We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY NICE HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added New Garden Hotel to your Saves list
New Garden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/Dr. Rosen #32 | El Batey, Sosua, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Sosua
Clinton, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“VERY NICE HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

KING Pablo from Washington D.C.

I recently stayed at new garden for 7 amazing days!! From the time i checked in to the time i left they were very accomodating to my needs. The staff was kind and friendly and always greeted me with a smile while they helped me. 2 blocks from the action, food was excellent, pool area and bar was off the chain and tight security. I rented a room in the gold wing nice size and the air was mucho frio which is very important to us americans. The owner was cool and always avaible for any problems i may have had. Overall you cant go wrong!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eia75, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at New Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Google Translation
Buon giorno.
Vogliamo ringraziarLa per la su visita e per la bella relazione scritta.
Nell'attesa di riaverLa presto fra i nostri ospiti,
porgiamo i nostri più cordiali saluti.

NEW GARDEN HOTEL STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    25
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
3
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I'll start off by saying I'm a bit of a hotel snob, so take what i say with a grain of salt. That being said, I'd NEVER stay at a place like this in the US, or come to the New Garden as a couple or family. I spent the first hour in the room spraying down the walls, sheets, room with OFF! as i got bitten by every tropical bug imaginable. The TV was a tiny 13in and the shower was this tiny little stall that never seemed to get hot. This place is what I imagine a Motel 5 to be like. its a 2Star by US standards.
For the positives, It is very central, It had a working ac (which i heard isnt the case at all hotels in the city) has a friendly staff, good food (especially the lobster pasta), and is perfect for the single guy who came here for what Sosua is synonymous for. At $60 bucks a night, I felt like i stayed there for next to free.
My advice, as long as you know what it is, you'll be happy you came. If you read the reviews, thinking you're going to walk into a $60 a night 4 star resort, you'll be sorely mistaken.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Owner is a very customer conscience business man.He went above and beyond to help make our stay a success. His staff is a excellent professional group that can deal with most of your issues.Thumbs up and I plan to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eia75, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at New Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Google Translation
Buon giorno.
Vogliamo ringraziarLa per la su visita e per la bella relazione scritta.
Nell'attesa di riaverLa presto fra i nostri ospiti,
porgiamo i nostri più cordiali saluti.

NEW GARDEN HOTEL STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The breakfast is first class, the staff is very helpful, and sweet. the beach is semi-private, and a two block walk. Jose Miguel, Migaleana, Martin, AL, jose junior, and wendy are an awesome staff. great armed Security. great rates, clean icy-cool rooms, the Jacuzzi suites are ultra mordern. your only two blocks from the beach, and two and and a half blocks from Sosua's version of Times Square. Your going to love the in house Restaurant. great Chefs!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eia75, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at New Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Google Translation
Buon giorno.
Vogliamo ringraziarLa per la su visita e per la bella relazione scritta.
Nell'attesa di riaverLa presto fra i nostri ospiti,
porgiamo i nostri più cordiali saluti.

NEW GARDEN HOTEL STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Best place to stay if you are looking value for money. Not only do they provide clean rooms, security, on site pool, restaurant & outdoor bar, but they also allow you a peace of mind to get away from the hustle and bustle of the main street just 1 block over. Taxis are always available outside and the location is by far the best in my opinion. 5 mins away from the beaches, shops, restaurants and the night life is just a stones throw away.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Second and Third Floor have a better view of the Activities that happen in the Court Ya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eia75, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at New Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Google Translation
Buon giorno.
Vogliamo ringraziarLa per la su visita e per la bella relazione scritta.
Nell'attesa di riaverLa presto fra i nostri ospiti,
porgiamo i nostri più cordiali saluti.

NEW GARDEN HOTEL STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosua
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

However, I am not sure where they're getting the picture from that they're showing relative to what the rooms look like but the picture that TripAdvisor is showing has absolutely nothing to do with the new Garden Hotel. Actual rooms are not nearly as nice as the picture (false advertising) the rooms are average in terms of the decor and the power keeps going in and out relative to power outages, But this is still a very nice place to stay. I just don't like the deceitful picture of the room that they show.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eia75, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at New Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Google Translation
Buon giorno.
Vogliamo ringraziarLa per la su visita e per la bella relazione scritta.
Nell'attesa di riaverLa presto fra i nostri ospiti,
porgiamo i nostri più cordiali saluti.

NEW GARDEN HOTEL STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I’ve just spent twelve days at the New Garden. It is very good value for money. The price is US$60 per night in the old wing. I requested a room on the third floor because it is supposed to be more quiet than the lower floors. Unfortunately they gave me a room on the second floor. I did not make an issue about it. However, my only complaint about my stay there is the noise emanating from other residents. Also there was some construction noise from next door and to a lesser extent from within NG itself but this was during the day and not a major issue. Overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Garden Hotel

Address: C/Dr. Rosen #32 | El Batey, Sosua, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Sosua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great hotel located just steps from the beach in Sosua and a few minutes from the international airport of Puerto Plata. Offering a variety of comforts and an excellent restaurant, is the ideal place to spend a wonderful, peaceful and safe holiday in the Dominican Republic alone, with friends or family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your New Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.