulam 688567, India
Location: India > Kerala > Mararikulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Mararikulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Marari Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marari Villas Kerala/Mararikulam, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marari Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.