We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good times” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marina Reef

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Marina Reef to your Saves list
Casa Marina Reef
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   El Batey, Sosua, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Sosua
Texarkana, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I read the reviews before going but we decided to go anyway sometimes people just have terrible experiences. Our experience was nothing like the reviews we had read and we had a good time. The food was okay nothing too fancy. We suggest not ordering the conches from the mexican restaurant, it was not edible. The beach was great and the grounds were clean. For a 3 star resort this wasn't too bad. We suggest joining in on the activities that the entertainment crew host, they are quite fun. Make sure to have a Ron Punch and Banana Mama while you are there and if you are looking for a inexpensive trip this would be a good place to start.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    569
    321
    182
    117
See reviews for
308
526
89
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful seven-day stay at Casa Marina. Before the trip we did some research to make sure its worth. Now we would like to say it was definitely a great value/cost ratio vacation deal. A package deal of $500/each person for 7-day all-inclusive(flight+hotel) make us no complaints about the so-so rooms, for we went there for enjoying the beach, the reef, the Dominican shows, the tropical foods, the warm climate and all-season greens, not for the rooms. The overall facilities and services should be rated as great in its class of resorts.

Pros:
*Great Value/Cost vacation site.
*Combination facility of beach,reef, gardens and pools.
*Multi-choices of specialty, buffet and snack restaurants and bars help to stay for one week or longer.

Cons:
*A few flies around the table all the meal time.
*Room conditions.

Tips:
1) Drinking water often will be helpful to adapt yourself to the tropical climate. 20 oz or bigger vaccum insulated mugs may keep the drinks cool whole day long and avoid often bar line-up.

2) With slippers or flip flops, not with shoes, walk around the resort comfortably.

3) Buy a waterproof camera housing bag (at a price of few dollars or ten may get a good quality one from Ebay). It will bring you more fun when snorkeling.

4) Enjoy "chinola"(passion fruit) as a desert. It is an amaing sour fruit helps to eliminate rich fatty meat/fish aftertastes, particularly when buffet meal.

5) Avoid booking the ground floor room. You will know the difference ( My mouth zipped).

6) Among many tour sale representatives around the resort, I personally prefer Marothel Tour. They offer small group tours with competitive price and attentative services. Its presentative Expedito is nice and reliable.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, ON
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at the Casa Marina in for the fourth time from June 10 - 17 and had a fantastic time. I've read some of the other reviews and honestly don't know what people expect. It is a 3 star and the price is always the lowest in the area. That said, the grounds are gorgeous, the buffet was good, the staff are friendly and helpful as always and our room was just where we wanted it. The rooms are a little dated but it's the Caribbean and not New York City. Our shower was fine with lots of hot water and the beds were very comfortable. The only complaint we could make is that there are a lot of flies buzzing around the tables at meal times. This could be solved by lowering the fans and letting the breeze blow them away. They are quite a nuisance. Francis is always ready with a smile and a cup of coffee for you in the buffet and we've become very fond of him.
We volunteer with the AAAS when we are in Sosua so we eat in town quite often. The Jolly Roger is great with fantastic food so if the buffet is boring you I suggest trying there. Bailey's down the street is also a good place to go with wifi as well.
We've heard some of the "Debbie Downers" when we've been on vacation and quite frankly they annoy us. You're on holiday and should just learn to relax and enjoy the different culture and not try to compare it to home. The food is different, language is different, climate is different etc. It can't hurt to learn a few phrases in Spanish before you go. It's polite to try and communicate instead of getting frustrated or angry. We've actually witnessed people yelling at the staff and it is horrifying. The front desk staff are very nice if you don't start yelling. Our Spanish is very basic and we get by with no problems what-so-ever.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing holiday with beautiful beaches and lovely people but are not expecting a 5 star.....it's not!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virden, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our stay at the Casa Marina was mediocre. If you're looking for fancy and luxurious, this is not the place for you. Everything was very average. We were not given the Ocean View Room that we paid for on the first night, along with several other guests at the resort. The food was ok. We got tired of it by the end of the week and ended up eating off the resort. The vendors came right into the resort in the evenings and were very pushy. We ended up finding ways to avoid that area just to get to our room. We had very little hot water and poor water pressure in the shower. The front desk personnel don't speak alot of English and were hard to communicate with. They are also very short staffed at the front desk, therefore hard to get any answers. There are a number of beach chairs set out in the morning, and they are all "reserved" with a towel within minutes. Chances were very slim of being able to use a chair during the day.

