We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Casa Veintiuno

Restaurant Casa Veintiuno
Reparto Tavares | El Batey, Sosua, Dominican Republic
829 342 8089
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 65 Restaurants in Sosua
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Restaurant Casa 21 is part of the Boutique B&B Casa Veintiuno. We are open from Wednesday thru Sunday. Open for dinner from 6:00PM until 10:00PM. If you are looking for fine dining in a quiet,trendy and romantic atmosphere, this is the place to be in Sosua. We are closed on Mondays & Tuesdays. We don't accept credit cards. We apologize for the inconvenience.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We eat at this restaurant in February whilst staying in Sosua for three days and have to say that everything we read before hand about the place being great was to the point.

The food was excellent and Saskia and Marc were perfect hosts. If you ever are in Sosua you must visit Casa Veintiuno before you leave.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    7
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Acapulco, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great European Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I visited Casa Veintiuno because of the good reviews and I am was glad that it met my expectations. I did not make a reservation and the place was packed, but since I was by myself they offered me a seat at the bar and I could have my dinner there. The owners are from Belgium and they brought they love for cooking with them to Sosua. It is by far the best place to eat in Sosua and I returned several times during my stay.

Not only the food is tasty, the quantity was perfectly satisfying as was the atmosphere in the restaurant. I love eating outside and the place looks really nice as well. Its no wonder that almost every taxi driver knows the place. I would advise you to take one, because at night I could be hard to find if you drive yourself. Overall, they made my stay in Sosua a lot more enjoyable, for which I am very thankfull..

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is easily the best food in Sosua. It's a small restaurant so reservations are recommended. It's only a 5 minute drive from town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Casa 21”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Lovely and quaint. A bit pricey so use it for a special occasion. Excellent menu but small choice - quality rather than quantity. Call ahead and they may be able to do something special for you.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This is the place to be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

During my trip in the Dominican Republic I met a German girl who had stayed in the Casa 21 (also a fantastic B&B) and she couldn't stop talking about the meal she had got there : "Simply the best" she said (to quote Tina Turner). So I decided to change my plans and stay 1 night in the Casa 21. I must say I haven't regretted it for one moment. The food was indeed excellent : I had the same fish dish with the mustard sauce as described by shpiget and it was just perfect. And I was also impressed by the service and the attention which was paid to the customers. All in all a very nice experience and one I can really advise anyone who is looking for a good restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Casa Veintiuno also viewed

Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Restaurant Casa Veintiuno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Casa Veintiuno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.