We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Plaza Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza Europa
Calle Pedro Clisante 14 | El Batey, Sosua 00000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Sosua
Fayetteville, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel was in walking distance to everything. The staff was excellent. Night time security is a great guy. I will be staying here again on my next trip to DR!! Close to banks, restaurants, ATM machine and clubs.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

It's a great hotel nice people. Great price !! The only one thing bad was the thief !!!! cab drivers. !! They sit out side of the hotel waiting for the next tourist to rip off!! Like a lot of domincan's. The taxi drivers here think if your a tourist , your a walking ATM. SOMEONE THAT THEY CAN ROB !! For a quick buck. The people here in Dominacan Republic only think of today. So if you get angry that they robbed you, it's ok. Because it's about today not the next time you come. Be a where your a ATM TO THEM !!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I was booked at at the Terra Linda about 6 blocks away for $109 per night 5 nights cash US. price, but then I saw a review on youtube for Europa, and thought although TL is nice, its a bit overpriced for this location. So I emailed Hotel Europa and they had availablity in the High Season I paid $228 cash US. for 5 nights for a queen size bed on the ground floor with a patio, next to the pool and Jaccuzzi, Brand new remote control AC unit, Flat screen TV, Mini Kitchen stove, fridge, tile floors, and wireless internet which is a must in the DR to stay intouch. Also they pride themselves on their safes, they make sure that you know where they are and how to use them. The rooms were cleaned and linens were changed daily. The resturant on site is closed, but there is a bar..to get your Cuba Libre. Right next door is "Plan B" Bar with a limited breakfast and dinner menu..but priced right. In the morning this is the local hangout for all the Ex-pats..US and German, information can be learned here. about 1 block to the west are 3 banks..Many many resturants-Bars-Disco's and yes the smallest casino in the world...are within10 blocks everything in Sosua you can walk to..The europa is located well and within reach of anything..Considering the Motoconchos (motorcycle taxi's) are right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: I noticed no loud noises in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I spent a week at Plaza Europa and I enjoyed the service. The price was affordable and the people were courteous and honest. I felt safe. I intend to stay there again when I return soon. The hotel was close to everything, including the clubs.

Room Tip: Take the second floor, it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The building is little older, but everything else is 100 % super. The location, the price, clean, secure.. The staff is more then friendly, helpful. The night time security with a gun, is there to watch your safety. If you are tipsy or drunk, he would hold you under the arms, and help you to your room. The main man is Mr Diego, he is 90% of the time in the lobby, buissy. But if you have a question , talk to Him, He will gladly answer No problem if you have a visitor, friend, or girlfriend, they can cam in if you want them. .On the front entrance is a little bar, with 6-7 girls, they are very friendly, and very, very nice too. I would reccomend this hotel to anybody, and my next vacation going to be here again.

Room Tip: |I stay in room 121. Super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is one of the best value in Sousa. My room was newly renovated, it was spacious with 2 beds and includes flat-screen tv, propane stove, fridge.

Mr. Diego and staff was friendly and accommodating.

The hotel is a little walk from the action but I had no issue with it. There is a great bar next door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Plaza Europa is an excellent choice for someone seeking a nice basic hotel for a good value in an excellent location. Don't expect Marriot style luxuries. There is no doorman opening elevator doors or gold fringes on the bathroom towels. Plaza Europa does, however, provide nice clean and comfortable hotel stay for people wanting a genuine Sosua experience.

The location and value are what makes Plaza Europa an ideal choice for lodging. The hotel rate alleviates the worry of economics during my annual Sosua vacations. Plaza Europa does not have rediculous rules about entertaining friends and guests. Djego, the owner, provides excellent customer service. I also love the fact that I can walk to almost anywhere in Sosua without the need of additional transportation: the beach, restaurants, bars, clubs, tourist attractions, ect.

Please don't stay at this hotel, however, if you are a conservative traveler who is offended by hedonism. This hotel is not located in a family friendly location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Europa

Address: Calle Pedro Clisante 14 | El Batey, Sosua 00000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Sosua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Center of Beautiful Sosua; Close to Grocerystores,Banks,Shops, Restaurants, Bars and Nightlife.You reach the fantastic beach of Sosúa in 6 minutes on foot.Spacious,newly renovated rooms with Balcony overlooking our crystal clear Pool and Jacuzzi. Condo unit/s include fully furnished, two bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, full kitchenette,microwave, air conditioning,cable TV in both rooms,internet access, phone, hair dryer, ironing board, security box, 24 hour security and desk management,back up electric generators, hotel restaurant with national and international dishes /drinks.Excursion activities can be arranged at front desk as well as car/motorcycle rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Plaza Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.