We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Do it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Talanquera Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Talanquera Beach Resort to your Saves list
Talanquera Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Juan Dolio Beach, Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Juan Dolio
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't Do it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Ok so my family and I were expecting the worst when we arrived at Talanquera due to reviews. Once we got there the staff was nice and we said to ourselves ok this isn't that bad. Once we started to walk around the resort we started to notice that there were no people around. It was completely secluded and it seemed abandoned. When we went to eat lunch there were flies flying around the salad and it seemed the food had been out for a while because it was cold. We then got to the pool which had signs of no upkeep and the childrens pool was dirty. At this point we felt we were not getting our moneys worth because we have paid the same amount of money for a hotel in the country that was 10 times better than talanquera. The place seems completely abondoned and there's even areas that look like ruins. We decided not spend the rest of our vacation at Talanquera and we struggled for a day and half to get to the manager in order to get our money back. At the beach a stray dog stole one of my sisters flip flops and ran away with it to chew it up and the staff did not care. At dinner time there were at least 4 stray cats wandering around. Some TV's in the rooms weren't working, the phones were off, the towels seemed like they had been used 50 times. Ok so we're dominican and we know a thing or two about the lights going out but we didn't expect it to happen at this resort. The lights went out at least twice between the two days we were there and along with that left the hot water. It was not how we wanted to start our vacation. Some of the locals said that this resort is somewhat good on the weekends however we were not willing to wait and see. I feel bad for the staff that has to work there because overall that place should not be open. And they are seriously overcharging. If you look at the amenitites list cut that in half and maybe that's what the resort offers. If you want a nice vacation do not go to any hotel in that area because chances are they are abandoned and understaffed as well. On a brighter note the staff was friendly and the food wasn't that bad. The hotel needs serious renovations and a new manager. The beach also has garbage.

Room Tip: no matter what room you book they'll give you one the overlooks the beach because that's the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    113
    76
    96
    132
See reviews for
88
108
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We went this past weekend to Talanquera at Juandolio, and I. Really got pretty scared as I read the reviews, but we did have a nice stay and had a lot of fun!! In fact the hotel needs renovations and upgradings, the a/c was old, even though was working very well, the TV was old too, the beds were ok, but the sheets and towels were kind of worn out... The beach is great and so close to the rooms, the pools are ok, the food was good overall, well seasoned and served some variety. On saturday night they had a magician show and we had a blast, and on sunday we played Bingo, it was fun and we even won a round!! The service was pretty good, nice and efficient!! And they have a good low price!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

So I expected something horrible, but instead I am having a great time. The hotel is super cheap, everything is included, alcohol as well. Food is simple and great which helps you to watch weight. Hotel is located on the beach. 30 seconds away from my room. Of course it's a little ran down. And need some fixing, but overall it's a cheap 3 star hotel you get too much for that price anyways. Yes there is no internet in the rooms, but for me it's a perfect vacation to be away from social life and they have internet in the lobby. Another plus to the hotel is that there almost no people here. Which is very relaxing and great. So if you want to relax and nothing more. This place is truly good.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel was what we expected after several reviews. The only and biggest problem was the bed which should be changed in several rooms - it was too soft and brought me some problems, but only in my room from two rooms. Better than waiting for reception try to solute by yourself - usuall maňana. As we do not use the AC I am not able to say more about it. The stuff was nice to us - bars, eating room. The biggest problem at all was at the reception as the stuff did not speak much english so it was hard to communicate and of course as in many countries in this area "maňana" is very usuall. Many people complain about only two pools and poor eating. There was so few people, so we took it as possitive - many times we were the only one it the pool, not many people on the beach. There are three bars, so you are able to have drinks all the time, just to know which one is open at the time. Food, good to go in the right time as there is so few people in the hotel so at the end there is not much to choose. During weekends the food was various, different days very similar, but that is usuall in many hotel. During weekends come Domenicans, to us it was positive and brought possitive athmosphere to the hotel. This hotel is in good possition to Santo Domingo, Samaná, Saona, etc. Hotel does have open all buildings, but we had view on the beach, which was nice. One pool is closed but two are enought. This hotel changed the owner from Barcelo and it will take some time to make more changes, depends what you expect this one is app. 2-3 according to our standard.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

