We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's worth going there, either alone or as a family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Real Resort

Save Saved
You added Plaza Real Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plaza Real Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Boulevard | Villas del Mar, Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Juan Dolio
South Florida, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It's worth going there, either alone or as a family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the Juan Dolio area. Though the building is fairly old, with some cracks on the fourth floor, where I stay in room 38, The building is kept well maintained. The room is super clean with convenient silverware available for you to use if you wish to cook. The staff is multilingual. There are two people at the reception you should meet. Frantz, a Haitian guy is amazing, he will make sure you have a good stay, and answers all of your questions. When I couldn't find a taxi to go to the airport. Frantz made all arrangement to get me to the airport on time. My girlfriend was amazed with the service, and treatment she and I received there. There is another Haitian young lady who was celebrating her birthday during my stay also. She speaks good fluent English, and has great customer service skills. You name your concern there , it is addressed automatically. The wifi is 3g, but was available in the lobby as well as in my room. DO NOT go to the pool, you may get ADDICTED because it is too beautiful and sparkling. the staff surely ascertain you enjoy everything there during your stay. and DONT forget the beach is just right across in a safe, and tourist friendly area. Did i forget to stay public transportation to the capital for ONLY 70 pesos( about 1.8USD) is just a quarter mile away. You know what, just go have a great time OK.

Room Tip: Do not choose transportation Ismael to go to that airport. I was in their car for 2 hours at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    24
    17
    6
    20
See reviews for
19
52
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great location, near beach, airport, nightlife, stores. Nice pool and Super Friendly people.
Highly recommended. Especially for the price. Great Value.
They have playground and trampoline for kids. Massage room, and hair salon.

Room Tip: Friendly staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have been staying in this Resort every time I go to the DR. People there are very nice and friendly, The pool and garden is great. The room are comfortable and they all have a nice kitchen, with sink and fridge, They even have silverware, pans, bowls, plates and so on.
Perfect place to stay. A very short walk to Juan Dolio Beach and its pristine waters . Highly recommended.

Carlos Carrion, Florida USA

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenbush, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My now husband and I went there for our first trip together, and till this day we keep taking about it. In that place was when I felt more in love with him. But mostly I think it was for the beauty surrounded in that place. The staff were so courteous and Fun. Food Amazing!!!!! and he had so much fun with the people of the area. He at the time didn't understand a word in Spanish but he figure out a way to communicate with everyone. He was so loose and people were so pleasing and caring with him. They tough him about the cultured and show him the surroundings. They even took him out for drinks. Because of this hidden paradise now he wants to go there every break he gets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Au Prince, Haiti
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Good location, right on the main road, you can walk off to different restaurants and bars (when they are open). The Italian owners are very attentive and nice. It's a family hotel that banns prostitution so you don't have to deal with the pathetic scene that are seen around in juan dolio and boca chica all the times especially if you have children. The room was clean, with A/C and hot water. Being with a child we enjoyed the basic kitchen. The pool is very nice, but not always clean. There's massage and manicure/pedicure service next to the pool bar. The restaurant cooks decent pizza and good dominican breakfast. Turn off: the beach is not connected to the hotel you actually have to cross the main road and then walk in a "tunnel" between two huge buildings to get to the beach. nice white sand, lovely blue water but no palm trees at all. It is so artificial. this was the only disappointment.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms on the main road, but on a high floor. you get a big balcony with table but it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed at the Plaza Real Resort from May 30-June 5, 2013. The owner is unbelievably accommodating and, when I arrived, he took me on quite a tour of the whole property just so I could feel at ease.

There are many small stores right next to the Plaza Real Resort. A laundry, a few restaurants, a bakery, pharmacy, money exchange, just about everything a traveller might need. WiFi is free which is such a blessing and I found myself in the lobby quite often just catching up on news. The beach is indeed within a 3 minute walk or so and what a glorious beach it is. The only negative is that beautiful new condos have been built and spoil the view of the beach. But that negative is quickly solved by going across the street to the beach!!

The staff I interacted with were all, without exception, very nice to me. My bed was fine........it just had a squeak every now and then. Certainly a good hotel for the money.

-

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We booked via hotels.com, knowing we chose a low-budget option, and were pleasantly surprised by the pleasant pool, friendly staff, and large efficiency 1-bedroom apartment that was our "hotel room." With this much space, and a stovetop, dishes, fridge and sink, we were able to save a little more $$ on breakfast, just buying eggs, juice & coffee at the convenient store next door. Our room was on the second floor (pleasant breeze, screened-in porch, plenty of ceiling fans), and in a building near the back of the property so that it was far from the music/noise from the bars & restaurants on the street. No carpeting, basic but clean. Pool has a bar & grill, the grounds are secure and nicely landscaped. If you plan to spend the greater part of your money experiencing the DR (diving, hiking, caves, downtown Santo Domingo, rental car), then this hotel is probably for you. We knew this would be a relatively central spot to our diving reservation (Bayahibe) and other attractions; it's right off the highway (Eastern most Hwy-3 Juan Dolio exit), so easy to depart/arrive from, and only 45 min from the main airport in Santo Dom.

Room Tip: Request a room 2nd floor or higher for good airflow and to be at the back (quietest part) of the pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Real Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Real Resort

Address: Avenida Boulevard | Villas del Mar, Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > San Pedro de Macoris Province > Juan Dolio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Juan Dolio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Juan Dolio
#1 Spa Hotel in Juan Dolio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Real Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few metres from the fantastic Juan Dolio Beach, in the Dominican Republic, the Plaza Real Resort is a fantastic spot to host visitors who want to spend a relaxing holiday time in a wonderful and tranquil environment. Three bars, two restaurants, shops, beauty saloon, swimming pool, garden, international telephone center internet point, laundry and casino are some of the services guests will be able to enjoy at the Plaza Real Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Plaza Real Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Hotel Juan Dolio
Plaza Real Juan Dolio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Real Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.