We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought it would be better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront

Waterfront
Dr. Rosen Street, Calle Sin Salida | Playa Alicia, Sosua, Dominican Republic
+1 809-571-3024
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 68 Restaurants in Sosua
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Waterfront restaurant is located in one of the best spots of Sosua. Here you can watch the sunset having fresh fish, fresh meat, great pasta, lovely desserts, caribbean drinks, and much more! You can even go to the beach and have your drink/food served there! What else you can ask for? Come and join us!
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Thought it would be better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

With all the great restaurants in the area my wife and I assumed the waterfront restaurant would be one of the top places to go especially with the beautiful view it has to offer but we were wrong. We went on two separate occasions 1st was just for some drink everything went good te following night we went for dinner that when the trouble started . My wife ordered pasta with chicken and the waiter didn't mention anything about bacon bits I pasta so when it arrived it smelled funny but it was dark outside and we couldn't see so I flashed a light from my phone and see bacon, we told the waiter to plz make a new one with no bacon they said sure and apologized next thing you know they hand picked the bacon out of the pasta brang it back to table and you can see there was still small pieces of bacon in it. That right there made us feel disgusted ...that was our experience in the waterfront restaurant we hope others don't go threw what we did that night .. One thing we had great expierences in bailyes la pundilla which has a better view in my opinion .. Ok we hope this review will help others Double check with waiter when you order here

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sosua, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Dominican night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We ordered real Dominican food for a special night with friends, something what is not at the daily menu and the restaurant made this evening a great job. Dominican entres and main course with fish, chicken, goat, bananas, yuca, rice, beans, salads...
In Waterfront you could order a special food night from around the world, they'll make you happy!
The location, directly at the beach with perfect views to the ocean, the mountain and the sunset, is one of the best in town. I am going to this restaurant for 20 years.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Have been there 2012 &2013
Not crowded either time
Food good
Sunset/beach setting
Good value for money

D.R. government added a 16% tax
Cant blame restaurant

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosua, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Views at the Waterfront”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Great views, good food, but a little expensive. Outdoor seating with a great view of the beach and ocean. Nice for couples, families or a place to meet friends.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Restaurant only”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Cats, bugs, poor food, service just OK. Don't waste your money!!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis P, Owner at Waterfront, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Boyd,

I am sorry for your bad experience in our restaurant. Let us have the opportunity to serve you as you deserve. Next time you are here let me know and you will not regret.

Kind regards,

Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront also viewed

Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
 
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.