We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Snapper Specialty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Meson

El Meson
Carretera Nueva, | across from Club Hemmingway, Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic (Formerly Le Meson)
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Juan Dolio
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Red Snapper Specialty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I had a business lunch in El Meson with three colleagues. Of all the restaurants we consider El Meson seemed to be the most attractive and many of the tables were occupied. As the heat and humidity was a little intense we elected for a table indoors at the back of the restaurant. I elected for the Red Snapper filled with crabmeat.....very large fish with plenty of "stuffing". The taste was perfect. My colleagues enjoyed the Red Snapper a la Plancha, and cream sauce Salmon in pasta. Everything looked very appetising. The staff looked after us very well and ensured our dining experience was maximised......always there when needed but not over-bearing. From the restaurant, cross over the road and pass through a short shaded walkway directly on to the super beach of Juan Dolio.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Great seafood!!! The correct name is El MESON”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Great Spanish Restaurant! Great for sea food and one of the best paella in Dominican Republic.

A must visit if you are in Juan Dolio or Guayacanes. Just besides the prestigiuis Club Hemingway.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“excellent spanish food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

El Meson is a very nice site, in the heart of Juan Dolio. A lot family going in the weekend to eat, and pass to the beach, the make this location so hot now. Also is close diferent turistical condo. His menu have excellent tapas, specially charcuterie, and Jamon Iberico. Good prices in the Wine, and excellent Paella, a very savy option for a familiar encounter.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“second time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

In March 2013, we visited El Meson for the second time. One of us had a delicious Spanish paella, one had lobster and I had pasta served with a light sauce, prepared with garlic and oil. Sorry I can't remember the name of the dish, but if you like pasta in a light sauce you'd really like this, and I think it was the only one on the menu with a white sauce. The bread is also very good. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meal and we will certainly go again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious!! A must try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Eating at this restaurant was a highlight of our otherwise sub-par trip. Amazing food, great drinks, fabulous service, huge portions and great ambience. Get the Red Snapper!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Meson also viewed

Juan Dolio, San Pedro de Macoris Province
Juan Dolio, San Pedro de Macoris Province
 
Juan Dolio, San Pedro de Macoris Province
Juan Dolio, San Pedro de Macoris Province
 

Been to El Meson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Meson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.