We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino to your Saves list
Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Boulevard Juan Dolio KM 55, Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Juan Dolio
Atlantic City, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My husband and I had a wondeful time. We were skeptical at first because of all the bad reviews, but it was nothing like that. The employees were excellent and the service was phenomenal. The room was fantastic. We are definitely planning to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    363
    271
    258
    324
See reviews for
319
423
53
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Revere, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I visited the resort for 5 days. At first we thought there was so much to do and that the place was big. Not so much. There were 2 pools, and a non-working Jacuzzi. The pool with the swim up bar and the beach was my favorite part of the resort. The rooms where okay, be advised that it takes forever to get a room once you arrive. Check-in was a nightmare! We had to wait about an hour and a half for our room, we had drinks in the meantime. The food was not that great. They had scheduled hours for breakfast, lunch and dinner. So if you missed a meal, you had to opt for the "snack" which was pizza and other junk food. This resort is mainly visited by locals, so don't expect any VIP or special treatment...you'll just blend right in. The beach was beautiful and the best part of the whole experience. Although I have to say, the resort does a terrible job of keeping local vendors away. So...you WILL be harassed while you're tanning on the beach. They have a casino and a spa, both were alright. The resort had entertainment during the day such as aquatic aerobics and also had shows, or parties on the beach in the evening, that was nice. Overall, it was a great location, but I expected better service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilibeth G, GM Assistant at Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Client:

We want to thank you for your kind comments regarding to our Resort. At the time we would like to inform you that our 24-hour all-inclusive services includes: 3 Main Swimming pools and 2 Jacuzzis, Coral Kids Club with children's swimming pool, 3 clay tennis courts are available for day
Basketball court and beach volleyball courts, Daily activity program for both adults and children, Variety of non-motorized water sports, such as kayaking, windsurf, sailboats, Badminton and water polo, Snorkeling and beginner's scuba diving lessons, 9-hole mini golf and shuffleboard, Aerobics and Latin dance classes, Gym, Every night show presentations in our theater, Sports bar
Conference rooms, event and meeting facilities.

In our Bars and Restaurants we have a 24 hours service of domestic and selected international cocktails and beverages, House wine available on bars and during meal services, 6 Bars conveniently located in different areas of the resort, including Swim up Bar, Pool Bars and Discotheque, Ambar Restaurant: The resort's main restaurant and features a delicious international bu¬ffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Santa Fe Grill: Has a tasty La Carte Tex-Mex restaurant for dinner and night time snacks, Rigoletto Pasta Club: A La Carte International pasta specialties for dinner, El Fogón: A La Carte Dominican Contemporary Cuisine and the Mangos: Snack Bar and casual dining open day and night.

Allow us to inform you that although there are vendors that occasionally pass by our beach area offering our customers some souvenirs, in the case our clients are not interested they only have to answer with a No.

Thank you again and we would seriously appreciate if you could give us another opportunity to welcome you in our property to have the occasion of changing the perception you have of our Resort.

Regards,

Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This one is different from the resorts in other areas. There is a lot to do but in the sun and the resort itself. Worth the trip we stayed 3 days as part of a 10 day Dominican Trip. The food was good and service was excellent.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite-better benefits
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I brought my family there for the day some time in April 2012. The buffet has the appearance of having a good spread but guests can easily notice that one side of offerings is just repeated in another side of the dining hall. The beach front property seems insufficient for the number of guests they are accommodating. I even had a look for a staff and pleaded for extra lounge chairs. The family was not really satisfied with the stay for the day. Yet I am still left perplexed as to why the property seems to have so many guests! Perhaps it had something to do with the excellent service that the staff tried to provide.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilibeth G, GM Assistant at Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Client:

We appreciate your kind comments expressing that you appreciated the enthusiasm our personnel invest in providing you, Our Customers, with the services and attention you require.

Related to the remark of our food concepts, allow us to inform you that our gastronomical offer was elaborated taking in consideration the diversity of our guests. We must mention that the level of satisfaction obtained concerning the quality and variety of our food services has always been high, according to the opinions reflected in our weekly guests’ questionnaires.

Also, please consider that without a doubt our Resort has the most beautiful and big beach near Santo Domingo as it has stunning 5 kilometers of beautiful white sand beaches. Declared as one of the most beautiful and cleanest beaches in the country, our beach in the Juan Dolio area attracts approximately 1 ½ million visitors a year.

Thank you again and we would seriously appreciate if you could give us another opportunity to welcome you in our property to have the occasion of changing the perception you have of our Resort.

Regards,


Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The hotel is a 50$ cab ride from the airport. Upon arrival we were greeted by the cheapcaribbean representative. There were 5 girls traveling together in 2 rooms. I stayed in room 1524. It was located on the 5th floor with courtyard/oceanview. The hotel itself is dated, but knowing I wasnt staying in a 5 star, I didnt expect much. You definately can see room for improvement. A lot of the front desk staff didnt speak english.

