We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do not go there” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Talanquera Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Talanquera Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Talanquera Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Juan Dolio Beach, Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 hotels in Juan Dolio
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“do not go there”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

1. food rice beans everyday, breakfast dry eggs everyday. food sucks no varieties
2. beach covered with seaweed and rocks very dirty and lots of sellers offering all day,, everyday!
3. there is no day or night activities what so ever and if expecting to socialized with people don't bothered going there. we where about 15 people at the resort. my husband always asked the animation guy about the activities he always replied i got to ask my boss. even though we tried to ask him eveyday nothing was done. if you are planning on going for some dead vacation go there if not don't bother even if it's a free ticket. the truth from montreal QC to punta cana it 4hours from punta cana to the resort it 2hours. when you call sungwing or expedia the said about 30to60minute it a lie. we travel with our 11 months old baby it was a torture thank God we made it back. we went on march 13-20-2013. not alot of staff the hotel should close soon because there are no tourist. i said i was going to stop reading reviews but the reviews are true most of therm 3 stars sucks. no children activities or pool

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    114
    77
    99
    128
See reviews for
85
109
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had a great time the whole vacation. Loved the unit we were in. We went into the capital of Santo Domingo and went to the Colonial Plaza, ate dinner outside. Loved the people, they were really nice. Sonya on the beach was really nice, she braided my hair, which is something I have always wanted to do. We would definitely recommend a trip to the Dominican Republic.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend in the 3rd week of February of 2012. We always book last minute to get a cheaper deal. We payed around 550 Canadian after tax and with insurance. For what we payed we are very happy!

First off we had to land in Punta Cana. It was a long bus ride! Like 3-4 hours from the airport. If you land at La Romana I think it's about 1 hour. Just a heads up.

It is a small resort. Very basic. Love the pool!!!! But the beach is dark colored and there are constantly vendors bugging people to buy items from them. I've been all around Dominican and the Caribbean and this was by far not a good beach getaway.

On a different note the service was great. Very friendly people and the gentleman at the pool bar was our homie all week! The pool is very nice and clean.

The food is basic. Just couple meats pastas and lots of rice. You will have enough to get by. Yes they do omelets for breakfast and pasta bar dinners.

So overall if you get this for cheap go for it. As long as you don't care about nice blue water, and swimming in privacy, high class food and rooms.

I love Dominican and I will always return, just not to this resort.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My brother and I travelled to this resort approximately four years ago and it was great, however this time was a different story! Last time it was part of the Barcelo chain, but not anymore. We visited for one week Dec 28/12-Jan4/13.

I would not recommend this resort for a winter getaway! First, most of the resort is shut down and one small building with old rooms is the only one being used. The rooms were shabby and rundown (i.e. broken drawers, holes in bedding, only one light which worked). The buffet was not great and we were a bit "over it" within a few days. Breakfast was basically the best meal, although never really hot! We both suffered from diarrhea for half of our one week trip. Basic meat, rice, potato each night. We never had dessert as there were ants and little flies all over it. There were hot dogs and nacho chips and cheese between 3-5 for snack time, but that was it! The pool was rundown and in need of a makeover - chipped tiles, pool bottom, etc. Because the resort was half empty we did have the pool to ourselves most days! The beach bar never had pina coloda mix. There was no real entertainment. Although, there was an entertainment crew of approx 5-6 young men who played loud music all day! It was $10 USD for a week of wi-fi, which was only available in the lobby. $25 USD for the safe in the room for the week.

My brother has mobility issues so he travels in a wheelchair. When we visited this resort before, it was accessible, but not this time. The only building in use has stairs to access the ground floor, which is not wheelchair friendly. We managed, but it was not okay.

If you are going to go, make sure you get a deal! Anyone who pays $1000+ will be ripped off! We paid $905 total and had we paid more, we'd be ticked off! I actually filed a complaint with the travel agent (redtag.ca) and tour operator (Sunwing) and I have never done that before. It is NOT a three star resort - it may not even be two! The whole resort needs a makeover and money invested! There is a long three hour bus ride from Punta Cana, which we were aware of, but likely wouldn't do it again.

Positive things - as others mentioned, the staff was extremely friendly! The weather was fantastic! And the beach was nice! But if you can book somewhere else, you should do it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We reserved two rooms at the "Hotel Talanquera" in Juan Dolio on Sunday 4 November until Wednesday November 7. One room for my husband and I and the other was a surprise that we wanted to give to a friend, Mrs. Alonso, director of the Dominicanos Hoy newspaper. Sure, we get tremendous surprise inviting her to a hotel where the first day we could not take a bath because there was no water in the rooms, and other days only cold water, not cable, not telephone service in the rooms, besides not being able to enjoy any attraction .Unbelievable but true, until hunger had at the resort because Talanquera has only one restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner time, with a limited buffet. Ah, Not to mention the drinks, light beer and a cheaper rum that they only could offered. For dinner we ordered a glass of wine, but the waiter had apologized because they did not have wine for dinner. He told us that they only had a Merlot wine for sale at a ridiculous price.
It was not a vacation, it was a nightmare.
Talanquera sells services that not offered. Do not waste your money and your short vacation time by booking this resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

NOT WORTH IT!!! I went here a few years back like 2007,
Even though i went there in 07 it's still a 3 hour bus ride
it was awful. It might be better not but.....Sick animals around the food.... Three hour bus ride from Punta Cana air port... awful. Beach was full of broken sea shells, couldn't walk around without shoes. It was my first vacation so i thought it was good RIGHT until i went other places. I would never return... uhhh so gross... Staff was awsome however.

Room Tip: Find another hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the time we arrived at the airport to the 3 hour bus ride to and from the resort to the mundain food - the drap room interior the trip went from bad to terrible - the only high point was the beach bar during the day - If I had to do it over again - I'd stay home

Room Tip: I have nothing good to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Talanquera Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talanquera Beach Resort

Address: Juan Dolio Beach, Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > San Pedro de Macoris Province > Juan Dolio
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 hotels in Juan Dolio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Talanquera Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talanquera Resort is ideally located just steps away from Juan Dolio Beach. Perfect for nature lovers, this 120 room hotel is nestled amongst gardens and native trees giving the hotel grounds the appearance of a tropical forest. This beachfront property is only 45 minutes from Las Americas International Airport (Santo Domingo), 90 minutes from La Romana International Airport and 10 minutes from the town of Juan Dolio. Some of the facilities are: 120 rooms - Air conditioned Garden view or Ocean view rooms, fully furnished with 1 king bed or 2 double beds, bathroom with shower/tub combination, hairdryer, satellite TV, mini fridge, coffee maker, safety deposit box ($), balcony or terrace (Max occupants. 4 persons) Guests enjoy 3 pools (including kid’s area), 1 buffet restaurant,3 bars (beach, pool and Disco bar), daily activities, Introductory scuba lessons ($), Snorkeling, Kayaking, Aerobics, beach volleyball, shows & entertainment. Internet access is available at the lobby ($), tours desk and gift shop available within the hotel grounds.In the Juan Dolio area within 10 miles you can also find: casino, golf courses, restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Venere, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Talanquera Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talanquera Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.