We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot for tourists” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jolly Roger Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Jolly Roger Bar & Grill
Calle Pedro Clisante #11 | El Batey, Sosua, Dominican Republic
809-571-4072
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $6
Cuisines: American, British, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice spot for tourists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had lunch and dinner there with my wife. It was a cool place good food good drinks ok prices we even played bingo one day.lots of expats hang out there check it out if you happen to be in sosua

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    93
    36
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Basile-le-grand
1 review
“Simply the best !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I been going at Jolly Roger for 5 years now and it's always the same, great people, good food, nice drinks and the most wonderful service, they realy make you feel like family, take some time to sit at the bar and have a chat with Kelly, great guy, full of story, for sure you will get out of there with your belly full, but also with new friends !

I'm going back in 2 weeks and I cannot wait, don't worry Patty, I will bring you some black licorice, I know you love it !!! see you soom my friends !

Christian

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bancroft, Canada
1 review
“Great place for feeling like you fit in. Good food, good people, fun atmosphere!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We are so lucky to have found the Jolly Roger and Patty and Kelly. They certainly make you feel at home and they take the time to help you find what you need around the area as well as offer good food and drinks at a good price so we can afford to eat out when we are there. It has made us move forward in our plans to move to the Dominican knowing there are people like them there that have been through it and are willing to help some of us who are a little more shy about making the big move. I cant wait to come back In October and Patty and Kelly are the first people I want to see and the Jolly Roger will be my first meal and Beer back in Sousa :) And if you are lucky to be there on a day for a specialized meal prepared by Patti - its awesome. We had Easter Sunday Dinner there. !!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful !...favorite watering hole”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great place for a few drinks with old friends and new friends !..Patty and Kelly are awesome always ready to help.wether you just want a few drinks , play bingo or maybe even a game of trivia , always lots to do . The special meals on Sunday are always reat . The food is always fresh and the staff are ready to please ! Louisa , Eva Jennifer can't say enough about these girls . Even a ride home from time to time if it rains or we had a few too many ....lol....drinks are cheap , the beer is always cold and the food fast and tasty !....So give it a try and I know you'll be back , again and again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good times, good friends and good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Jolly Roger is one of Sosua's high points. Patty and Kelly run a clean, safe, affordable, friendly, English speaking haven. They offer good food with a continuously changing menu. Personal favorites of mine are the chicken wrap and the wings. I've been going there for over a year and the Jolly is the perfect place to hang out, stop in for lunch or dinner and to go throw darts on a Friday night.

They are also very community conscious, sponsoring a multitude of charity fundraising events including weekly bingo.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolly Roger Bar & Grill also viewed

Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
 
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolly Roger Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.