Lets talk about the room. The beds were queen(advertised as full) so that was a plus, but they were hard as a rock and uncomfortable. The furniture was nicked all over the place, and again, not expecting much...not going to harp on that part. Our ac had 1 setting. I dont know what it was as we couldnt change the setting. It was either off or on. The last day/night of our trip, I believe it ran out of freon bc it wasnt as cold in the room as it had been...and the cold would have been welcome as it was so dang humid with Hurricane Isaac blowing in. There was also a light in the room that would flicker on and off through out the night. I believe this was due to a short in the wiring and with all the rain we got it kept tripping it. The bad part was it would trip at night when NONE of the other lights were on, and it would flicker on and wake me up through out the entire night. TV--free adult channel 21 I believe it was...lol. But as the power outages were happening, the TV would go off and not reset for hours. Again, dont believe this was the hotels fault but due to the Hurricane coming through and the satelite. We did lose power a few times on a couple of days, but the power wasnt out for more than 10 min or so.

Bars and bartenders, we had NO issue with them. They kept the drinks coming and strong. Our favorite bartenders were Willie, Santos and Vincente! As Vincente for a Miami Vice Special, or Santos for the Santos Special! They were delish! Majority of our time was spent at the main pool bar. The pool was not dirty, but wasnt a very pretty color. I think this has to do with the color of the actual concrete in the pool? The beach was georgeous!! They did have some vendors, but if you tell them no, they leave you alone. On Friday, the Hurricane was passing south of us, so we had a lot of rain. The pool was closed and the beach was closed so we spent our time in the sports bar. The activities group-The Chocolate Friends, did a great job trying to get people envolved in activities since there was no swimming that day. We participated in darts, pool, some sort of ball pong game, aerobics, and a few other things. They also let us Americans DJ so we got to play a lot of american music so that was good! They worked their tails off to make us have a good time with the rain. The rest of the days were a little boring as there wasnt much for us to do. We only took in 1 show, a dance show, and it was fun, but lasted a little too long.

Food--meh...We tried out all the restaurants. The mexican restaurant was the best. Italian was also very good. Didnt much care for the Dominican one as I wanted the pork loin and of course they were out. The restaurants were also closed on thurs and fri due to the hurricane. They moved the mexican one to the dominican one so it was in big building, but a party of 45 apparently had just sat down and so we were unable to eat. Buffet didnt have a lot of variety and the last 2 days we were there, the food was at best luke warm. Again, I am contributing this to the hurricane bc we hadnt had issues up to that point. Mangos had good pizza and french fries. I also heard the burgers were good but didnt try them. If you ask the chef at Mangos to melt your cheese on your burger, and toast your buns, they will! Mangos is close to the beach, so they did close it on Friday but they did move it near the buffet. This is the only place to eat at btwn 1030-1230 and i believe 2-6 as well.

In talking with people who had stayed at the resort before, they said in the last 2 years they have had new ownership and the hotel had gone down in their opinion. The locals do come in on the weekends, but during the week there isnt a lot of people there. Your vacation here is what you make of it. I wanted to relax and drink and eat. I accomplished that. I even got a massage and it was a 50 min massage for 55$. Definately a must, cant beat the price. I dont know that I would call the hotel poor or horrible, but it isnt average or great either. I would not stay there again. I also didnt take any pics of the issues we had, just tried to focus on the good parts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilibeth G, GM Assistant at Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Client:

We would like to thank you for your comments expressing that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff; we are aware that it is only because of them that we are able to achieve the continuous improvement of our services.

Concerning the lack of English from our front desk staff, we should inform you that most of our employees have good knowledge of the language and our company is constantly offering courses to all our staff to reinforce their level of conversation, especially to those in direct contact with our guests. However please be reminded that Spanish is our mother tongue and their pronunciation of a foreign language might not be perfect.

We were very sorry to know that due to the tropical storm Isaac you had some inconveniences in your room, please allow us the opportunity to inform you that these situations are not part of our regular operation, although we seriously appreciate that you had the courtesy of recognizing that the Hurricane caused the situations you are describing in your review. The hotel had some power outages during your stay; however, we are equipped with a back-up generator that automatically goes on whenever the public power goes down. As you may have noticed the switch over between an outage and the hotels generator is done within forty-five seconds, perhaps due to the hurricane it took the generator some more time to enter.

We regret that you had the impression of our gastronomical offer not having enough variety, however please consider that this one has been elaborated taking into consideration the diversity of our Guests and its temperature is revised on a frequent basis every day for our Quality Control Manager, however as our guests perception is extremely important and valuable for us, we will look into these matters in order to improve our Restaurants culinary offer.

