We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis with very personalized service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Valeria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Valeria to your Saves list
Casa Valeria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Dr. Rosen # 28 | Sosua Domincan Republic, Sosua 57000 Sosua El Batey, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
B.Y.O.W. + 1st Jan dinner
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Sosua
Atlanta, GA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An oasis with very personalized service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

My family and I loved this beautiful, quiet, and friendly hotel and its staff. With its clean, relaxing pool surrounded by lush vegetation, Casa Valeria felt like an oasis to us. This was the first time my Mom and I had been to the Caribbean, and we felt very welcome and well taken care of. We stayed at Casa Valeria for a week, ending on August 2, 2008.

Even before our trip we got a very good impression of the place as the owners replied to my emails promptly and thoroughly. We too had read all the TripAdvisor comments before our trip, and can concur that the owners of the hotel are really as helpful as the reviews suggest. I even needed someone to help me pick up my passport from an embassy in Santo Domingo (an 8-hour trip roundtrip!), and Arien arranged someone to help me out. I felt that there was never a question that the owners or another staff member did not help me resolve!

The location of the hotel is ideal--just a 10-minute walk to the beach, and near the main restaurants, etc. It's very quiet during the night, so we all (a 6-person group) slept very well.

In sum, I think the best features of this hotel are: comfort and relaxed atmosphere, the pool, friendliness of staff, location, and quietness. I think this is an awesome hotel to stay at, whether traveling with kids, friends, or by yourself!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    52
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
19
69
79
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hunter, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

This is a first for me. I have never felt the need to write a "fan letter" before. But the excellence of this small hotel simply must be acknowledged. Casa Valeria was recomended to me by a friend and I booked my stay from their web site. I was pleasantly surprised to be contacted through personal e-mail by the proprietor. This set the tone for the entire stay. Personal sincere service is the hallmark of this friendly, intimate oasis.

But the excellence does not stop there. My room was clean and fully functional. Maid service/valet service as quietly efficient as any Ritz Carlton or Fairmont Hotel I have stayed in on corporate trips. Each room has its own private veranda overlooking the central pool area.(My favorite place for morning coffee and newspaper.) The restaurant (open to the public) clearly dispenses some of the best dinners in the Carribean. It's not often one looks forward to the next "hotel meal" of the day, but that was certainly the case for me during my entire ten day stay.

Over the course of those ten days I came in contact with not only the proprietor Arien and his wife Diana Vlogtman but all of the hotel and restaurant staff. The friendly,courteous, sincerity evident in my first encounter with managment is consistantly displayed by all in their employ. This is the stuff of not only fond memories but lasting friendships as well.

Other reviewers have accurately mentioned the convienient central location, security, and quiet surroundings. I concur but will try not to duplicate the reviews of others.

Suffice it to say: if an All Inclusive Resort sounds more like a prison sentence than a vacation to you, than this little gem of a hotel is your lush tropical Eden.

  • Liked — Restaurant above all...but everything
  • Disliked — Never come off a vacation cold turkey!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New york
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

Let's start out by saying I am A Frequent traveler and travel often for business. I am picky! Being a New Yorker, born and bred, I expect good service. This hotel and their owner/operators went above and beyond my expectations. Their attention to detail in every aspect of my stay was astounding. My room was cleaned spotless every day. The pool and grounds were imaculate. It was also conveniant to have a bar and restaurant with great food right on the property. We were 1/2 block away from city center and a 5 minute walk to the beach. Perfect. I am already booked for this November with friends and am looking foreword to another week in paradise.

  • Liked — Service
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jokela Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

Our first trip ever to the Dom.rep. (Sosua) and Casa Valeria was amazing! We selected Casa Valeria due to the several positive reviews and were not disappointed at all - quite the opposite. We had high expectations due to the fact that we had long been waiting for this trip and to spend quality time with the family (my sister and mom joined us the next day from our arrival). We were all together 4 adults and 2 teenagers (14 and 15 yrs. boys) and accomodated two rooms at Casa Valeria. Both rooms were very cozy, spacious and functional. The decor is very caribbean/mexican-style; colorful with unique paintings of butterflies and tropical flowers. The beds were firm and supportive and all the linens clean. The room had a fridge where you can keep the after sun lotion cool and drinking water cold.

The bathroom is rather large and the maids made sure we had clean and fluffy towels each day. They even folded out the towels into the artistic "sculptures" such as swans etc. A small - yet very beautiful - gesture to show genuine care and appreciation towards guests.

Also there was a TV in the room and once it went out of order (due to a sudden thunder storm), Arien (one of the owners) quickly took a look at the problem and fixed it.

Casa Valeria is like a little hidden garden hotel surrounded with beautiful flowers and trees. All the 9 (?) rooms are located around the pool which was kept clean from the tree leaves. Arien and Diana (the owners) are keeping busy all day long helping guests and doing it with a smile. You surely feel yourself welcome and free to ask them anything. For example, one day I asked Arien if the waterpark nearby would be open. We had just seen an ad about the place and thought it would be a nice place to visit. Arien used his computer (internet) and phone constantly to find out answers to all of our questions. The web pages of the waterpark had not been updated for ages so Arien suggested he could drive me there to check out the place and see if it was open or not. He did that volunteerly and charged nothing for the service. (The waterpark was closed.)