First off, all of the unhappy, miserable people in the world should keep their comments to themselves. A vacation is what you make of it. The Talanquera Resort, is far superior than any bad review. The staff is top notch. From the reception desk to security guards, the bartenders (ask for Pedro or Vladimir), to the entertainment guys (Eddie) to the cleaning ladies. Everyone and everything was above an beyond my expectations (bad reviews online). If you're looking for a quiet getaway, then this place is for you. We booked it 4 weeks ago and got back this morning. It's peaceful, not a lot of people (we're baffled as to why), but hey, we didn't complain at all. The food is good. 7 days of eating the same kinds of flavor, well anyone would get a little tired of it. We didn't go on vacation to eat. We went to relax, have unlimited drinks and lot's of fun. It's more of a couples or group kind of place. The kids might be a little bored. They have activities at night, and volleyball, etc on the beach during the day. We had an amazing time overall. Yes, the third pool is not working, but you have to understand that this place is huge (over 500 rooms) and, probably due to bad reviews, that is the case. You don't need a 3rd pool, trust us. The 2 that work are huge and beautiful. We went to the Casino a few nights and if you're looking for a change of food, the restaurant next door is wonderful. Overall, we loved it and would go back in a heartbeat. Thanks again Talanquera!

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor on the beach side. Rooms 501-511. Unbelievable views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

You will be disappointed. The hotel is under the process of converting it into the cheap weekend chalet for the locals. Overally, old hotel without the will to refurbish and remodel the services according to the new standards. Unfortunately - because the hotel has a good location and a marvellous beach...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podebrady, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Very old hotel for local clients than for foreign tourists who want to relax in beautiful surroundings. Hotel seems like its going out of business, which is seen not only in appearance and facilities, but also the reluctance and lack of professionalism of staff, lack of services offered, etc. Quite a bad meal or rather lax management of the hotel, which is reflected both in the hotel and catering sector . On arrival ( with travel agencies ) , we had to wait three hours to free clean room . Wifi is a $ 10 fee and "works" only in the immediate vicinity of the reception , where there is no air conditioning, so there is absolutely not chance to breathe, but there are in large numbers mosquitoes. The connection is slow and constantly falls. During the day, several times the power goes out or stops the water flow even for more than an hour. The hotel staff hardly speak English and everything it takes a very long time . For the weekend move to the hotel local tourists. They almost eat all lunch and Dinner buffet in a minute, I recommend going for a meal at the start. Hotel is rather a category ** and staff are only interested in how much you give them a tip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Talanquera Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talanquera Beach Resort

Address: Juan Dolio Beach, Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > San Pedro de Macoris Province > Juan Dolio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Juan Dolio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Talanquera Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talanquera Resort is ideally located just steps away from Juan Dolio Beach. Perfect for nature lovers, this 120 room hotel is nestled amongst gardens and native trees giving the hotel grounds the appearance of a tropical forest. This beachfront property is only 45 minutes from Las Americas International Airport (Santo Domingo), 90 minutes from La Romana International Airport and 10 minutes from the town of Juan Dolio. Some of the facilities are: 120 rooms - Air conditioned Garden view or Ocean view rooms, fully furnished with 1 king bed or 2 double beds, bathroom with shower/tub combination, hairdryer, satellite TV, mini fridge, coffee maker, safety deposit box ($), balcony or terrace (Max occupants. 4 persons) Guests enjoy 3 pools (including kid’s area), 1 buffet restaurant,3 bars (beach, pool and Disco bar), daily activities, Introductory scuba lessons ($), Snorkeling, Kayaking, Aerobics, beach volleyball, shows & entertainment. Internet access is available at the lobby ($), tours desk and gift shop available within the hotel grounds.In the Juan Dolio area within 10 miles you can also find: casino, golf courses, restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Talanquera Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talanquera Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.