We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Needed That" a Comfortable Room with a Good View Pleasant Staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino to your Saves list
Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Boulevard Juan Dolio KM 55, Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Juan Dolio
Bloomington, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Needed That" a Comfortable Room with a Good View Pleasant Staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This was my third all-inclusive, but the first in the D.R. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon around 5. Nice open air lobby. Check in was pretty quick. Room 1530. The room was pretty standard. (We had a superior ocean view) 2 nice sized beds tube TV. Balcony was the best part. Sun in the morning, Shady in the afternoon and evening (When its Hot) If you run your air conditioner it will warm up the balcony. We did notice no towels we called and they brought them up in a few minutes. Water was hot most of the time. Tile shower no tub. Two prong electric worked fine but only 2 outlets. We brought a short brown extension cord which gave us a few more. We ran the air 2 nights worked fine. Wall unit. There is a safe but you need to rent a lock with a key. Toilet had a loose handle but worked alright. There was an elevator about 20 foot from our door and worked most of the time, but sometimes you would call it and it would come and the doors wouldn't open. You could bet at least once a day you would end up in the basement instead of the main floor or on floor six when you pressed 5. But again, it did work most of the time. From our room nothing was very far. The 2 pools are clear and beautiful. The staff seems to do a good job keeping the PUBLIC beach in front of the resort.clean. Which was not the case further down the beach. The water in front of the resort has a smooth white sand bottom and is cleared of debri up to the floating barrier. It never get above chest deep (Im 5'11") If you go past the floating barrier I would wear aqua socks. Sea Urchins Sea Weed and Rocks. There are vendors on the beach and some can be persistent but I never thought they were rude or inappropriate. Sometimes they will leave you alone after one "No" sometimes several. Similar to the public beaches in Puerto Vallarta.
The main buffet food was average. There was a theme every night. The staff was great. They had a smoking section ( I am a smoker) which was nice. We ate at the Santa Fe one night and I thought it was very good. It had a taco/nacho bar. We didn't enter the casino.

The beach, the pool area and the room was well worth the admission. If you are looking to go to the D.R. I wouldn't rule this place out if you get a good price. It's about an hour east of Santo Domingo in Juan Dolio.

Room Tip: We had room 1530. We could see the ocean. Could see the sunrise from our beds. Balcony was sunny in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betzaida N, Asistente de Gerencia at Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for sharing the feedback of your experience with us and others travelers on Trip Advisor.
We would like to offer a sincerely apologies for any inconveniences that you have had during the time with us.
We are continuously working hard to improve our services and facilities to exceed the expectations of our valued clients. We also appreciate your comments and these are useful to continue improvement our services.
We are grateful for mentioning our friendly staff that helped you to make your experience here more enjoyable.
Our main goal is to have all our guest leave the property completely satisfied and with plans to return.
Thanks for having chosen our hotel and will look forward to serving you again in the near future

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    356
    268
    255
    318
See reviews for
316
416
52
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flatlander in SK Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed at this Resort with 3 other women from Jan 23 to Jan 30th. This resort was typical of a 3 star. I thought the grounds were well maintained. The pool was clean. The resort staff very friendly except for the front desk personnel as usual. The resort was a bit run down and could definitely use a face lift. However, I am not in agreement as to some of the other reviews. Our room was cleaned daily. Our sheets were changed daily. We received clean white towels daily. We always had hot water but the water pressure was not that great, but I can live with that. My only complaint would be that the room was not cleaned to my specifications, if you dropped to the floor you could see under the furniture and outside of toilet was not that clean but the room was livable and quite large. The AC worked and the ceiling fans worked to keep the room at a livable temperature. The food, not so great but I always found something I liked. I am not a picky eater. The coffee, delicious! The drinks were good and the bartenders were exceptional. The beach quite beautiful YES there are vendors there but that is not uncommon. They are just trying to make a living, remember these people are poor and some of the vendors quite entertaining. The beach towels were not so great they need to replace them along with the beach chairs. The owners are very strict with the staff. Many are only paid commission. They are watched constantly so tip those you feel deserve it. The elevators in the hotel do not work properly if at all so use the stairs. If you can't walk stairs then ask for a ground level room. The elevator had a mind of its own. Press 6 you end up on 4 etc etc. We had a great vacation at this resort and I would recommend it however, remember, it is a 3 star, if you want a 5 star resort then pay for one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer building. If you can't climb stairs request lower level as the elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betzaida N, Asistente de Gerencia at Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest:
We appreciate you consider our resort a nice destination for the relaxing and enjoyment of your holidays.
Concerning to some situations you have described about the room, please allow us to inform you that we carry out continuous inspections in our rooms with the purpose of accommodating our clients accordingly to their expectations.
Also, would like to apologize for any inconveniences with the elevators and vendors in the areas.
It was very pleasant to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that we were able to provide you a delightful stay. We hope that when returning to the Dominican Republic, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again and give you the same quality and personalize service at our resort.