Our main interest is to assure our guests’ satisfaction while on property and to be able to correct any situation while guests are still in house; we consider that if you were unsatisfied with some services we were providing you, you should have given us the opportunity of amending it by reporting this one in our Service Line or Guest Service department, we regret that we were not able to fulfill your expectations of our services, although we consider that were not given an opportunity to amend them while you were on property.

Thank you again and we would seriously appreciate if you could give us another opportunity to welcome you in our property to have the occasion of changing the perception you have of our Resort.


Regards,


Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

3 hour transfer from the airport, stud walls hanging off, missing guttering all over the hotel meaning when it rains, rooms become flooded, dodgy lifts "not possible" beng a very common phrase, towels taken by 10am and not replinished until after 3pm, watch out for the underhand "special breakfast" - a 60 minute presentation (think an attempt at being conned in to buying a timeshare), peddlers on the beach but wear ID badges and only harrass guests of this establishment (no peddlers anywhere else on the beaches of other hotels), certainly not a 4 star hotel - have asked the tour company to visit the hotel and re-assess it's rating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilibeth G, GM Assistant at Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Client:

We thank you for giving us through your review the opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from our resort.

Please consider that our Resort has a very well trained maintenance staff which purpose is to assure the correct operation of our entire Hotel in what comes to infrastructure, electricity, appearance, plumbing, etc., as also our housekeeping department replenish the bed linen and towels with the accuracy our client’s request, therefore we understand that perhaps in your particular case the delay was due to a mishap of the maid.

We are really sorry to know that you felt uncomfortable with the special breakfast given in our Resort, nonetheless allow us to inform you that this one is done with the only intention of providing our customers with the information about all the services and facilities our Hotel offers to our dear customers.

The sellers on the beach are not a reason for nuisance to our customers, they pass by the beach one or two times a day offering the tourist souvenirs, in case our guests are not interested in their products they only have to answer No Thank You and the sellers will go away.

Thank you again and we would seriously appreciate if you could give us another opportunity to welcome you in our property to have the occasion of changing the perception you have of our Resort.


Regards,


Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two weeks with my family in late July and we had a great time. The rooms could do with a little updating but for the price we paid we were pleasently suprised!

The all inclusive was very good and the buffet was always full, on top of this the extra restaurants (Italian, Dominican and our personal favourite the Mexican) gave great variety. There was a also a snack bar and after reading the reviews we stayed away from this for the first week, however we regretted this decision when we finally tried it; burgers, salad, hot dogs, salad and pizza were available and we were very impressed with the quality of food - one of the chefs even bought us out fresh fruit plates when the bar was not busy.

The hotel does get a lot more busy at weekends due to locals staying there and therefore if you were planning to do any trips I would recommend you do them then as the pool areas and beach does get quite full. Despite this the staff manage this very well and still give excellent service.

The staff are very friendly and could not complain about any of them! Some people found the sellers on the beach irratating however I would argue that they are very polite and do leave almost immedeately if you say no ;this is made particularly apparent when you leave the complex as on our trips the sellers in the streets were much more persistent! Either way they definitely took nothing away from the beauty of the clean, well kept beach. As for the hotel staff I cannot fault them, they are all very friendly and are always willing to help with a smile!

The 24 hour sports bar is great and the air conditioning came as a welcome relief! We spent every evening there playing pool and table football it was never overcrowed and the games were always available to be played. However, what really made it great for us was the bartender Ceaser! He was so friendly and worked incredibly hard to make sure we always had exactly what we needed.

I can understand some of the bad reviews and it was not a five star resort but if it was based on staff friendliness and effort it definitely would be! At the end of the day you get what you pay for and I would recommend this hotel as we, particularly after reading some of the reviews, were very pleasently suprised!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino

Address: Av. Boulevard Juan Dolio KM 55, Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > San Pedro de Macoris Province > Juan Dolio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Juan Dolio
#4 Spa Hotel in Juan Dolio
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Juan Dolio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the warm ocean waters of the Caribbean, enjoy a limitless family-oriented vacation experience. There are fun-filled activities under the sun for all. Our activities program includes water sports and one of the best white sand and boundless turquoise water beaches. Savor an outburst of flavors with a signature Caribbean flavor. These are just some of the ways in which you will keep busy during your stay at Coral Costa Caribe.The warmth of our staff is best expressed by the careful attention given to every small detail. Cradle yourself in the midst of its lush vegetation covered by impeccable tropical gardens surrounded by tropical flowers and trees. Seek refuge in one of our comfortable guest rooms; the heart and soul of the destination is embodied in its decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Costa Caribe Hotel Juan Dolio
Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa And Casino
Hilton International Juan Dolio
Costa Caribe Coral Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.