We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Real Resort

Save Saved
You added Plaza Real Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plaza Real Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Boulevard | Villas del Mar, Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Juan Dolio
Port Au Prince, Haiti
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Family Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Good location, right on the main road, you can walk off to different restaurants and bars (when they are open). The Italian owners are very attentive and nice. It's a family hotel that banns prostitution so you don't have to deal with the pathetic scene that are seen around in juan dolio and boca chica all the times especially if you have children. The room was clean, with A/C and hot water. Being with a child we enjoyed the basic kitchen. The pool is very nice, but not always clean. There's massage and manicure/pedicure service next to the pool bar. The restaurant cooks decent pizza and good dominican breakfast. Turn off: the beach is not connected to the hotel you actually have to cross the main road and then walk in a "tunnel" between two huge buildings to get to the beach. nice white sand, lovely blue water but no palm trees at all. It is so artificial. this was the only disappointment.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms on the main road, but on a high floor. you get a big balcony with table but it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    24
    17
    6
    20
See reviews for
19
52
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keene, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed at the Plaza Real Resort from May 30-June 5, 2013. The owner is unbelievably accommodating and, when I arrived, he took me on quite a tour of the whole property just so I could feel at ease.

There are many small stores right next to the Plaza Real Resort. A laundry, a few restaurants, a bakery, pharmacy, money exchange, just about everything a traveller might need. WiFi is free which is such a blessing and I found myself in the lobby quite often just catching up on news. The beach is indeed within a 3 minute walk or so and what a glorious beach it is. The only negative is that beautiful new condos have been built and spoil the view of the beach. But that negative is quickly solved by going across the street to the beach!!

The staff I interacted with were all, without exception, very nice to me. My bed was fine........it just had a squeak every now and then. Certainly a good hotel for the money.

-

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We booked via hotels.com, knowing we chose a low-budget option, and were pleasantly surprised by the pleasant pool, friendly staff, and large efficiency 1-bedroom apartment that was our "hotel room." With this much space, and a stovetop, dishes, fridge and sink, we were able to save a little more $$ on breakfast, just buying eggs, juice & coffee at the convenient store next door. Our room was on the second floor (pleasant breeze, screened-in porch, plenty of ceiling fans), and in a building near the back of the property so that it was far from the music/noise from the bars & restaurants on the street. No carpeting, basic but clean. Pool has a bar & grill, the grounds are secure and nicely landscaped. If you plan to spend the greater part of your money experiencing the DR (diving, hiking, caves, downtown Santo Domingo, rental car), then this hotel is probably for you. We knew this would be a relatively central spot to our diving reservation (Bayahibe) and other attractions; it's right off the highway (Eastern most Hwy-3 Juan Dolio exit), so easy to depart/arrive from, and only 45 min from the main airport in Santo Dom.

Room Tip: Request a room 2nd floor or higher for good airflow and to be at the back (quietest part) of the pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

never again will i go there..
the owner's son was very obnoxious told me he didn't understand me. spoke perfect english to an Italian man
pleas don't do it to yourself the water bugs were everywhere from the bedroom to the livingroom

NYC

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandro B, Proprietario at Plaza Real Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear client,
thank you for taking time to write your review.
In my opinion I was not obnoxious with you. I explained to you that it is important to make correct reservations and if you intend to spend vacation in Plaza Real with your boyfriend, then you should make a reservation for to people, not one, and consequently pay for two. This is important also for the other guests who respect hotel rules.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Ok, so I reserved one of the spots that had two floors, apparently when I checked in, the apartment that I reserved and paid for in advance was not available and I was placed in a studio. Since I had paid for my accommodations well in advance, I wanted what I had reserved. With that being said, I went back down to the lobby to request for the proper type of room. Well after waiting for at least two hours, I was reaccomodated in the "back house." The conditions of the back house are/were unacceptable, went back to the lobby the next morning, to be moved yet again. The third place that I was moved to was ok, but I was so totally frustrated by this point......I just wanted to go home. I rarely get that feeling of "I can't wait to go home"' but the stay at this hotel put me there.

The beach is right across the street, which was nice. Other than that, I don't have much to say nice. Lots of Italian eateries in the area, but I don't come to the DR to eat pizza and pasta. Prices in the area are too high and I will NOT be returning to this part of Dominican Republic for a long time, if ever.

Time to move on and check out some other spots of the DR, it will require me to pay some higher prices, but a chance I will have to take. Sorry Plaza Real Resort for the poor review, It is what it is though.

Room Tip: Stay else where.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Live Oak, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The property is very diversified.. There are apartments for long term rental 650.00 a month..They even have a house that sleep 6 for 114.00 per night.. They property also features a bakery,a few small places to eat, a gift shop and a pharmacy..these are all on the outter perimeter..the beach is across the street.. breakfast was very cheap about 6 dollars..eggs bacon and fresh pineapple juice..beautiful pool and owner is very friendly and accomidating. The floor in room are time small bathroom with shower..a hot plate and small fridge are in room too...the bed is a little springy but comfortable..stay a nite or two then explore more of this beautiful country!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, NH
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel desperately needs updating & staff training. The rooms are dirty, in disrepair, the furniture old & "white" towels coarse & dingy grey. There seemed to be many permanent guests, European I'd guess. Short stay guests were not made to feel welcome. There was a snack bar near the pool that only served until 6PM, several Italian restaurants attached with mediocre pizza. Apparently it was once "the place to stay" but no longer. The beach, which is spectacular, is blocked by huge new condos. There are halted construction projects everywhere.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. The photo in their online ad is not of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Real Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Real Resort

Address: Avenida Boulevard | Villas del Mar, Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > San Pedro de Macoris Province > Juan Dolio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Juan Dolio
#1 Best Value Hotel in Juan Dolio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Juan Dolio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Real Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few metres from the fantastic Juan Dolio Beach, in the Dominican Republic, the Plaza Real Resort is a fantastic spot to host visitors who want to spend a relaxing holiday time in a wonderful and tranquil environment. Three bars, two restaurants, shops, beauty saloon, swimming pool, garden, international telephone center internet point, laundry and casino are some of the services guests will be able to enjoy at the Plaza Real Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Plaza Real Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Hotel Juan Dolio
Plaza Real Juan Dolio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Real Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.