We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE PLACE!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Topacio Azul Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Topacio Azul Resort to your Saves list
Topacio Azul Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Calle Dr. Alejo Martinez 1 | El Batey, Sosua, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Sosua
Bastrop, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE PLACE!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

this place is a brother in disguise dirty horrilbe food nasty men sitting in waiting area viewing menus of young girls on screen while we check in. parties all night VIP area is for prostitution - not a good place for anyone with morals to stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    103
    63
    59
    86
See reviews for
37
95
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Run down main building and rooms. A/C quit many times during the night. Cheap liquor ,and beer poured from a large bottle. I have had better Dominican food in Atlanta. Many ,many stairs, no working elevators.Very friendly helpful staff. No direct beach access. Nothing to do there WiFi didn't work most of the time I was there, and then only in the lobby area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I don't even know where to begin with this one... Anybody who has anything positive to say about this property - other than feeling horribly sorry for those desperate enough to have to be employed there - have got some drastically low standards. This place deserves to be condemned. My family booked this as a last-minute getaway through RCI. I had previously read the reviews on Trip Advisor.Let me confirm something... the doors ARE locked. There ARE huge chains around the doors. The cab driver will divert you to the Victorian House entrance, which looks quite quaint as soon as you pull up. BEWARE!!! That is the very last time you'll feel safe. We got completely scammed into getting the "all-inclusive meal package", told that it was mandatory, to the tune of $60 per person, per day. We had requested a 2-bedroom suite with full kitchen... what we got was a disgusting room with two twin beds, sketchy electrical power, a microwave straight out of the garbage bin, no smoke detector, broken door locks... and the list goes on. We thought we might be able to salvage something, so went for a walk around the pool and the grounds... BROKEN GLASS around the "pool". And NO people. No staff, no guests, GHOST TOWN. We walked down to the beach area, meanwhile having to try to access it through 4 padlocked gates. When we finally got one that we could push open, we were led to a garbage-strewn, filthy sand area. Covered in trash and dirty condoms and who knows what else. In order to get to the "beach", we had to precariously climb over a big slab of concrete covered in slippery moss and mush, dodge the waves and finally get to a small patch of sand that locals sell you dillapitated beach chairs to sit on for something like $5. So, we skipped that whole experience. Went back to the hotel to get our room changed, and we were told to enjoy a drink in the bar... oh, there is no bar. It is the restaurant. Where they offered us a selection of Sprite or bottled water. Anyway, they "upgraded" our room, and it was just as atrocious as the first one. Filthy, electricity not working, ripped and soiled furniture, broken fixtures... you name it. When we went for dinner that night, the restaurant was EMPTY. Not a single table was occupied. Not one. There was a selection of 5 appetizers, of which 4 were unavailable. They served up chopped up lettuce and tomatoes, a plate of deep-friend shrimp and other deep fried offerings on top of grits. I could go on forever about this place. Not a single redeeming quality. As for RCI, they should be sued for what they sent us to. We called ahead of time, and they assured us that this resort would serve us perfectly. I wouldn't send prisoners here!! RCI is appalling. Check out my pictures if you don't believe me. STAY AWAY. And by NO MEANS bring children to this "property".

Room Tip: Anywhere but this property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

ok so lets get to the truth, the tropical Azul resort is closed. we purchased a timeshare from them in March. booked in September to attend there on December 3 to 10 th 2013. When we arrived from Canada on the 3rd of December we were greeted by a pad lock on the front gate. They should have told us it was closed in September when we booked our unit. It really sucked having to pay for a room at casa marina who thankfully had room. what a rip off they didn't have the respect to tell us it was closed. From talking to locals the gate has been locked since Late August so any postings after that date are just bull. Even a salesman the Irish guy from Victoria House told us it has been closed for 4 months. and oh ya tried to sell us a membership to Victoria house if we would give cash down, ya what evere.

Room Tip: stay away its just a scam again
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just spent a couple of days in Sosua and stayed at the Topacio Azul Resort again, another good time. The place is under new management and because of the old owners there were some glitches. But the team there was fantastic in dealing with any issues. The rooms are neat and clean, the grounds are pristine and the proximity to all the action is UN-BELIEVABLE! Booked my trip through DRTravelZone and check in was Easy Peasy! Tell you what, if your bringing the family then its a good time, but if your a single you will be blown away. Easy commute from the airport; once there you won't need a car because everything is in walking distance. Bottom line: Go, Go, Go!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Based on price, you will get a lot more than what you are paying for. I always stay in cheap hotels, unless payed by the office. For my vacations I just select a cheap hotel as always. For my surprise, I had beutiful views, nice cleaning, nice service, and a beautiful place. I really liked my stay here. What is the thumb down? Well, the water was not always hot but warm, the rooms does not have wifi (just corridors and lobby), and they dont have room service (because the hotel is all-inclusive). Overall for me is a great hotel.

Room Tip: They views to the bay are the best and a must do for everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great hotel and staff and the sights are spectacular. Going back for the giant singles party in October 9th to the 15th. The new manager Ninoska is great,she really makes you feel like part of the family. The view is spectacular to say the least. AC worked great so over all a great trip. See you soon guys, L:

Room Tip: almost all the rooms are on the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Topacio Azul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topacio Azul Resort

Address: Calle Dr. Alejo Martinez 1 | El Batey, Sosua, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sosua
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sosua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Topacio Azul Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Topacio Azul Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sosua Bay Club Hotel Sosua
Sosua Bay Resort All Inclusive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topacio Azul Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.