We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Sosua” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Casa Veintiuno

Restaurant Casa Veintiuno
Reparto Tavares | El Batey, Sosua, Dominican Republic
829 342 8089
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 66 Restaurants in Sosua
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Restaurant Casa 21 is part of the Boutique B&B Casa Veintiuno. We are open from Wednesday thru Sunday. Open for dinner from 6:00PM until 10:00PM. If you are looking for fine dining in a quiet,trendy and romantic atmosphere, this is the place to be in Sosua. We are closed on Mondays & Tuesdays. We don't accept credit cards. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best food in Sosua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Over the course of two weeks we ate here many times! We did try other restaurants in Sosua and Cabarete but kept returning here. We have eaten in some of the best restaurants in the world and some of Marc's creations are up there with the best. The steak is as good as any we have eaten anywhere (whether cooked or raw), the fish is fresh and perfectly cooked (or marinated), Belgian fries are a joy and I agree with others about the Shrimp Kataifi starter. The staff are attentive and the atmosphere idyllic.
Do not miss the opportunity to eat here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    9
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“No. 1 - this where this would stay....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

A great setting, just a small number of tables round a swimming pool makes this a superb setting for a lovely meal. The thing is , the food surpasses even this lovely setting. It's certainly not expensive for the quality and favour, but expect to pay a little more than the usual restaurants. Finding it may be a challenge you need help with, but call ahead for directions.
The portions are big, so go hungry if you want to sample an entree and a main, only the most ambitious will have room for a dessert. Expect to pay between 300 and 700 pesos for a main.
The carpaccio of beef as a starter is as you expect from a top quality restaurant. For the mains, the chicken with spicy orange sauce and cashew nuts is an easy choice, but anything with the mushroom sauce is well worth trying.
They have a good selection of wines, and they don't rip you off on the price, scouts nice to have a bottle. This is not the norm for most restaurants over here where you normally steer clear of the wine as its too expensive.
Not my first time here, and won't be my last. Enjoy a lovely meal here

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“YUM!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

During our stay in Sosua we enjoyed several meals at Casa Veintiuno. Every single meal was fantastic! The staff is extremely friendly and gracious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Shrimp Kataifi Withdrawl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Its been four months and I am suffering from Shrimp Kataifi Withdrawl. This is the best appetizer that we have experienced and we are foodies. The main courses are just as delectable with multiple flavours exploding in your mouth. Delicious is all I can say. As for the ambiance and the service both are impeccable. We have to give this restaurant a 5 star review as it is small and may impact upon us getting a table in the future!!!....lol. But the proprietors of this restaurant deserve all the credit, Marc and Saski are focused on detail both back and front of the house. When in Sosua I would recommend a dinner at this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Casa Veintiuno from 6 - 13 May 2013. It's a wonderful resort B & B...
Their restaurant is open five nights a week. It was excellent! They concentrate on providing really fresh food, daily. My particular favourite was the beef mignon - so beautifully cooked!
And Coco Loco - what a great drink...made from a coconut freshly-picked from their garden (fresh coconut milk, white rum and grenadine, they mentioned). Great!
The restaurant was busy enough each night to provide a good, friendly ambience, whilst feeling small enough to give you that real sense of always being in an exclusive place.
The poolside floating lights, and garden flares, added that particular touch of exclusiveness and atmosphere.
The restaurant staff all go out of their way to be helpful and friendly...but not in an intrusive way.
Try it - well worth the trip! We really want to stay with you all again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Casa Veintiuno also viewed

Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
 
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Restaurant Casa Veintiuno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Casa Veintiuno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.