We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monkey Jungle and Zip Line Adventures

Monkey Jungle and Zip Line Adventures
Carretera El Choco, Sosua 57000, Dominican Republic
829.649.4555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Outdoor Activities in Sosua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Monkey Jungle is located between Sosua and Cabarete, just 9 km up El Choco Road. It is the home to almost 30 squirrel and capuchin monkeys and includes a 7 station 4500 foot ACCT certified zip line. Enjoy the breathtaking view spanning over 290 acre working farm and the home of the free Monkey Jungle medical/dental clinic.Profits from the Monkey Jungle and Zip Line Adventures is used to fund the free on site clinics. Check out why we have been listed as number one on Trip Advisor since we opened in 2010. Reservations recommended and ages 2 to 89 have participated. Zip Line Adventures caters to guests with special needs.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

This attraction is worth it for everyone. Not only does it offer the incredible zip lines and a jump into a 53 foot cave, but afterwards you get to go into the monkey sanctuary, and have these super adorable little monkeys jump and sit on you, comb through your cup of food that is provided by the owners and show off.
I've never seen anything as wonderful as these monkey's and the money from the visit goes back into it for medical and dental.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    36
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Had a great time with my teenage daughter who had never zip lined before and was very nervous. The staff had her laughing and made her feel at ease very quickly and she had a great experience.
Very clean and well organized, seeing and feeding the monkeys was alot of fun and probably something most people would really enjoy.
The trip out was fun, got to see a lot of the countryside which was neat.
I liked that they were handicap accessible, as we were leaving a young man in a wheelchair was being hooked up in the harness, he looked thrilled :)

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Real Thrill Ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

If you can handle the super-bumpy road out to the site, this attraction is a must for those that like adventurous experiences. The very capable staff teach you what you need to know to be safe as you slide down the 7 different zip lines. A bit pricey (walk-in rate for the zip line alone is 2000 pesos - about $50 U.S.) - you'll pay about $70 per person including transportation from your resort, but that also includes the Monkey Jungle which I did not experience on my visit.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect outing for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

If you havent done zip-lining before, this is one place to learn. Very well managed program - with a social cause. Read more about them online.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“MUST Do!!! What a great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

When searching for fun activities to do on my birthday vacation I read about the Monkey Jungle and Zip Line Adventures on this site. I was impressed that the proceeds go towards the medical and dental clinic.

I went with two friends and we had a blast! The Zip Line Adventure was awesome! They gave us all a very comprehensive safety demonstration before we went on the lines and the equipment was in very good condition. Denson and the guys were great!

Afterwards we went to the Monkey Jungle and had fun feeding the monkeys and letting them crawl all over us :)

Our afternoon finished with having a nice cold beer at the bar and meeting Chuck the owner. He shared with us his background and history of how he came up with the idea.

Bravo! I highly recommend this tour!

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkey Jungle and Zip Line Adventures also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Monkey Jungle and Zip Line Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monkey Jungle and Zip Line Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.