Very cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

this resort is a 3-4 star not for everybody and would not tell them to go ,but we have been there 5 times over the years and the beach is our main attraction,no weeds and great beach for miles to walk.The resort does need a lot of maintenance ,our room was ok as we know what room we like been in many there .we know most of staff and they approach us when we r there to say welcome back ,it pays to get to know staff we always give gifts and tips to the staff we know even our housemaid who is in the block we r in for years.we never get sick with any food we eat and that is a bonus for us also.we do go other resorts that r 5 star no comparison .they have 3 other rest Mexican great,italian great ,Dominican not so great. this is not a 5 star by far.

Room Tip: even upgrade same rooms a little bigger small bathroom with a fridge, the other no fridge although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betzaida N, Asistente de Gerencia at Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest:

We appreciate that you have shared with us the comment concerning your stay here in Coral Costa Caribe.

Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to serve you for 5 times in different years and for mentioning our friendly staff that helped you to make your experience here more enjoyable. Although goal is to have all our guest leave the property completely satisfied and with plans to return.

We, also appreciate your comments and it are useful to continue improvement our services.
Thanks for having chosen our hotel and will look forward to serving you again in the near future

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My boyfriend and I recently was at this hotel and we were very disappointed. We had 3 rooms in total, our first room had no working air conditioning and the front desk told us there was nothing he could do about it. I then proceed to go to the lobby and speak with someone and was then given our second room. This ended with a room that had no towels, dirty sheets and a closet that had a very bad smell to it. We then had to wait the next day to speak to the representative and he was finally able to speak Spanish with the manager to get things figured out. Even when we did get the room that we had originally booked, the sheets were not the cleanest and did not fit on the bed very well either. I made sure to check for bedbugs because I seriously believed that there was the possibility the two of us could have got them, but neither one of us did. During the entire stay of our trip our sheets and our towels were ever washed and we were never given clean ones let alone refolded to make it look like they maybe had been changed for us.
The food at the hotel was very boring and there was minimal selection. The staff at the hotel could speak very little English and made it very difficult to communicate with any of the cleaning staff or repair men.
Since the majority of the travelers are from either Europe or Quebec, French and Spanish are the main languages spoken there. It was even more frustrating during their shows every night because the MC did not do a very good of translating everything into English, so there were many times where we looked at one another to try and figure out what was going on with the show. With the majority of the individuals speaking French or Spanish, I found it even more difficult to meet other couples while down there because there were so few people who spoke English.
This hotel does not come close to a four star resort and was even more frustrated when the representative for itravel2000 said that she guarantees that hotel is great.
The only positive thing about this hotel was being able to lay on the beach for a week straight.
I would NOT recommend anyone to go to the resort and to seriously reconsider if you are set on this resort.

Room Tip: I did not rate the spa because I don't think it would be any cleaner than the rooms and didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betzaida N, Asistente de Gerencia at Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for sharing the comments of your experience with us and others travelers on Trip Advisor.

We would like to offer a sincerely apologies for any inconveniences and dissatisfaction that you have had during the time with us and deeply regret to know that we were not able to exceed your expectations.

We are continuously working hard to improve our services and facilities to exceed the expectations of our valued clients.
Allow us to inform you that our housekeeping staff revises and prepares every room prior to it assignation and confirms all the items and appliances are placed. The room is clean and complete before being occupied by the client.

Also, we would like to inform you that offer high quality food specially prepared for the diversity of our guests and our restaurants menus offer a mix of cuisine popular national and international.
Recently, we have made some changes in the concepts of our spatiality restaurants.
Our staffs have good knowledge of the English language and others languages and constantly receiving courses to reinforce the level of conversation and pronunciation.

We would appreciate if you could give us another opportunity to amend and rectify any situation that could have affected you during the past visit, hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you in our property again in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Our overall stay was very relaxing. The food at the Buffett was excellent! There was a bit of a language barrier with the staff and the other guests. The rooms were clean but in need of repair. I'm not sure how old the resort is, but it needs a lot of work. The beach was beautiful, lots of palm trees for shade. There was a barrier out in the ocean so the water was fairly calm. The local venders were friendly and good at leaving you alone if you said you didn't want to buy anything. The wifi was only in the lobby and very slow. The cable tv was always freezing and cutting out so we gave up trying to get any news. .

Room Tip: They seemed to have trouble keeping towels in the room and face cloths didn't exist. The hotel s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betzaida N, Asistente de Gerencia at Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for sharing the comments of your experience with us and others travelers on Trip Advisor.