Casa Valeria has a nice restaurant on-site. The staff of the restaurant is SO friendly and constantly smiling. This was propably the best part of it all; the heartwarming smile of every staff member. Not all of them speak fluent english but it doesn't always require one to know the language if they can speak with their hearts:-) I will miss that smile!

What ever we required at Casa Valeria, our needs were well taken care of. And believe me, we had QUITE A FEW questions! Casa Valeria was exactly what we wanted out of our accomodation. Surely it all depends on what you like, but if you prefer small, cozy, intimate, friendly, safe, clean and quiet resting place, Casa Valeria is an excellent choise. It is the opposite to those multicomplex, all-inclusive, non-personilized chain hotels that would not make you feel special.

  • Liked — The sfaff
  • Disliked — The on-going renovation (did not cause any disturbance to us)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania
1 review
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

I want to share my experience, so nobody will get ripped off again. I was so stupid believing to all those tripadvisor's reviews.
This place is a junk, old dormitory style. There are no nice owners. Basically, what the owner does is spending his time on the Internet to write all those nice reviews about his propriety.
He has to lie just to keep his business going. There is no good deal 50$ a night. For only 15$ a night you can stay at brend new aparthotel in Cabarete, named Sansouci. After I refused to stay there owner did not returned my money back. I booked that nasty place for 2 weeks and lost one week of my deposit. I am very disapointed how some people doing business but it will not last for long. I am reporting owner of this place for fraud, advance fee scheme and not delivery of services.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — costant noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

I booked a week stay in the hotel. I must say I'm a bit conflicted in writing this review. I went with high expectations that of the hotel because of the reviews i read here, but was a bit disappointed.

The pros:
-quaint little place
-For the price, it's good value.
-The owners are super friendly and accommodating and hospitable.
-It's in the heart of Sosua, very easy to find and bars and restaurants are within 5 mins walk.
-A very nice restaurant is around the corner 2 mins walk from casa valeria
-Staff is nice and polite
-24 hr guarded. Daytime by the owners, night time by a guard at the gate. Gate is locked at night, only residents are allowed in.
-small and cozy. <10 rooms in the whole place.
-clean fridge, bathroom, kitchen. clean towels every day.
-feel quite safe
-US $15 cab ride from airport. $6(200 pesos) from cabarete one way.

The cons:
-One of the rooms is being renovated. So construction work starts at 8am and ends at 6pm. i got waken up every morning
-The twin beds do not give enough support to back. The pillows are crappy. I wake up every day with a sore back and neck.
-Might have bugs in some beds. I have at least 10 bug bites on my legs. it's not mosquito bites, but probably some invisible tiny bugs.
-A/C works ok in small room, not in the big ones. at least the fan makes it tolerable.
-room is dark. lights are dim.
-bring your own shampoo and conditioner. only soap and 2 towels are provided.

If you are going kiteboarding, stay somewhere in cabarete instead. You'll hate the commute. If you stay in sosua or might venture to puerto plata and cabarete, this might be a good place in the middle.

I would rather pay $25-75 more to stay at a more comfortable hotel.

  • Liked — The friendliness and accomodating of the owners.
  • Disliked — The bed, the pillow, the bug bites
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

We booked Casa Valeria for part of our honeymoon after reading such positive reviews on tripadvisor.com. This is the best value you can find in Sosua - a quiet, charming place to stay for an EXCELLENT value. Casa Valeria is steps away from Playa Alicia (a quiet beach) and a 10 minute walk from Playa Sosua (the more populated but extremely beautiful beach). The owners - Arien & Diana - were extremely accomodating and helped my husband & I take care of everything we needed to. We also had breakfast there every morning and the food there was fresh & simple. this is a great find, but make sure you book early - we wanted to stay an extra night, but they are booked almost year round!

  • Liked — Location & value
  • Disliked — room tended to get hot with only one small a/c unit
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Valeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Valeria

Address: Calle Dr. Rosen # 28 | Sosua Domincan Republic, Sosua 57000 Sosua El Batey, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sosua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Valeria 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Sosua, on the North coast of the Domincan Republic, in a quiet street connected to two main roads, at the border of the centre of Sosua's nightlife with many restaurants and bars, only 5 minutes walk from the gorgeous bay and beach of Sosua, you will find Hotel, Restaurant & Bar "Casa Valeria".The Hacienda style hotel is situated in one of the most central but yet quiet spots of Sosua. The atmosphere is best described as "relaxed". Harmony, simplicity and respect for our guests are our most imported issues. "Casa Valeria" is the perfect place for you quiet holiday in lively city. The nine hotel rooms and studio's in the around the pool build cottages are equipped with the all the desired comfort. In our restaurant you can enjoy your breakfast in the morning and our chef will prepare you best dishes for dinner. The menu consist a large variety of international dishes and will change with the seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Valeria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Valeria Sosua
Casa Valeria Hotel Sosua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Valeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.