We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lap o' luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baia Lounge

Baia Lounge
Calle Bruno Phillip | El Batey, Sosua 57000, Dominican Republic
+(1) 849 816 24 34
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 68 Restaurants in Sosua
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Contemporary, Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sosua, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lap o' luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

A very stylish and chic place right on the water with a drop-dead view. The chef is Chilean, and serves up food that is quite different than the usual Pedro Clisante fare. The mozzarella bar is a nice touch; we shared a very lovely cheese with sun-dried tomoatoes as an appetizer.

The menu is well-chosen, and the wine list is extensive, with many good bottles at reasonable prices. Our entrees were the Angus filet and the osso bucco on saffron risotto, and both were excellent. We shared a dessert sampler and it was perfect. The white chocolate mousse is pretty damn good.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    5
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing location and food!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We came here with a family of 6 to spend the day at the pool and lunch....

The food was amongst the best we had in the Dominican Republic. Ceviche and Tuna tartare were amazingly fresh... They have a great sushi menu as well.

The infinity pool that overlooks Sosua bay is free to use providing you spend about $25 worth per person.

Well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Amazing food at an even more amazing place!! This is what we call " diner with a view"..the staff was very friendly and very professional..it was a wonderful experience

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!! they helped my wedding be the best not just in location but in FOOD!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Where to start, well first off I had booked my wedding in the only boutique hotel in Puerto Plata and had the worst experience. 2 months before my wedding i decide to change the venue. I went to Bahia Lounge before and had the best meals and a great times with the views. So i approached Giancarlo about the possibility of having my wedding there. Not only did i get a response before the 24 hours but all the information very clear so I decided to go forward with the confirmation. The process with them them became enjoyable from the wine tasting to the food tasting up until the wedding. They worked together with my wedding coordinator and made my life so much easier. The day of the wedding of course the bride (me) was late and they quickly made sure my guests were ok. It rained which delayed the wedding and did a great job adjusting to everything make it an enjoyable wait vs a painful one for my guests. the finger foods were gourmet my guests enjoyed them all. The service was devine and even though it was 150 guests we were able to have 5 course meal that was PERFECT!!!! the temperature the taste timing everything hats off because a plated dinner for 150 guest is not easy and my wedding food was the best wedding food my guest have ever had. The following day instead of a brunch i had a Chic BBQ/ pool party for all my guests that came from (Boston, Alabama, Atlanta, Florida, California, Washington D.C, New york, London, Jamaica, DR, and even Central America) and was able to please everyone. From Sushi to a grill with all the different kinds of cuts, salads, an organic pork on a stick everything to please all crowds. So all I can say is Thank you for making my wedding one of the most epic weddings anyone that attended my wedding has gone to. If you are ever in Sosua/ puerto plata I highly recommend you go and taste for yourself whether its the fresh sashimi or the steaks and other fine dinning its worth the trip. And if you are looking for a place to have an event look no further to avoid yourself the pain and check out Bahia Lounge. Again that you folks from The ocean Club I will definitely be back. (wedding date april 26, 2014)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escalada
1 review
“Treated Like CRAP!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Two weeks prior to valentines day I made a reservation for valentines dinner - I MADE THE RESERVATION IN PERSON. When my girlfriend and I showed up - me in a suit and she in a new dress we were turned away saying they did not have our reservation. The bartender working even recalled the day I was in to make the reservation. They did not even say sorry - just that they were full and could not accommodate us. I have been to restaurants all over the world and have never been treated as badly as I was at this place. I hope the place fails!!!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baia Lounge also viewed

Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
 
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Baia Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baia Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.