We would like inform you that our staffs have good knowledge of the English language and constantly receiving courses to reinforce the level of conversation and pronunciation. Beside we feel satisfied to know that you enjoy our excellent food and lovely beach.

Our hotel maintains a continuous improvement program to our facilities and we work hard making innovations and reforms to our property with the purpose of keep in good conditions our installations.

Also, our housekeeping department constantly offers the best service to ensure that our guests feel comfortable in the room.

We just hope to welcome you again in our property in the near future.

Very cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Will write a review after our two weeks there from Feb,3 - 17, 2014.
Looking forward to the great beach and good food, but concerned because we need a ground level room near beach and I cannot get a working email for this resort. Be very grateful if someone could help !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

It's starts off with a two hour bus trip from Punta Cana Airport and assigned likely the worst room in the hotel, a corner room without a terrace or balcony, a long window that did not open, which made for a very stale room. The mirror in bathroom was so old and worn, no blow dryer (a broken metal plate on the wall), no coffee maker, no lock for safe. I was instructed to come back in the morning and make my requests, and I soon found out, all I really was going to get was lip service. Two days later I receive a coffee maker, and a blow dryer. No amount of cleaning could make this prison-like room appear clean...it literally felt like a prison cell (old and torn out). The AC really only was nothing more than a fan and very noisy, as well as the squeaky celling fan. I continued to ask for a lock/key for safe each day and was told there were none today....needless to say, having to keep personal documents on self at all times did not make for relaxation at all. My friends arrived the next day and were told there were no rooms and that they would be 1km away for several days until rooms became available...this again was unacceptable. We book a vacation to be together and they are sent to another resort hotel and could be shuttled back and forth, which if you know what a dominican minute is...much time was lost. Often the service was poor, as the staff are over worked, and short on supplies. The food had very little variation, and tasteless. I usually like the buffets for all the fresh veggies,or steamed vegetables and fish, but this was
not the case here and no real seafood to speak of. After 10pm only one bar open, which was right off lobby and it was almost impossible to get a drink as it filled up quickly. Inside the bar was entrance to disco which often was frequented by local prostitutes, who were also using the washrooms off the lobby. If you used the washroom, they would check you out, like you were their competition or something. I have not stayed in a resort that allowed so many non-guests just to walk in off the street. Outside the Casino the local prostitutes hung around and eventually made their way into the hotel and disco....where was the security? Needless to say, I did not feel safe in this resort...if anyone was allowed in Hotel, they must also be allowed in other areas as well. I would not ever recommend this resort. I watched many people at front desk with many complaints, only to hear exactly what I heard..."come back tomorrow"....my vacation was for R and R, not to chase staff around and feel unsafe. However, I do want to say the staff do work hard, but what they have to work with is sometimes overshadowed by these shortcomings. The beaches were the only salvation about this trip....definitely not a 3.5, closer to a 2.5.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betzaida N, Asistente de Gerencia at Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the time dedicated to share with us the comments concerning your stay here in our property.
We would like to offer a sincerely apologies for any inconveniences and situation that you have had during you time with us. We are continuously working hard to improve our services and facilities to exceed the expectations of our valued clients.
Allow us to inform you that our housekeeping staff revises and prepares every room prior to it assignation and confirms all the items and appliances are placed. The room is clean and complete before being occupied by the client. In addition our resort is very safe and pleasant place and we count with a very qualify security staff in order to assure our clients safety and comfort.
We kindly ask you to please consider that our personal works harder every day to improve the services offer to our customers, with the intention of making of their vacations a very enjoyable stay.
We would appreciate if you could give us another opportunity to amend and rectify any situation that could have affected you during your past visit, hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you in our property again in the near future.

Very cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino

Address: Av. Boulevard Juan Dolio KM 55, Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > San Pedro de Macoris Province > Juan Dolio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Juan Dolio
#4 Spa Hotel in Juan Dolio
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Juan Dolio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the warm ocean waters of the Caribbean, enjoy a limitless family-oriented vacation experience. There are fun-filled activities under the sun for all. Our activities program includes water sports and one of the best white sand and boundless turquoise water beaches. Savor an outburst of flavors with a signature Caribbean flavor. These are just some of the ways in which you will keep busy during your stay at Coral Costa Caribe.The warmth of our staff is best expressed by the careful attention given to every small detail. Cradle yourself in the midst of its lush vegetation covered by impeccable tropical gardens surrounded by tropical flowers and trees. Seek refuge in one of our comfortable guest rooms; the heart and soul of the destination is embodied in its decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Costa Caribe Hotel Juan Dolio
Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa And Casino
Hilton International Juan Dolio
Costa Caribe Coral Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.