We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Sosua” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Cayena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Casa Cayena to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Cayena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Dr Rosen, No 25 | El Batey, Sosua, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Super Saver Rate
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Sosua
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Sosua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Casa Cayena is a great boutique-hotel experience and a very comfortable place to stay. It's a couple hundred meters further from the nightlife than the other places in El Batey, but that little extra distance brings an extra peace and quiet to the place. It's on a cul-de-sac, so the motoconchos aren't blattering past all day and night, and it's steps from Playa Alicia, one of the prettiest beaches you'll see in the DR. The staff is exceptional, the cuisine is first-rate, and Wilfried is a hands-on manager and a fine host. I'm looking forward to my next visit to Sosua and Casa Cayena!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    64
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
11
80
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I had a good stay at Hotel Casa Cayena! The staff was helpful and accomadating. Wilifred is a great guy! The pool was one of the cleanest I've seen in the DR. I had a first floor room with a king sized bed, a flat screen tv, and a small patio overlooking the pool. The breakfast thats included was good, and it was rather large. The breakfast is served until 12, so it was no problem when I felt like sleeping in. Its a little off the strip so it was quiet, theres a small beach a block down. The Cayena is my new HQ in Sosua!

Room Tip: Request a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

My first trip ever out of the US was not the greatest experience personally. I got very ill 2-3 days in and was pretty much stuck in the hotel BUT the Service I received at the hotel was beyond exceptional. when I became ill the security guard was very helpful he went out of his way to go to the phamacy and get me medicine as well as some soup in attempts to help me feel better. The next day the front desk personal (Nadiusca) did the same she even went as far as to iron a shirt for me. They continued to check on me and to see how I was feeling and was willing to assist anyway they could.

Thank You Casa Cayena

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft wayne
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Very peaceful and no early or late motoconcho noise to keep you up, A BIG thumbs up in that regards.
Any guest's music was always under control. Great manager, great security guard, great staff, and every meal was good. My new place to stay in Sosua. Monte, USA

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Been to sosua many of times. The owner goes out of his way to take care of your needs. The food is good. The rooms are average but meets all your needs. King size bed, hot water, nice cable selection and a safe in each room. oops and a small fridge. The main thing I like about the hotel is location because its walking distance to everything in sosua. Known the owner Wilfried for many years and he always speaks and will sit down and have a drink with you at the bars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a great place to stay since Wilfried took over. The rooms are average, the restaurant is good with many good selections (the soup is huge). When I arrived Wilfried was there to greet me to make sure everything is fine. The hotel is off the main street and very peaceful without street noise. The beach (playa Alicia) is just down the street, very clean and no locals walking around trying to harrasss you. On the other hand the food service is very slow as they pick up food from the waterfront. I will definitely come back on my next stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The best thing with this place is the actual location, walking distance to everything around Sosua. Even if it is that "central" of Sosua there is no noise at all in the evening that disturbs sleep. The rooms are at good standard (some of them under renovation), I stayed in one of the separated concrete bungalows and that was very nice. The staff both on the manager (Wilfried) side and also the others that are working in the hotel are very friendly and helpful.
So I recommend this hotel very much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Cayena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Cayena

Address: Calle Dr Rosen, No 25 | El Batey, Sosua, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Sosua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Cayena 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilfried, owner and manager welcomes you to the HotelCasa Cayena.The Hotel is perfect for your stay and is where you can experience it all.It is a very short walk to a protected, secluded beach and very close to the famous Sosua Beach. It is in the middle of the "Playground" with Action and Activities galore.Inside the Hotel delivers service and quality that single travelers from around the world expect. Conveniences and Services are all available at the Hotel at local prices - a combination hard to equal. The front desk will take care of the arrangements so you can experience all that the DR has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casa Cayena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Cayena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.