We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ground zero” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added New Garden Hotel to your Saves list
New Garden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/Dr. Rosen #32 | El Batey, Sosua, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Sosua
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Ground zero”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I've stayed here a total of 3 times, and it's good for location and you meet a lot of cool people. However, the only things i don't like is the constant bugging and nagging from the girls that sit around the pool area. Also, the bed sheets are like curtains. It's like they ran out of blankets and tore the curtains off the windows and used them as blankets. Very rough and not comfortable. The mini fridge could be bigger, and the TV's...come on New Garden, it's time for flat screens. The price is kind of high, $60 dollars a night. The majority of hotels around Sousa are going for about $40 dollars. The breakfast is ok, not the best in the world like i hear some people saying. I mean it's an average breakfast, eggs, toast, bacon, hashbrowns, no biggie. SOmetimes the weekend crowds come in from New York and really raise a bunch of trouble.
THe pool is very nice, but very cold.
Oh the outside bathroom is WAY better than the bathroom in the room itself! The owner is also very stand offish, i've never said a word to him, nor has he said anything to me. He could definately be a little bit more friendly.

Room Tip: First floor is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    25
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
3
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed at the hotel on recent trip to sosua . The hotel gave a decent breakfast and had adequate amenities. Service is great. They help you get around and went out there way to exchange money. Every thing is walking distance. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eia75, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at New Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Google Translation
Buon giorno.
Vogliamo ringraziarLa per la su visita e per la bella relazione scritta.
Nell'attesa di riaverLa presto fra i nostri ospiti,
porgiamo i nostri più cordiali saluti.

NEW GARDEN HOTEL STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The experience and party is something that can never be found at a 'resort'. New Garden Hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly. Places to eat & drink are around the corner, but the hotel has a full kitchen (breakfast included) and bar also. Security is excellent and no one enters/leaves without ID. Other guests are friendly and the party is inclusive of all gender/age/race, just a really fun hotel and town!! (The 'Beauty Padgent' was well worth the $20 for food, drink, and watching all the chicas!!)

Room Tip: all the rooms are similiar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eia75, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at New Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Google Translation
Buon giorno.
Vogliamo ringraziarLa per la su visita e per la bella relazione scritta.
Nell'attesa di riaverLa presto fra i nostri ospiti,
porgiamo i nostri più cordiali saluti.

NEW GARDEN HOTEL STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

My 2nd time back at new garden and as last it was very nice. Not a 5 star hotel but nice and clean rooms. Everyone is very friendly. The included breakfast was also always fresh and good. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eia75, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at New Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Google Translation
Buon giorno.
Vogliamo ringraziarLa per la su visita e per la bella relazione scritta.
Nell'attesa di riaverLa presto fra i nostri ospiti,
porgiamo i nostri più cordiali saluti.

NEW GARDEN HOTEL STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed here for the 1 st time in July of 2012.....

This by far hands down is the best value for your money! Staff is friendly and they go out of the way to make you feel important and appreciated. Rooms very clean, food is excellent, and the safety on the premises is safe with late night security. Close to all the bars and casino.
I would definitely stay back at his hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eia75, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at New Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Google Translation
Buon giorno.
Vogliamo ringraziarLa per la su visita e per la bella relazione scritta.
Nell'attesa di riaverLa presto fra i nostri ospiti,
porgiamo i nostri più cordiali saluti.

NEW GARDEN HOTEL STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is a good place to stay if you will be hanging out in the Sosua area. Everything you need will be close by :-) trust me ...

The rooms are clean, the AC blows very cold and the staff is super friendly. You also get free breakfast which will fill you up and have you charged up for the day. The beach is just a short walk and the main strip is around the corner from the hotel. oo did I mention..

There are always beautiful women by the pool.. what else could you ask for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eia75, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at New Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Google Translation
Buon giorno.
Vogliamo ringraziarLa per la su visita e per la bella relazione scritta.
Nell'attesa di riaverLa presto fra i nostri ospiti,
porgiamo i nostri più cordiali saluti.

NEW GARDEN HOTEL STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed there in june 2012. Clean rooms, cold a/c,nice size pool,and friendly staff.Free breakfast excellent dinner. Close to beach and main strip.Safes in every room.Would recommend for 1st traveler to the DR.

Room Tip: New wing upper level have best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eia75, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at New Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Google Translation
Buon giorno.
Vogliamo ringraziarLa per la su visita e per la bella relazione scritta.
Nell'attesa di riaverLa presto fra i nostri ospiti,
porgiamo i nostri più cordiali saluti.

NEW GARDEN HOTEL STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Garden Hotel

Address: C/Dr. Rosen #32 | El Batey, Sosua, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Sosua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great hotel located just steps from the beach in Sosua and a few minutes from the international airport of Puerto Plata. Offering a variety of comforts and an excellent restaurant, is the ideal place to spend a wonderful, peaceful and safe holiday in the Dominican Republic alone, with friends or family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your New Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.