We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly with good fish and chips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Pub & Grill

Britannia Pub & Grill
13 Pedro Clisante, Sosua 90210, Dominican Republic
1.809.571.1959
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 67 Restaurants in Sosua
Cuisines: American, British, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Winnipeg Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly with good fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Went a few times, a couple just for drinks once to eat. Friendly staff, good fish and chips (being English was craving them). Free Internet. Different sports on TV. Street vendors stop by your table if you sit by the street.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    36
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

My wife and I had breakfast here a few times, each time it was not as good as the time before so after the third time we decided not to go back. On the third visit the waitress poured the last of the coffee in my cup coffee grinds and all and the worst part was she was smirking while she was doing it. On each visit I had the feeling we were disturbing the waitresses, when I go to a restaurant I don't like to feel uncomfortable and at this place, Ray the owner is the only one that makes you feel welcomed. I'd like to support a fellow Canadian but there are so many go places to eat that I just can't go back, sorry Ray.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sosua
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“okay place, expat hangout”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

the owners are nice, the food is just so-so. You should go to meet local expats and hang out. Very smoky so if you don't smoke (like me) you might not be too comfortable for too long. It's not well-aerated

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and great people.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We watched the Super Bowl at this restaurant. It was the perfect setting, especially for the DR.

The food here is fine, what you'd expect to find in a pub. What makes this restaurant great, is the servers and the owner. Everyone is extremely friendly and they make you feel right at home. We had such a good time here that we went back on two separate occasions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice little bit of Canada”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband emailed the owner, Ray and his wife, to see if they would be showing the world junior hockey game and sure enough, they said they would. So we ventured into town with our 3 kids for a great little lunch and some familiar entertainment (hockey). We enjoyed the local ambiance, the friendly owners and staff and the good food. If you need a change of scenery from your hotel, this is a worth while visit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Britannia Pub & Grill also viewed

 
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Britannia Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Pub & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.