Room Tip: Beware of paying for ocean view, as you are not guaranteed to get it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Some friends and I went to casa Marina reef for spring break and it was awful. The rooms looked nothing like the pictures that were presented to us and the food was of low quality. On our Thursday there we were on an all day excursion and when we came back we realized that all our cash had been taken.from the bedroom. We reported this to the night manager, who only blamed us for not leaving our cash in the.sage box and essentially accused us of lying. Two other rooms on the same floor were.robbed as well and the night manager failed to inform us of that. He told each party that no other parties had been robbed that night, which was very suspicious and malicious. Overall, the staff did nothing to help any party that was involved and the three.parties, including us, checked out the next morning.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was my best vacation experience so far. The grounds are beautiful, the staff is absolutely amazing! I would like to make a special thank you to Kinito for my making my stay a wonderful one. My Husband and I had a fantastic time because of him, and will definitely return in the new year! Kinito, thank you for being an awesome entertainer, and a great friend while we were at the hotel! We hope you're doing well.
XoXo
Lina and George

Room Tip: Rooms on the reef side are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarnia ont canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I returned to this resort in 2013 and how things have really changed for the worst ; the a/c did not always work it kept kicking out the breaker ; we called the desk several times they would reset the breaker and leave 10 minutes later or so it would kick out again ; I got so frustrated I put in a plastic fork in breaker box so it would not kick out ; this basically kept the lights on but the a/c would work only sporadically ; the clean staff were very good but the towels went out in morning and not returned till after 5 or 6 pm ;thank god I brought some extra ones from home or else no shower before supper ; lets talk about food its terrible here I had heartburn almost every day from their food ; one day it be good next day same thing be tough as shoe leather ; the only good stuff was breakfasts like how can you ruin breakfast oh yes the desserts were excellent too;our second week here we are out at local restaurants ;there are also not enough deck chaise lounges either at poolside or at the area by rocks along paths alot are broken ; plus alot of ignorant people on ground floors would take the chaise lounges put them on their patios and keep them there ;there are too many hawkers selling inferior products ar resort like fake cigars ;the resort does not care as they get a fee from these people to set up their stands here and every time u walk by they keep bugging u to buy something ;my room was basically clean but developed a leak in the ceiling we were on the 2nd floor so it must have been a water line ; it dripped onto the bed ;I called front desk their solution was for me to move my bed closer to the wall so the drip ended up on the floor till they could fix it which never happened; our rep from noli tours told us the place has been going downhill for over 4 years ; 1st they fired the kitchen staff cause they were asking to much money now they have different cooks almost every other day cooking thats why no consistency to food quality ; we asked for a mini fridge but he told us this our rep that there has been no fridges for 4 years the only way u might get one is if you are diabetic or have a baby that needs formula stored in it ; the only saving grace about this place is its close proximity to town and some very good resturants also both resorts ,casa marina reef and casa marina beach are fed breakfasts and dinner from one resturant area ; in 2003 it wa not like this each had its own so now it was very busy with limited seating unles u came very early for breakfast or supper with limlited staff and people looking for seating if u got up to go to washroom your table was cleared and some one else was sitting there when u got back so u needed to leave a personal item on your table saying u were still there ; now I know this is only rated a 3 star but the food has to be more consistant , one day I was eating a hamburger and almost broke a tooth biting into god knows what a bone or what ever ; same thing happened with a sausage ; one day I tried fried eggplant and thought maybe I made a mistake on my choose ; cause it tasted like fish ; everything is fried in the same oil here ; one day home fries are perfect next day they look fried but are raw on inside cause they have been cut too thick and only browned off looking done ;I;l never recommend this place to no one unless u get a super cheap rate and u eat outside this place ;one other warning do not use their free internet service ; 3 girls in our group got a whopping $400 bill at end of their syay as maybe they forgot to log off who knows ; they took their passports and wetre not going to let them go till the bill was paid ; there are plenty of internet cafes just down from the hotel where u can use internet for 60 pesos for an hour save yourself a head ache pay as u use ; the staff here is useless no one will tell u nothing about good resturants in town or that town is only a 5 minute walk away ; I knew how far we were and had no problems but many older people got dupped by moto chonco people and people paid upwards of 300 pesos to go downtown a piece the going rate is 50 pesos ;i;m coming back to sosua next april for a month but i;m going to rent a condo they are very inexpensive to rent ; you can ask locals where they eat out avoid the tourist resturants they are good but u can eat 30% cheaper in other local places ; casa marnia resort according to the nolitour person is going to be made into rental condos that is why no money is being put into services here right now ;yes one other bad thing our hotel card key kept loosing the magnetics on it and we had to have it reprogramed at least 6 times in 2 week stay

Room Tip: all rooms are basically the same u can ask for a corner room I heard they are more spacious but just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Marina Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina Reef

Address: El Batey, Sosua, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sosua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Marina Reef 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Casa Marina Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina Beach & Reef Resort
Casa Marina Reef Dominican Republic
Casa Marina Reef Sosua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marina Reef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.